single serving pumpkin millet pancakes with caramelized bananas

I never knew how much I loved pancakes until I headed off to college. No kitchen=no pancakes. So sad, I know. Whenever I’m home, I am sure to eat pancakes at some point. Heck, last time I was home, I ate pancakes for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Don’t judge. They were delicious.

So I love pancakes. I also love leftover grains. I will cook some quinoa, wheat berries, brown rice, millet, whatever and then have some leftover. Last night, I made dinner and was sure to cook extra millet.

I love pancakes + leftover millet=Millet Pancakes. Sounds good to me.

Single Serving Pumpkin Millet Pancakes with Caramelized Bananasย 

Pancake Ingredients:

  • 1/2c cooked millet (can sub any cooked grain you have)
  • 1/4c canned pumpkin
  • 1 egg white
  • 1/2tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/3c milk of choice
  • 1Tbsp protein powder (I used vanilla whey)
  • 1Tbsp psyllium husks (can sub ground flax seeds)
  • 1tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • Optional: sweetener (if you aren’t making the caramelized bananas or like your pancakes sweeter, add stevia, agave, maple syrup, or any sweetener of choice)
  1. Mix all the ingredients up.
  2. Cook like a pancake!

    Easy peasy ๐Ÿ™‚

Caramelized Bananas:

  • 1/2Tbsp coconut spread (can sub vegan butter, coconut oil, or regular butter)
  • 1Tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 banana (one with brown spots works best)
  • 1/2tsp pumpkin pie spice
  1. Slice the banana and then set aside.
  2. In a saucepan, over medium heat, add the coconut spread. Move it around the pan so it melts and covers the surface.
  3. Add the brown sugar and using a spoon, mix into the coconut spread. It will become a caramel color and smell good.
  4. Once the brown sugar and coconut spread are combined, add the banana.
  5. Continue to stir until the caramel coats the banana.
  6. Add the pumpkin pie spice and stir some more.
  7. Continue to stir until the you can smell banana and everything is mixed together.
Topping:
  • Pumpkin seeds
  1. Stack the pancakes.
  2. Top with the caramelized bananas.
  3. Sprinkle some pumpkin seeds on top.
  4. Enjoy ๐Ÿ™‚
They weren’t good or anything ๐Ÿ˜‰
I have more millet so you bet I will be making these again! And by again, I mean tomorrow.
18 thoughts on “single serving pumpkin millet pancakes with caramelized bananas

  1. Ok I am SO sad right now that I didn’t see these 15 minutes ago before I made my breakfast! These look so delicious and I love that they use millet. I’ve been wanting to try experimenting with different grains in my breakfasts lately!

  2. Whoa, these look faaaantastic! Must try asap. I love carmelizing fruit! I did it to pears the other day.. Nooom. Bananas are way better though.

  3. He-he, pancakes for breakfast, lunch, and dinner is SO ok! Especially with these pancakes! I love how you use millet and top them with caramelized banana and pumpkin seeds. What an incredible recipe, Haley! ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

