let’s boogie on down

Life is still going by a thousand miles a minute. I have been picking up a lot of hours at work but I am still loving it. Add online classes to that and bam! I’m a busy girl. But back to work. The chef has a cookbook and you best believe I bought it. I’ve talked about boogie bars before and my love for them. Man, they’re flippin’ delicious. It’s banana bread with chocolate chips, almonds, and coconuts. Basically like all of my favorite things in one. So when I got the cookbook, I made sure to make the boogie bar recipe ASAP. And they did not disapoint!

Boogie Bars (adapted from the Native Foods Cookbook)
Makes 8 bars

Ingredients:
-1c whole wheat flour
-1/2c rolled oats
-1/2Tbsp baking powder
-1/4tsp salt
-1/2c sliced almonds
-1/4c shredded coconut
-1/4c chocolate chips
-1c maple syrup
-3oz silken tofu (or 3 oz firm tofu blended with a splash of almond milk)
-1/2 ripe banana (or frozen banana)
-1/4c canola oil
-1/2Tbsp vanilla
-sliced almonds for the top

1. Preheat the oven to 375 F and coat a loaf pan or 8×8 inch pan with oil.
2. Mix the flour, oats, baking powder, salt, almonds, coconut, and chocolate chips together in a medium bowl.
3. In a food processor or magic bullet, puree the maple syrup, tofu, banana, oil, and vanilla.
4. Add the liquid ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix.
5. Pour the batter into the pan and top with sliced almonds.
6. Bake for 35-40 minutes.

I can’t get enough of these bars! I love them. Now I’m off to watch Keeping Up with the Kardashians and stuff my face with boogie bars. That’s right, be jealous.

 

21 thoughts on “let’s boogie on down

  1. Oh my that sounds like my kind of banana bread!! Not gonna lie, but that sounds like my kinda night too… Gotta love the kardashians.

  2. gahhhhh i remember you posting about those and I remember I wanted one SO SO BAD!!! Definitely gonna be making these ASAP πŸ˜€

  3. Mmm thank you for sharing these! That’s so neat that there’s tofu in them – I’ve never tried baking with tofu before!

  4. Ooh these look delicious, you’ve just reminded me that I had my eye on a chocolate and banana bread recipe – I must try it out when I get back from Paris! Glad you’re still enjoying work πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

