WIAW of randomness

Everybody loves some random pictures of food, right? Just say yes.

Greek yogurt, almond butter protein cookies (recipe at the end), bananas, and coconut

Whole Foods hot bar: superfood salad (it was gross), sesame tofu, and quinoa salad

Chicken, roasted veggies, roasted kabocha squash, and roasted sweet potatoes with BBQ sauce

apple with cinnamon raisin pb

leftovers from work: tofu, brown rice, steamed veggies, and a red curry sauce

Whole Foods for breakfast: tofu, egg whites, eggs, potatoes with ketchup, creme brulee french toast, asian style noodles, and a hot chai with almond milk

French toast with strawberries, bananas, blueberries, greek yogurt, and walnuts

Chocolate cake on Father’s Day. Another point for Haley against the fear food!

Speaking of fear foods, I ate a cupcake the other day. It was vegan, but it was a cupcake nonetheless. I had the closing shift at work and the cupcakes were going to be thrown away or we could take them home. I stare at them all day and have never tried one before so I took one home. It was vanilla (my favorite) and it tasted SO good.
Haley-3 Fear Foods-0

Now onto the recipe! I have had this almond butter in the fridge for awhile but it has stayed untouched…

When it comes to nut butters, I need salt. And this one only had one ingredient: almonds. So I finally decided to use it up!

Almond Butter Protein Cookies
Makes 9

-1c almond butter
-1 egg
-1/4c almond milk
-2 scoops protein powder
-1tsp baking powder
-1/4tsp salt (if your almond butter is salted, simply omit the salt)
-4-5 dates, pitted and chopped
-chocolate chips

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
2. Add all the ingredients in a bowl and stir.
3. Plop onto the baking sheet.
4. Bake for 15 minutes.
5. Enjoy the protein-y goodness.

Do you care if nut butters have salt or not?
Pancakes, french toast, or waffles?

33 thoughts on “WIAW of randomness

  1. Those cookies sound DELICIOUS!! Bookmarking for after prep 😉

    I will only eat nut butter if it is:
    1) Salted
    2) Crunchy.

    The only exceptions are flavored nut butters (Dark Chocolate Dreams, White Chocolate Wonderful, and Cinnamon Raisin Swirl). 🙂

  2. Yay for conquering your cupcake fear food!! You rock 🙂
    And these eats look so good, especially that apple with the cinnamon raisin pb– classic combo that never gets old! I want some of these cookies now too heehee

  3. 1) sea salt in nut butter = omg. especially walnut butter
    2) pancakes!!!!!! no contest. I have a weird relationship with french toast–I think the combination of sweet + savory kinda throws me off.

    Good job on the fear foods. That NF cheesecake is pretty darn good too 🙂

  4. Omg I love salted nut butter but I have to admit that I can eat an entire jar of that almond butter in like two weeks. I think it’s because of the drippyness.. Idk, I love it so much though. I’m actually craving it now, haha! Those protein cookies look awesome, as with all of your eats! Congrats on dropkicking fear foods in the face 🙂

  5. I consume so much salt/sodium…I’m addicted to the flava! So yeah, my nut butters pretty much all have salt added haha.

    And holy crap. I need to make those cookies! 1 whole cup of almond butter and you’re talking my language!!!

  6. Cupcakse= pure heaven! 🙂 I like a little salt in my nut butters- I tend to eat that faster (not sure if that is good or bad, haha). I would choose waffles topped with nut butter! 🙂

  7. Waffles! Most possibly because I don’t have a waffle iron and always want exactly what I can’t have,haha 😛
    And nut butter… Salted,please! Salf brings out the flavor 😉
    Anyhoo,I am so proud of you for conquering fear foods! 🙂 awesome!

  8. MM definitely trying this recipe out when I’m home in August! I used to be afraid of nut butter in salt, but when you’re young and active you actually need the salt! Which is good because I think it tastes better that way. I still try to avoid palm oil though!

  9. Congrats on conquering another fear food, that’s so awesome! And vegan cupcakes are delicious =) Those cookies look delicious too.

    Waffles are my favorite. I also really want an english bulldog named Waffles when I grow up, maybe that’s weird but I think it’s a cute dog name.

  10. hehe the whole foods superfood salad IS pretty nasty 😛 but everything else here looks crazy AWESOME! and um, girl you are kicking fear food ASS over here. legit. And also I love your protein cookie recipe, so awesome! I’m starting to get serious about baking my own snack bar/cookie things cuz I’m finding that a lot of store-bought ones seem to be messing with my stomach/ I’m cutting out gluten this week, so hayy this recipe looks like a good one for me and my tummy! 😀

  11. Ok random thing; I believe I’ve followed your blog long enough to realize you don’t eat meat. I’m starting to move away from it a little bit, do you have any foods you’d suggest to substitue for protein?

  12. All of this food looks so so delicious! That Whole Foods hot bar food looks really good, shame about the superfood salad. The chicken, roasted veggies, roasted kabocha squash, and roasted sweet potatoes looks like just the sort of meal I love 🙂 Want to make me some French toast??

  13. Oh my gosh the first time I ever had almond butter, it was unsalted and I was like “this is nasty. Why does anyone like this stuff?!” But then I added salt and it was like the biggest transformation ever. Now I LOVE LOVE LOVE it. So yes, salt is important to me 😉

  14. Oh my gosh, those almond butter cookies look TO DIE FOR! I will definitely be adding that to my must-try-out recipe list!

    And, pancakes, all the way! There is not even a competition there!

Leave a Reply

