honey lavender scones

Oh scones. I love ’em. But not the whole butter thing. Butter still freaks me out. I really don’t know why, but it’s still a food I struggle with. I’ll try and conquer it one day, but that day wasn’t today. Today, I made scones without butter. Sub in some greek yogurt and it’s just as good (in my opinion). Since going to Seattle and buying lavender, I’ve been trying to use the goods sparingly. First came lavender lemonade and now these scones. Both quite delicious.

These scones are light, crumbly, and healthy (not much of a shock there). I originally saw the recipe for scones on Oh She Glows and made them like, the next day. I made a few variations: pumpkin, banana nut, and now honey lavender. Okay enough talk, here’s the recipe.

Honey Lavender Scones (makes 8)
adapted from here

  • 1c buckwheat flour
  • 1c oat bran (or oat flour)
  • 1/2tsp salt
  • 2tsp baking powder
  • 1/2tsp baking soda
  • 1Tbsp culinary lavender
  • 1/4c olive oil
  • 1/4c honey
  • 1/4c plain greek yogurt
  • 3Tbsp almond milk
  • 1tsp vanilla extract
  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  2. In a large bowl, combine the buckwheat flour, oat bran/flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, and lavender.
  3. Add the olive oil and mix until crumbly (it’s easiest to mix with your hands).
  4. Add the honey, yogurt, almond milk, and vanilla and mix it on up.
  5. Spoon the batter onto the baking sheet and bake for 15-20 minutes at 375 degrees.
Now go make these. And if you don’t have lavender, go buy a lavender plant. That’s my next move…
What’s your favorite kind of scone?
14 thoughts on “honey lavender scones

  1. My dad makes these awesome orange-raisin-cumin scones (i know that sounds super bizarre, but they’re SO good!). Hahah I actually used to think all scones had those ingredients, so the first time I got a scone not from home, I was totally confused! Anyway, yours look fab 🙂 Butter can be…tricky, but it’s helped me a lot to realize that it’s not necessarily the devil it’s made out to be by the media. Still working on that, but yeah 🙂

  2. Ohh these sound great! I never cook or bake with butter, I always use coconut oil. I do like the greek yogurt swap though. I like cranberry orange scones, raspberry scones, and blueberry scones. I would eat almost any flavor though!

  3. ommmmg scones. Scones are probably my weakness – at my college, we had a little indie coffee shop on campus, and they made vegan scones that were to DIE for….so yeah I’m all for the butterless scones and I totally wanna try these out!! and yeah, I have issues with butter too. Not that I’m afraid of it per se, but it grosses me out like none other haha.

  4. I actually don’t really make scones that often. I’m more of a muffin/cookie girl! But these look amazing. And that’s awesome that they taste just as good without the butter!

  5. Who doesn’t love scones? I have an eggnog scone mix in my pantry but I have yet to make it. I don’t trust things that come in packages and say “just add water”. These look really good.

  6. I’ve always wanted to bake with lavender but always think of it as more of a scent than a flavor haha but these scones might give me the push to cook with it!

Leave a Reply

