can we please go back in time?

When TV shows ended with a lesson and the whole family hugging and happy. 

When your mom had to bribe you with a pack of gum to get your shots.

When the Rugrats were still babies and not all grown up.

When there were boy bands.

“Welcome to good burger, home of the good burger, can I take your order?” Enough said. 

When you begged your parents for Nickelodeon magazine.

When you played soccer just for the snacks.

When the Fresh Prince of Bel Air would come on and you would sing every single word of the intro. (Okay. So I still do that.)

When the hardest decision was what toy you wanted in your Happy Meal.

When Pluto was still a planet.

When you and your friends did M.A.S.H. because it totally predicted your future.

When people weren’t glued to their cell phones, computers, and iPods.

Where there was only one gameboy instead of who knows how many there are now.

When “I wanna really really really wanna zig a zig ahh” made total sense.

When Lisa Frank was the biggest trend, not True Religion, Abercrombie, or Gucci.

When running the mile in PE class was like the biggest deal….ever.

When scrunchies were still cool.

When you were convinced that Furby’s were pure evil.

When Lunchables were the best lunch.

When summers were spent outside playing on the Slip ‘n Slide.

When razor scooters were the best way of transportation.

When you played Heads Up 7 Up during class.

When you collected Pokemon cards but had no idea what to do with them so you just stared at them.

When you had Groovy Girl dolls and had to have every piece of clothing to dress them up.

When you wore stick on earrings.

27 thoughts on “can we please go back in time?

  1. haha, I totally agree that those were the fun days! 😀 Oh mannn I never thought I’d see the day when I’d be saying those words….lol! Also, I miss the innocence of those days! Everything is so “open” and liberal on TV nowadays.

  2. Seriously, I love the 90’s. Probably the best time to grow up. I can’t imagine what my kids will grow up with technology wise.. It’s freaky. Also, Furbies ARE pure evil.

  3. This is fabulous, I can relate to almost all of them. Heads up 7 Up was probably the best game ever to play when we had a sub in class. I totally rocked the scrunchies, but never got a lunchable, despite my longing 😦 oh, and can I just say how pokeman cards were banned at my elementary school? yeah, they went there. haha

  4. I miss the 90’s so much! Growing up in the 90s was awesome because I feel like we had a lot of fun technology (minus furbies) but our lives weren’t completely overwhelmed with it like they are now, but I’m sure every generation feels that way.
    TGIF on ABC used to be the highlight of my weeks, they just don’t make sitcoms like those any more.

  5. gah the 90s…..i miss them so much!!! I never really had furbies or Gigapets or Pokemon cards, and for that I was a LOSER hahaha. And ok, you know what, I still have Lisa Frank stuff and it is still my dream to find out if she is a real person and then meet her. hahaha.

    Oh and I totally have a 90s music playlist on my itunes…Nsync, BSB, Britney (before she was slutty), the Genie in a Bottle song, 98 degrees….LOOOOVE

  6. This makes me miss my childhood SO much!!! Going to McDonalds was always the highlight of my life – especially when they had the beanie baby toys haha! And the music was seriously the best. I used to spend hours with my friends dressing up like the Spice Girls and making dance routines to their songs. 😛

  7. Pingback: *drool* | Health Freak College Girl

  8. Pingback: Some Major Props | The Run Within

  9. LISA FRANK!!!!!
    Oh man, I was born in 1991, and I MISS the ’90s!!! Best years ever. Golden Disney era, after Little Mirmaid was made in ’89.
    And Beanie Babies were such a big deal, too! I was so into those (still am). As well as everything else you listed (minus Boys bands and Rugrats).

Leave a Reply

