where has the summer gone?

To say this summer was amazing is an understatement. It was the first summer in about 5 years that I didn’t have basketball controlling my life. I lived life like a normal teen: summer job, beach, friends, etc. It was also the first summer in a long time where I didn’t feel the ED controlling my every thought and move. It was such a free feeling and I wouldn’t take this past summer back for anything. Since it was so amazing, let’s look over some highlights 🙂

  • Like I said, I got a summer job at a vegan restaurant. I absolutely lovedddd working there! I made some amazing friendships and learned a lot. I hope to go back next summer, but who knows. 
  • I took some summer classes. Those weren’t fun, but they were online so that helped. Not gonna lie, I wasn’t the best student. I turned in some assignments late, didn’t do some readings, and sometimes just skipped out on assignments all together. But I got my shiz together and passed both classes! 
  • I’ve been a bad blogger this summer. I owe you all an apology! I’m sorry. Things were going so fast this summer that if I was on the computer, it was only to do the summer class work. When I post less, my life is generally going better. This blog is my outlet so if things are going reallyyy bad, I blog almost on a daily basis. But if they’re going good, I just pop in every once in awhile. So, things have been going good!
  • I also want to apologize for not commenting on all your blogs. There were times where I just had to empty my reader because I had zero time.
  • I conquered fear foods like no other. I posted about it here but I also faced (and defeated) a lot more. Cheese, ice cream, butter, red meat, unorganic chicken, white bread, candy, grilled cheese, french fries, and cupcakes (vegan and non vegan). I even ate a Taco Bell quesadilla. If somebody were to look at this list, they would say it was unhealthy. But to be honest, I’ve never felt healthier. Because I’m not focusing so much on what I’m eating, I have been able to loosen up and focus on the people around me and how I’m feeling. My mental health has never been better. Therefore, I feel better about myself. 
  • I loosened up a lot. I used to be such a prick. No joke. During high school, it was school, basketball practice, or home. I didn’t do anything fun. This has been the summer for me to let loose. I hung out with friends on a whim and even drank. I know I sound like a hypocrite because I posted about not drinking here but I’ve reconsidered a lot in my life. 
  • I got a boyfriend. My dad still hates this, therefore, he does not know that we are still dating. It’s been going really good between the boy and me. He got back from pre deployment and we hung out a couple of times. Now I’m off to Texas but he will visit his family in September and visit me in the process.
  • I got, not 1, but 2 cartilage piercings! My motto this summer has been YOLO. I know it’s overused and annoying but it’s so great. My parents weren’t too mad about the first piercing so I decided to get the second one. Partly for me, partly to piss my dad off. I told my mom about it but my dad hasn’t even noticed yet. YOLO.
  • I went to the beach a lot more than usual. I have never been a beach person. But this summer, I realized that I actually like to go! I went with my friends a few times and even solo a few. I’m gonna miss it, that’s for sure. 
  • I went to a couple concerts. I talked about the Tim McGraw/Kenny Chesney concert here but I also went to a Brantley Gilbert/Toby Keith concert. I am a hugeeee Brantley Gilbert fan so that’s how I originally heard about the concert. Brantley was amazing, didn’t cease to amaze me, that’s for sure. And Toby Keith was an awesome entertainer! 
  • My friendships got stronger. I used to always be the girl who would make up a lame excuse when asked to hang out. But now, I’m the one asking my friends to hang out. Or if they call last minute, I’m more than likely to say yes. I got much closer with my friends and I’m going to miss them SO much. And that just about sums up my summer! I’m currently in Albuquerque, New Mexico and we make the final part of the drive into Texas tomorrow. So. Stoked!

What was your highlight from the summer?  

17 thoughts on “where has the summer gone?

  1. Amazing 🙂 This summer looks like it was such a huge maturing experience for you, I’m so happy you were able to just live life, let go, and tell that ED to beat it! You have so many fun adventures on the horizon, can’t wait to hear about it all!!

  2. You have had an amazing summer, it’s been cool to read about the new foods you’ve tried too and how much you’ve grown as a person. I think it’s great you haven’t had to give up the whole summer for basketball too and have been able to work, take classes, and just be yourself. Good luck with going back to college, can’t wait to read about it!

  3. I absolutely loved reading this post. It sounds like your summer was perfect and you deserved that! The fact that you were able to let go and enjoy whatever life threw at you is amazing.
    “My mental health has never been better. Therefore, I feel better about myself.” <— That makes me SO happy! I feel the same way. For the first time in…well, as long as I can remember…I'm not worried about being 'perfect' all the time. It's not worth it! There are so many things I want to experience but I can't if I'm living in my safe little bubble.
    You're going to have such an incredible time starting college- I can't wait to hear all about it! ❤

  4. I am so happy that you have had such an awesome summer! I am glad that it’s been a largely ED free summer. No worried about not blogging. I did miss you posts but having a life is totally an acceptable excuse! I really hope you enjoy your new school! And don’t worry about your boyfriend and dad conflict. I don’t know what that’s like but I can understand the whole daddy’s little girl thing. He’ll come around eventually.
    Anyway, I can’t wait to hear about your new school and all your fun times ahead! xx

  5. I just started reading your blog and love it! this and other posts are so inspiring! I went through a similar time a couple years ago, and I just now look back and think that if I spent half as much energy on my friends, family, having fun and taking chances in life as I put into my ED, things would have turned out very differently with fewer regrets. Even if it is cliche you keep living like YOLO! haha its the only way. : )

  6. i loved reading this post!! so many things that you did this summer i hope i get to do in the future 🙂 i really want to get an itty bitty nose piercing (one of those ones that you don’t even notice right away cause they’re so small) but my parents would literally kill me. we’ll see how that one goes, haha.

    and i’m so happy for you that you’ve been able to loosen up, enjoy fear foods, be spontaneous, and live it up!! i can’t wait to hear how texas is!

  7. congrats on the accomplishments you have made! so glad that it was a successful summer (probably best you weren’t on the computer as much!…it just provides an excellent escape when I’m in the office all day, oh internships)

    1. yolo, while everyone uses it, is well, perfect. love the piercing! my friend and I did that in Barcelona 🙂 so spontaneous, loved it!
    2. is that Crescent Bay in Laguna? that’s where we always go!
    3. would love to hear what you did at a vegan restaurant
    4. best of luck!!

    I’d say the highlight of this summer was finally relaxing and not stressing about what I was/wasn’t doing. I wasn’t worried if people didn’t call or reach out, I enjoyed the trips I made and the time I had to do absolutely nothing (usually I freak out if there is down time and am super stressed most of the time as a result) I also learned (or am in the process of learning) to relax about exercise and not beat myself up over it, especially when I like to get competitive with other people (including my sister)

    Anywho, I have enjoyed baking, cooking, Hawaii, some spontaneity and blogging (reintroduced to the blog world after a few months off)

  8. How does the summer always go by so fast?? I’m about to start classes again, too, and it’s fun to reflect on the great things that happened over the summer (summer classes excluded, of course) 🙂 In terms of your food fears, I have to remember to lighten up too because it’s too easy to get caught up in trying to eat healthy all the time–sometimes we just have to listen to our bodies and know that splurges are OK! I’m glad you had a good summer!

  9. What an amazing summer recap. I am so happy and proud of you for going beyond your fears, and finally letting go. I’ve only been following your blog for a short period, but even so, I can tell how happier & stronger you’ve become. You are an amazing person hunnie, and don’t let anyone tell you different. Please Please PLEASE enjoy your time w/ the boy before he leaves for deployment. From experience with the hubs being deployed & gone so frequent, I can’t stress to you enough how important every second is together <3.

Leave a Reply

