a working girl’s WIAW

Happy WIAW everyone! Hope you all have had a great start to the week. This week’s WIAW is based off of my day at work. So I’ll give you guys an update on the new job too ๐Ÿ˜€

Breakfast

Banana pecan protein buckwheat pancakes, maple syrup, and green tea

This morning’s pancakes weren’t as pretty as last week’s but they were still delicious! I didn’t measure the ingredients, but they included a combination like:

-1/3c pancake mix
-3/4 scoop chocolate protein powder
-1Tbsp raw protein powder
-1/2tsp baking soda
-3Tbsp coconut flour
-dash of cinnamon
-1/2tsp vanilla extract
-2 egg whites
-about 1/2c almond milk
-1 ripe banana
-1/4c pecans

After breakfast, it was time for work! So far, I have been loving it. The people I work with are super nice and we all get along so well. Plus, I love talking to the customers and helping them. Compared to my other past jobs where I dreaded going into work, I actually enjoy when I have a shift! Plus, the food is awesome so that doesn’t hurt either ๐Ÿ˜‰

Snack
No lunch for me today. So sad, too bad. I did get a break while on work though so I had an apple and protein bar. Then it was back to work!

Snack
After another amazing day at work, I came home hungryyy.

Banana, pb, and chocolate vanilla granola

Looks like dessert, tasted like dessert. I was a happy girl.

After I let this snack sit for a bit, I hit the gym! I changed it up a bit and road my bike rather than drive. Turned out to be an amazing decision. I took a more bike friendly route and it took 2.2 miles and 10 minutes to get there. Way faster than driving with all the in town traffic! I have found my new source of transportation ๐Ÿ™‚

At the gym, I did a bicep/back workout and then joined in on an Athletic Training class. If you have a 24 Hour Fitness pass, go to the Athletic Training class! It was so much fun and a real workout. Loved it! Plus the instructor reminded me of Jillian Michaels. Wha wha??

Dinner

Kale, red pepper, and tofu swiss chard wraps with salsa, avocado, and cabbage, brussels sprouts on the side, and a glass of iced green tea lavender lemonade

The wraps were super simple to make! All I did was saute some kale and red peppers in a bit of olive oil. With the tofu, I baked it in the oven with some of this spice:

Easy peasy.

ย Do you ride your bike to the gym?
What’s been your favorite job so far?ย 

42 thoughts on “a working girl’s WIAW

  1. That’s good that you’re enjoying your job! I hope I can get one this summer that I enjoy, if I can even get a job. You’re lucky.

  2. I’m so glad you are enjoying work! Its incredible how refreshing it is when you actually like your job. I definitely want to try that athletic training class, was it a bootcamp style class?

  3. I would love to ride my bike to the gym, I would really love to ride it to work but I don’t want to show up all sweaty haha. I am so glad you love your job! My last job was at a smoothie shop and I ended up becoming the manager. I miss that job every day. They went out of business and it was the saddest day ever!

  4. That’s a very green plate. ๐Ÿ™‚ I used to walk to the gym. Now we have no gym. Boo. My favorite job so far??? Well, I loved teaching… also cooking in my college’s cafteria. Seriously. I loved it. lol. and it minimize the student loans.

  5. So glad you’re enjoying the job!

    I bike to the gym when I’m at home – it’s about 8 mins away, which is great. I don’t at school though as it’s easier to walk (it’s only about a 3 minute walk, but it’s up a really steep hill!)

  6. I’m more a fan of bumping tunes in my car getting pumped for a work out on the way to the gym. Then again where I live, the weather outside isn’t so compatible to show up to the gym after. Can anyone say wet rat looking Isa?

    Nannying! Which is my job now. Playing mom for part of the day as well as being a best friend to the twins. Lounging at the pool, going on hikes and to museums. It’s great! But your job sounds spectacular! Something I hope to do in the future!

  7. You have the same dinnerware as my house!! Forgive me for being blog-absent lately, but where do you work? I’m glad you like your job though! My favourite job has been Nannying here in London. I never ever dreaded going and the kids were cute and cooperative! I’m not a member of a gym and it would take me hours to ride to the nearest one at home. Hopefully someday I’ll live closer, but for now i just work out at home.

  8. Congrats on the new job and on liking it! I haated my old job – so glad I quit! My favourite job has been freelance journalism – I kind of accidentally stumbled into it haha. I got to interview two fashion designers for a magazine this month so that was awesome. That banana snack looks amazing!!! And I have to admite I’ve never had brussel sprouts, but yours look great!

  9. I really wish I could ride my bike to the gym! itโ€™s a short enough distance, but on a busy/unsafe road….if I were a more experienced rider Iโ€™d do it but I am not so good at clipping out and stopping yet so I wouldnโ€™t risk it. That athletic training class sounds epic!! And Iโ€™m so glad youโ€™re having fun at work, aaaand omg pancakes. I love the seasoning you used for your dinner too, Iโ€™m on a huge spice/seasoning kick right now so Iโ€™m gonna look for that one!

  10. I’m trying to get back into bike riding this summer, it’s been forever since I’ve been on one!
    Congrats on your job! I teach Pilates at my university during the year and I love it! It doesn’t even feel like work. I used to be a cashier at PetSmart, the pets were cute, their owners, not so much.

  11. I should bike to the gym because it’s pretty close… I don’t know why I don’t! Maybe I’ll start biking on my weight lifting days instead of warming up on the elliptical. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Also thanks for posting your pancake recipe – those look amazing!

  12. I’m so happy you’re enjoying work so far,Haley! That’s so important; there really is nothing worse than going to work with no motivation at all every day…
    Your afternoon snack looks lovely,by the way! โค

  13. That is awesome that you are loving work. I think if you like the people you work with, it makes all the difference in the world.

    I don’t currently have a bike, but living in a college town where everything is so close, I think I really need to get one. Especially now that the weather is nice!

  14. My building has a gym so I don’t even have to leave my house for that… although that might be a good AND bad thing. Depends how you look at it. It’s easy and fast, but also… lazy? haha

    Nice day of eats ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. I don’t have a bike.. But if I did, I think the gym would be too far away. Which sucks! I wish I could bike/run to the gym, but oh well. That spice looks AMAZING! I’m so glad you’re having fun at your job ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. I workout at home so no need to bike to the gym but I do love biking other places! That banana is making me hungry haha…looks so freakin good!!

  17. Thats so funny, I just biked to the YMCA yesterday; The only downside I can think of is biking up the hill you have to trek up after my workout, haha

  18. Your banana, nut butter, granola concoction looks divine ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m addicted to bananas and nut butter of all flavors but I’ve never added any other topping ๐Ÿ™‚ gonna have to try this asap lol, great idea! thanks you for that :))

  19. Pingback: did i really just eat that? | Health Freak College Girl

Leave a Reply

