“me” time

Who’s ready for the weekend? ME! Cause Saturday is the mud run and then Sunday is…well…church. And then one actual full week until summer! I can’t believe it.

I don’t know about you guys, but the weather here is b-e-a-utiful. After it being so stormy last week, I am definitely welcoming the sun. I used to always think that I liked the rain and cold but I’ve come to realize that I really don’t. Since I love being outside, whether it’s running or biking, warm weather is perfection to me.

Since I only have a little bit of time left in this area, I’ve been trying to make the best of it. Coupled with the beautiful weather, it’s the best “me” time possible.

I think the reason I always said I liked rain and cold weather was because:

a) it rarely rains in Orange County so it was a nice change. Plus, we never really experience the 4 seasons.
b) it gives me a reason to stay inside and not do anything.

The bad thing about the second part is that it pushes me further into depression. Being inside for long periods of time isn’t good for anyone.

So I have been have been trying to get myself outside more and I am loving it.

I started out Wednesday morning with a 16 mile bike ride. It was gorgeous. (Until I got a flat tire the last mile, but that’s not the point.) Starting my day outside felt amazing.

After class, I had a chiropractor appointment (the back and hamstring have gotten so much better!). The office was near a state park so I decided to take a hike. It was 2 hours of pure beauty.

I started out this morning with a track workout. After that, I headed for the beach!

Or not. Apparently the marine layer didn’t want to leave. So after an hour or so in the cold, I packed up my stuff and left. But I didn’t want to go to the dorm just yet, so I went on a drive. Where did I plan on going? I have no idea. All I knew was that I wanted the windows down and I wanted to blast some Jason Aldean. So that’s exactly what I did.

I made a random turn and ended up driving through giant trees and small towns. One town only had 85 people. That’s my kind of place.

The point of all this is that I need “me” time. I need a time, away from everybody and everything to just be by myself. Sure, I go on runs or bike rides but I look at those differently. Sometimes you just need a walk or time to think outside. Fresh air is the best medicine.

So this summer, I plan on going on a walks and hikes more often. I know there are trails near my house so I am going to take advantage of them and enjoy the beauty. Because, after all, the world is a beautiful place.

How to you spend your “me” time? 

21 thoughts on ““me” time

  1. Wow, everything looks so beautiful. It’s rainy and gross here. I’m looking forward to college. They started the welcome speech by saying, “this is our weather. For those of you that live on the other side of the mountains that thing in the sky is the sun. We have it almost every day.” I loved that. Too much rain and gloom doesn’t do it for me.
    Lucky you getting summer so soon!

  2. How fabulous and what gorgeous scenery! Sometimes going on fun little adventures like that are just what I need to get me through a tough week. I can’t believe summer is so close, soon we can soak up all this gorgeous weather and flush useless info from our noggins! Haha 😉

  3. I definitely need to find some hiking trails! My “me” time is usually spent with my journal and bible either inside or if it’s really nice out there’s this really pretty pond I like to go to. Can’t get enough of my “me” time!

  4. me time is the best!! I definitely feel like I need more of it than the average person. And I don’t really count my workouts either – those aren’t exactly peaceful haha. You’re so lucky to live in such a gorgeous area and it’s great you’re taking advantage of it while you’re still there!

  5. Hikes are the best, such an amazing way to enjoy nature and beautiful weather.
    My “me” time is a yoga class, it’s the one part of the week I can commit a full 75 minutes for myself without feeling guilty or like I should be doing something else (like studying for exams).

  6. That sounds like a lovely day! I’m glad you had fun during your “me” time. Usually for me time I read a book or do something by myself because I’m always around people.

  7. This is adorable! I never have any me time, but the ‘driving through an empty town’ sounds so amazing I immediately thought of a video clip/movie with the hair blowing in the wind, music playing…my brain sometimes. I hope you had a gorgeous time x

  8. I love my “me” time! But like you said, I need to spend it OUTSIDE of the house! I spent way too much time by myself indoors a few years ago and like you said,it really contributed to my depression at the time. I like to go on bike rides, visit local farms, read a book in a park, bake, and visit Whole Foods during my “me” time!

    I wish I had trails and beaches like that near my house though – it looks gorgeous there! 🙂

  9. I also need my “me” time. Last night for example I just spent time relaxing alone and cooking dinner. I really enjoy going for walks especially with the weather being so nice lately. I love listening to my ipod and walking really anywhere but sometimes its nice to walk to the store or a place I need to do errands. That way I get my me time, a huge burst of endorphins and get my errands out of the way! Such a win!

  10. So.. I sort of love when you take a different way from point a to point b and wind up getting to see all sorts of amazing things.

    Though I live in a city, I still love the aesthetic and feel of small towns… and people that bike impress me so much – seriously… even on a cruiser bike my bum gets sore… and I feel like it’s underappreciated by people…

    Have fun doing the mud run tomorrow!

  11. You’re making some great choices, College Girl! I am a writer, and now that I’m down to 2 kids in the house, I have more time to indulge in that activity (although I’m spending waaaaay too much time blogging =D). My “me” time is also spent exercising, reading, and sleeping late. 🙂

  12. I cannot wait to start riding my bike! The weather in Washington is starting to take a turn for the better, but you still never know when it’s going to get ugly again!

  13. today is one of the first warm and sunny days in Portland after all kinds of weird weather. i’m taking your advice and spending it outside!

  14. Pingback: just another super sunday | Health Freak College Girl

Leave a Reply

