I’m Home

Long time no blog! These past couple of weeks have been m.a.d.n.e.s.s. In a good way though! Let me bring you all up to date as to what I have been doing:

  • I moved into my dorm and have decorated like crazy.
  • I started classes. Love them all so far.
  • I have met amazing people. I already know some will be lifelong friends.
  • I have been happy. Very. Very. Very. Happy.
  • I got first place in the Welcome Week 5k. (Pat on the back, Haley.)
  • I played in an intramural basketball game. We lost first round but it was still fun.
  • I played in intramural dodgeball. Once again, got out first round…and hit in the stomach. Good things I have abs of steel πŸ˜‰
  • I went to the first football game of the season. We crushed the other team. Holla! My friends and I got into it by painting our faces. Gotta show that school pride.
  • I hung out with people until 1am playing guitar and singing. A very cool and peaceful experience.
  • I’ve checked out a few churches.
  • I’ve done community service work. We collected cans for the homeless. It was about 100 degrees out but so worth it.
  • I did a Brazilian martial arts class. That was interesting…
  • I did 3 hours of zumba.
  • I also think I have found what I would like to do with my life: nutritionist in an eating disorder. Since recovering, I have found how amazing life is without an ED and I want to share that with those suffering. Life is beautiful and so are you.

Let me tell you what I have not been doing:

  • Allowing the ED to control my life. I have seriously never felt more free from the ED that held me back just a little while ago. I am eating food that I once refused to eat. I don’t focus on exercise after eating a certain meal. I just roll with the punches and accept what comes my way. For example, at the tailgate for the football game, it was pulled pork sandwiches and chips. Uhhh…can you say fear food central?? Well I didn’t let it stop me from enjoying the people I was with. So I ate the food. And I’m still alive today. *gasp*
  • Sitting in my room. I spend as little time in my dorm as possible. It’s not a bad thing! It’s just that there is so many more things to do. Library, campus center, friend’s dorm, you name it. I am basically only in my dorm to sleep/nap. I gotta socialize!

So to put it simply, life is amazing right now. I’ve never been happier. This school is where I am supposed to be. I’ve found a place I can call home. I know it’s still pretty early in the year but I definitely didn’t feel like this last year at my old school.

Thank you, Texas. I’m home.

P.S. I’m sorry for not commenting all your blogs like I would like! Once life slows down, you better believe I will be back to reading. In the meantime, stay awesome ya’ll!

20 thoughts on “I’m Home

  1. Aw! This post put the biggest smile on my face. I’m SO happy for you. You deserve every ounce of joy that you’re feeling right now. I love that you’re being so social, trying new things, and having the time of your life- that’s exactly what the college experience should be!

    And I can’t wait to hear more about your decision to study nutrition- it sounds like the perfect career path for you and I know you would inspire sooo many people.
    Have a great week! ❀

  2. Reading this makes me so freaking happy girl!! God has such fabulous plans for your life and I’m so happy ED isn’t part of them πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to hear more about all of your adventures!

  3. This post makes me so happy, and so happy for you. It’s AMAZING hearing your life has been treating you, how you’ve kicked ED in the a$$ at tailgating parties, how you are more into socializing. It’s just all so wonderful xo

  4. Oh this is so so SO wonderful to read Haley!! I’m really pleased that you are feeling so happy and positive about your new school and your new life there πŸ™‚ It sounds like you are having the most amazing time and you really deserve it! Keep on going and enjoying every bit of it lovely, can’t wait to read more about all of your experiences πŸ™‚

  5. I’m glad things are going well at college so far! I was the same way, I never stayed in my dorm or apartment, I was usually out socializing too :). Plus it’s cool that you guys have tailgating and so many fun things to do. Sounds like you’re having a great time so far and I hope it continues :).

  6. I am so happy for you girl! Life without ED is seriously a beautiful thing and I’m so glad you’re experiencing it! ❀ It sounds like you're having an amazing time at school – I can't wait to hear more about it!

  7. This is AWESOME,Hailey! I am so happy for you and please,please,please NEVER let your ED take the upper hand again,PLEASE! You are such an awesome and adorable girl,you really deserve a life. A life in happiness and freedom. ❀

  8. What an amazing transformation you’ve made over the course of a year! This post put a smile on my face. You deserve all the best, you’ve worked so hard. Keep it up and stay positive.
    Bob

  9. That is so awesome you’re enjoying school! I’ve thought about becoming a nutritionist, too, but it’s not my thing. I’m sure you’re going to be amazing at it! I’m so glad you’ve found a school that you love! Have an awesome time!

  10. Hey girl! I’m so glad you are enjoying your time and getting out to have FUN. It’s so important…just as important as the actual “school” part, haha. I can definitely relate to things picking up and being much busier. I haven’t had much blog time lately either. No worries though, just keep being HAPPY! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

