PCRF Cinco de Mayo Half Marathon Race Recap

I bet you guys didn’t see that one coming! I haven’t run a race since December, even though it feels way longer than just 5 months ago. But that all changed today. Today, I ran race #8 on my 21 before 21 goal 🙂

This was the PCRF Cinco de Mayo Half Marathon. Luckily, it wasn’t very far so I didn’t have to wake up crazy early. My alarm when off at 5:15am and I was up. I made myself the usual: Udi’s cinnamon raisin bagel with pumpkin butter, an orange, and green tea.

Then my dad, mom, and I headed to the race start. Parking was super easy and we got there with about 30 minutes to spare. So we stood around and I stretched.

Once 7am rolled around, we were off. Before the race, I was thinking it would be fairly flat. It was flat compared to other races, but every once in awhile, those rolling hills were killer!

Mile 1 – 7:41 – This race wasn’t crowded so there wasn’t any weaving in and out of people. I liked it!

Mile 2 – 7:56 – I knew I was going out too fast, but I have a hard time slowing myself down so I just kept going, hoping it wouldn’t bite me in the butt later. (HA I wish…)

Mile 3 – 8:06 

Mile 4 – 8:01 

Mile 5 – 8:10 

Mile 6 – 8:35 

Mile 7 – 8:18 – At this point, I take my Gu which has been hiding in my sports bra.

Mile 8 – 8:38 – “I could totally PR! If I keep up with this pace, I will beat my record by a minute or 2.”

Mile 9 – 8:46 –  I still thought I could PR at this point. Crazy kid.

Mile 10 – 8:44 – “Oh I think that’s Monica from Run Eat Repeat.” It was. And she passed me.

Mile 11 – 9:22 – I was really cramping up at this point. Not fun stuff. “I’m getting a foam roller for sure.” 

Mile 12 – 10:04 – Basically it was all downhill from here. Figuratively, not literally. I just wanted the race to be over but I didn’t let myself walk. If I’m not gonna PR, then I’m sure as heck not going to walk.

Mile 13 – 10:10 – So happy to see the finish line!

Mile .27 – 2:29 – Done!

Time – 1:55:04
Avg. Pace – 8:40

The race itself was really good. There were a lot of volunteers, water stations, and arrows pointing out the course. Plus the course was like a giant circle rather than an out an back, so that was nice!

As for myself, it wasn’t so great. I have no idea why I thought I could PR considering the fact that the furthest I’ve run in the past 5 months was 6 miles. Sometimes I’m not the smartest kid.

 

17 thoughts on “PCRF Cinco de Mayo Half Marathon Race Recap

  1. Congrats!!! Even if you didn’t PR, good for you for still running it!!! And I like how you said you didn’t have to get up crazy early, yet you were up at 5:15 😉 that’s crazy early for me!

  2. Congrats! I am thinking about trying to do a couple half’s over the summer.. You kept awesome pace even if you didn’t PR! I thought you hadn’t been running for a while, or were you secretly training to surprise us? 🙂 (Or am I an oblivious moron..?)

  3. Congrats on the race! Even if you didn’t PR, you still finished with an awesome time! Even with training, I doubt I could run it that quickly! 😛

  4. Congrats!!! Way to get the running momentum flowing again!! Don’t worry about the time, you’re a star in my book 🙂 Glad you enjoyed it!!

  5. Your time and paces are great!! ESPECIALLY since you haven’t been running much! Give yourself some credit! I love the medal, congrats on number 8!

  6. Woo go you! Congratulations on running this after not having run more than 6 miles in the last few months, for me that’s still pretty impressive! You inspired me to go to the gym this morning 🙂

Leave a Reply

