have extra granola? make these cookies!

I have a goal for this summer. Tara did it once and since being home and seeing all the food in the pantry, I decided I should too. My goal is to not buy any bars, granola, cereals, and other goods until I finish the ones I have! Between the expo, reviews, and buying new-to-me products, my cabinets are been overflowing. So in an attempt to use what I already have, I have been getting creative in the kitchen. But for now, we will only be buying the essentials at the market: fruits, veggies, milk, eggs.

At the expo, I got a whole bunch of granola samples. I mean, I love granola and all, but you can only eat so much! That’s where these cookies came about. I had an unopened bag sitting in the cabinet waiting to be used.

Granola Protein Cookies
makes 13

  • 1/2c oat bran (or oat flour)
  • 3c granola
  • 1/4c protein powder (I used vanilla whey)
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 Tbsp psyllium husks (or ground flax seeds)
  • 1 flax egg (3 Tbsp warm water mixed with 1 Tbsp ground flax until becomes thick)
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1/2c milk (I used unsweetened vanilla almond)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and set aside.
  3. In a medium bowl, combine the dry ingredients.
  4. Add the wet ingredients and stir till combined.
  5. Form the dough into 13 balls and line on a baking sheet.
  6. Bake at 350 F for 20-25 minutes.

Cookies + Granola + Protein = Don’t mind if I do πŸ˜‰

19 thoughts on “have extra granola? make these cookies!

  1. These look SO good! I can’t wait to have tons of samples to use up after I go to Expo East! SO EXCITED!!!!

  2. Oh my gosh that challenge was actually a lot of fun. It definitely helped me clean out the cabinets and stop buying so much! Plus it was fun to get creative like you have with these cookies. Granola can be so much more delicious when you bake with it!

  3. Thats a good idea. I’ve had some bars in my pantry since Christmas. I really just don’t like the flavor as much as I like EatSmile bars or Lara bars but I need to quit wasting them.

  4. these sound so good! i’ll have to try them out πŸ™‚ i definitely need to be better about cleaning out the pantry. i definitely have enough snack food to keep me going for a long long time, yet i keep buying more!

  5. My family is doing a cabinet clean out too – we realized yesterday that we have way too much crap in it haha. So we’re banning ourselves from buying any more stuff until we eat our way through it! πŸ˜›

    These cookies look awesome!

  6. Pingback: wiaw + some exciting news! | Health Freak College Girl

  7. I made these this morning for Teacher Appreciation Week. They were yummy…but needed a little more sweet so i drizzled them with raw honey. Next time I think I will use a sweet granola or just add honey to the mix.

Leave a Reply

