missing the kitchen

Even though I am loving college, there are times where I do miss home. I mean really…how could i not. There are many reason why I miss home. Some of them are:

1. My parents

2. My dog and cat

3. My friends

4. Home-cooked meals

5. The running courses I go on

6. Perfect weather

7. Mother’s Market (it’s a local hippie-ish market…I could-and have-literally spent hours in)

8. Sleeping in my own bed

9. Unlimited vegetables

10. Being in the kitchen

this was right after we finished remodeling...it's not usually this clean

Let’s talk about #10…being in the kitchen. I’m pretty sure I have bookmarked 89489719 things that I want to make (thank you procrastination). When I come home for Thanksgiving break, I am going to be in the kitchen all day, everyday. Here are just a few of the things I am determined to make:

Mama Peas Cornbread Dressing with Tempeh Bacon, Cherries, and Portabella Mushrooms

A Girl and Her Carrot’s Peanut Butter and Pumpkin Pie Granola Globesย 

A Healthy Passion’s Pumpkin Ginger Cookiesย 

Oh She Glows Vegan Pumpkin Mac ‘n’ Cheeze Sauce

Whole Wheat or Bust’s Carmelized Sweet Potato Ice Cream with Toasted Marshmallow Swirl

Healthiful’s Pursuit No Bake Pumpkin Tarts

The Edible Perspective’s Pumpkin Spice Doughnuts

Elle’s New England Kitchen’s Espresso Pumpkin Spiced Walnuts

Savvy Eat’s Pumpkin Pecan Sticky Rolls

Cinnamon Girl’s 40 Cloves of Garlic Spaghetti

Sugar Cooking’s Pumpkin Cornbread

Obviously I am wanting some pumpkin goodness. I have also been craving roasted brussel sprouts, spaghetti squash, and cornbread. Ohhhh cornbread.

The sad part is that I am only going to be home for about 5 days ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Oh well…5 more days than I have in the kitchen in the dorm!

Also, have you ever heard the song “Never Grow Up” by Taylor Swift? It basically speaks to me…then again all of her songs speak to me.

Don’t forget to enter my Mana Bread giveaway! Ends Saturday so go go gooo.

P.S. Did ya’ll see my guest post over at Healthy Helper yet??

Would anybody be interested in doing a foodie swap?

Any good recipes you have found or made lately?

17 thoughts on “missing the kitchen

  1. It amazes me how many of T Swift’s songs “speak to me”. Incredible, right?

    And I hear you about a lot of the items on the list…specifically #8. I like being back in my childhood bed once in awhile. There’s something comforting about it ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. What a great lineup of food on your list! I’m excited to be on it. ๐Ÿ™‚ I just made pumpkin cornbread and will be posting it for tomorrow. So delicious! Have fun when you get back to the kitchen!

  3. “Would anybody be interested in doing a foodie swap?”
    I would love to do this and you aint that far from me infact, I could drive it up to you if I wanted too ๐Ÿ˜‰

    And I love this list and I gotta take a look and see if I can make these recipes glutenfree and dairyfree!

  4. Hey Haley! Love that you shared my Granola Globes! And you have a seriously awesome list of recipes to be making! The pumpkin cornbread is going on my humongo list of “things to make.” I wonder if I’ll get to all of those be years end. Happy to be included! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Your dog and kitty are adorable! I mis my dogs too, there’s nothing like a snuggly pet to cheer you up ๐Ÿ™‚
    These recipes are making my drool so bad, I gotta make some of them fo sho!

  6. I’d totally be up for a food swap! Email me if ya want to!

    I’m gonna miss the kitchen SO MUCH when I go to college. That’s one of my mom’s main concerns – she knows I’ll probably have to live on campus and not be able to bake. I’m gonna miss my muffins!!

  7. just discovered your blog over at healthy helper and i love it!
    I’m in college too and I miss all of the same things you do! Except this year I live in my own apartment off campus so I have access to a kitchen! But I remember last year I would bookmark SO many blog recipes too:)

  8. Aww! Sorry to hear that your missing all that! โค
    I wish I had a big kitchen like that! The one my family has now is waaayy to small. Not good for baking or cooking..
    Yay! Glad to see your interested in foodie swaps! They are seriously a lot of fun! ๐Ÿ˜€

  9. Looking at those things is making me hungry and I just ate breakfast! I’m going to miss my kitchen like crazy when I go off to college next fall.

  10. I love me some t swift ๐Ÿ™‚ her music is so wonderful!
    And those recipes have me seriously drooling. I’m sure you will make the most of those 5 days in the kitchen ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. If I’d move out,the hardest part would definitely be to leave my cat & doggy at home!
    Aside from that,I wouldn’t have a serious problem with doing so at all… But there are reasons for that,so I guess if the situation would be different it would be something else ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Being in the kitchen is so cool,especially since baking is soooo addictive! ๐Ÿ˜€
    I wish I had more time for that when I have school!

  12. I am SO flattered that my ice cream made the list!! ITS SERIOUSLY SO BOMB. You gotta make it. And I feel ya on the missing the kitchen freshman year, luckily its only 9 months. Plus I think its good for ya, makes you a hardier person having to deal with dining hall food for 9 months! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a comment