what I’ve been up to

Oh hey there! I haven’t blogged in about a week and a half. Oye. How time flies! Since I haven’t blogged in awhile, I figure I would update ya’ll on some happenings in my life. I basically always do this when I don’t blog for awhile, and I most likely always will. So…yeah.

What I’ve been doing:

-I’ve been living life like a normal teen. *gasp* The other day I realized that this is my last summer as a teenager. So I really gotta live it up!

-The other night, I went ice blocking with some of my friends. I’m pretty sure ice blocking is only a California thing but people everywhere should do it. Basically, you buy a block of ice (which lots of grocery stores sell) and ride it down a hill. So. Much. Fun. For under 2 bucks, you get hours of fun!

-After ice blocking, we went to a 24 hour diner for milkshakes. I didn’t order one but I had a few bites from my friend. But I will get my own next time because you know what?? I’m still alive and it was delicious!

 -Then the next night, I went to a country club with my friend and some of her coworkers. I left the house at 10pm (a time I’d normally be getting ready for bed at) and didn’t get home until 2:30am. It basically made me want to go to Texas even sooner!

How awesome are these shorts??

-Speaking of Texas, I bought a pair of cowboy boots! They basically cost my entire paycheck, but it was worth it.

-I’ve been loving the free desserts I get at work. I brought home 7 boogie bars (banana bread with coconut, chocolate chips, and almonds) the other night. A cardamom rose cupcake the next. And then 2 strawberry shortcakes today.

-Speaking of fear foods (I’m looking at you cupcake), I ate pasta the other day. White pasta and bread to be exact.

 -I’ve also been thoroughly enjoying my cat. (No surprise there.)

What I’ve not been doing:

-I haven’t been obsessing over eating X servings of veggies or Y servings of fruit. If I have a piece of fruit for a snack? Cool. If I don’t? So what. Life goes on.

-I also haven’t been freaking out over working out. I ran the other day for the first time in about 2 weeks. Lately I have been loving Insanity, tabata, and weight lifting. So if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it!

Not gonna lie, I was very tempted to write YOLO after all these. But since I want to punch people in the face whenever they say it, I resisted.

What motto have you been living by lately? 

19 thoughts on “what I’ve been up to

  1. It’s so great to hear you’ve been doing so well,Haley! I am so glad you’ve had a god time with your friends and were able to LIVE,really live this summer!
    Huge horray for tackling fear foods as well,and oh my gosh,I LOVE your boots! I’ve always wanted boots like that,seriously.

  2. Aww it sounds like you’ve been loving life lately! I’m so happy for you. 🙂 Isn’t it amazing when we finally discover a life beyond just food, calories, and exercise?

  3. I love those boots, that cupcake conquering just made my life, and the milkshake picture made me crack up haha So glad you’re having fun girl!! 🙂

  4. This post made me so happy to read 🙂 You sound so positive and you’ve grown so much as a person, it’s lovely to see that your relationship with food is getting better! Your boots are fantastic 🙂 All of the food looks amazing too, I’m really glad that you’re eating foods that you used to be scared of!

  5. Sounds like you are having an awesome time. This is my last teen summer as well so I gotta have some fun! So far I haven’t done much but that is okay. I’m planning a party right now so that’s good. Your cat is adorable. I want to go ice blocking! It is so great that you’re eating your fear foods.
    I really hope you like Texas. It sounds like you really will but I lived there for about 6 months and thought I was going to die. I moved away to Montana for a few years then to Seattle and have never gone back to Texas.

  6. This post just put the biggest smile on my face.
    I’m SO happy that you’re enjoying life and making the most of every moment. Letting food and exercise stand in the way of you enjoying yourself is not worth it at all.
    And girl, I seriously say YOLO in my head alllll the time nowadays. haha. It irritates me when people overuse it, but I can’t help it! Oh well…YOLO…hahaha

  7. I’m glad to hear how happy you are. You deserve it! I just posted a photo on my facebook with YOLO and a girl being sleazy yesterday and the bottom photo had a girl pregnant.hahaha…It made me laugh.

  8. We go ice blocking in Utah too! So much fun! Haley, you are such an inspiration to me! Keep it up and live it up while you are young. I am glad to see you are so happy and having so much fun! Stinkin’ cute boots btw!

  9. I’m so glad that your life is going well. Recently I’ve been hanging out with my friends and just having fun. I’ve realized that not focusing on food and just enjoying life is a much easier way to live. 🙂

Leave a Reply

