savory blue cornmeal pancakes

I’m pretty sure 75% of the recipes I’ve shared are pancakes and 95% are carb related. But cards are delicious, so your argument is invalid.

But back to the goods. My first time in Portland, I went to Byways Cafe and they had the best blue cornmeal pancakes. The best. Once again, your argument is invalid. I’ve been meaning to recreate the recipe for so long but have never gotten around to it. But since I’m on my pancake kick, I decided to change it up and go with a savory version. I had some avocados, salsa, a lone egg, and a hankering for pancakes (shocker). Plus it’s blue…and blue is the best color. You guessed it: your argument is invalid.

Savory Blue Cornmeal Pancakes
Serves 1

  • 1/2c blue cornmeal (regular cornmeal works too)
  • 2Tbsp wheat bran (more cornmeal works)
  • 1/8tsp salt
  • 1/2tsp baking powder
  • 1 flax egg (1Tbsp ground flax seeds + 3Tbsp warm water)
  • 1/2c milk
  • sweetener (I used 7 drops of stevia but agave, maple syrup, and honey would work)
  • toppings: If you want it to be savory, I recommend a fried egg, salsa, and/or avocado. But if you want a sweeter version, maple syrup works too! That’s what I used at Byways and it was uhhmazing.
  1. Make the flax egg and let sit until it forms a gel. Set aside.
  2. In a medium bowl, combine the cornmeal, bran, salt, and baking powder.
  3. Now add the flax egg, milk, and sweetener.
  4. Heat a skillet to medium heat and once hot enough, pour the batter into the pan.
  5. When you see bubbles form in the batter, flip.
  6. Cook for about a minute on the other side.
  7. Stack the pancakes up and layer with toppings!
And now I leave you with this video of my cat. Does anybody else’s cat do this? Whenever she sees a bird, she goes into total stealth mode and makes this meow/goat like noice. It’s weird. But I love it.
Any weird things your pet does when they see another animal?
What’s your favorite color?
19 thoughts on “savory blue cornmeal pancakes

  1. um. NEVER be sorry for posting a pancake recipe. Pancakes are my newly discovered favourite and I”d be happy if your blog was called, ‘pancake freak pancake girl’. and these are savoury? I’m in love. I used to get these blue cornmeal flake cereal but they don’t make it anymore. And guess what girl, now you’ve got me craving blue cornmeal. DARN. I mean, I almost have them, they are on my plate 😉

  2. That horse picture just made my life haha and omg when we had a cat she did the same thing and it ALWAYS cracked me up! 😀
    Thanks for sharing the recipe too!

  3. I’ve never had savory pancakes before, but these looks awesome!!! I love the Mexican flavours you served them with too. Bookmarking this for sure! 😀

  4. MmmmKaaay, need to make these now. I love cornbread/corn muffins so I KNOW I would love them in pancake form!

  5. My cat does that too! I just thought she was a weirdo, so I’m glad she’s not the only one.
    My favorite color is purple, I even had purple hair once. Oh high school.
    And those pancakes look awesome, I’ve never thought about making savory ones before, and they look even cooler since they’re blue.

  6. My dogs do tons of weird things. i can’t even specify. sometimes they go mad when they see another dog and sometimes it doesn’t even phase them. My favorite color is purple!

  7. Hmmm, the idea of savoury pancakes hadn’t ever occurred to me before! I kinda want to try them now though. My small dog growls and barks and sounds a bit crazy when she sees another dog. And my favourite colour is pink (I’m a girly girl!)

  8. Wow those pancakes, along with all your other ones, look amazing! You’ve definitely inspired me to get creative with ma cakes. Speaking of blue cornmeal . . . have you ever been to the cafe at Mother’s Market? If not, go now! You would love it. Their food is so good. They serve some pretty stellar blue corn ‘flaps’ (pancakes). They aren’t savory – they are served with maple syrup/banana/blueberries/walnuts if desired, but YUM! Everything else (salads, breakfast burritos, stir-fries, sandwiches, breakfast melt <—– !!!!! so good, etc.) are also taste sensations.
    Here's a link to their kitchen page with their menus if yo interested . . . http://www.mothersmarket.com/kitchen.html
    I'm pretty sure you'd already know about Mother's, being an OC girl. The one in costa mesa is the bestttt.
    P.S. Just a heads up, I dont know of they make it anymore, but in their prepared foods section sometimes they had this dried apple, walnut, coconut, raisin cake-like-bar-thing (flourless and i think raw?). . . . ahhh-mazin'.
    Mother's NEEDS to come to Australia!

    • I LOVE mothers! That’s so funny you talked about the breakfast melt because a girl I work with was just talking about how awesome it is the other day. I really have to get it now! I’ve seen the blue cornmeal pancakes on the menu but am such a creature of habit that I usually get gingered greens with tempeh. But I’ll go out of my comfort zone next time!

  9. Haha my cat does that too!!! It must be a cat thing…and I love it 🙂
    I’ve been obsessing over pancakes lately too and can’t get enough! I typically make one massive single serving pancake for breakfast using buckwheat flour and additions such as oats, quinoa flakes, and oat bran. I’ve also used cornmeal, but the blue version sounds a lot better !

Leave a Reply

