my favorite strength moves

Since I have been out of running for about a month or so, I have had a lot of time to be in the gym and work on strength. During basketball in high school, we did a lot of weight lifting.  I didn’t always like it, but I did it. Now I love it! Over the years I have come to love some moves and hate others. But thankfully, the love outdoes the hate…I think.

RDL’s (Romanian Dead lifts) No matter how many reps I do or what weight I use, I always get sore! I did these on Saturday and I’m still sore. You can use dumbbells or a barbell. I like the barbell more.

Leg Press

Dumbell Chest Press

Deadlifts At first I didn’t see all the hype about this move but I feel super strong while doing it!

Triceps Press

Seated Cable Rows

One Arm Dumbbell Rows

That’s all I can think of at the moment. But speaking of workouts, I did this full body circuit workout from Heather and loved it! Go do this now. You’ll thank Heather later.

(source)

What are some of your favorite strength exercises? I always love to learn about more! 

10 thoughts on “my favorite strength moves

  1. I love leg presses! They make me feel so strong. Thanks for sharing your favourite exercises! I should add some of them in. 🙂 You’re going to be so strong when you get back to running!

  2. Hope you’re feeling better! i had a question to ask. I’ve been out of running for a bit as well due to some of my own injuries, but I was wondering how you’ve been feeling after only sticking to strength training. Without my daily cardio, I tend to feel a bit sluggish and heavy; aka, not my best. is this the case with evreryone, or am i just over thinking it? thanks!

    • some days i do struggle with the whole no cardio thing. but overall, i have been able to tell that i have gained a lot of muscle by not running as much. so you’re not alone in that feeling for sure! in order to get a bit of cardio or some sort of sweat on, i will ride the bike because it doesn’t hurt my back. or i will do supersets which is going from one strength move to the next. for example, 1 set of leg presses to 1 set of lunges immediately right after. i feel a lot better when i get some sort of sweat on so that helps.

      so i would say try to look at the positives, even though your body says otherwise. for example, look at the awesome guns your arms are becoming or how strong your legs are. even though strength training is awesome and has done a lot for me, i will definitely get back to running when i can. i probably won’t do it as intense as before, but i will incorporate it and see what my body says and what it wants to do

Leave a comment