adventurous april take 2

Do you have your Adventurous April pants on? I hope so because it’s pretty awesome. Thanks Janetha for helping us get out of our comfort zone!

For last week’s adventure, I did little changes. This time I tried to step it up. First up: yoga class. I’ve tried yoga a few times before but I have never been able to get into it. I’m not sure what it is but I don’t think I’m capable of sitting still and relaxing for that long. But this time, I made myself do it. So I took my shoes off, grabbed a yoga mat, and got my namaste on.

And something weird happened…I liked it! The teacher was awesome, it wasn’t crowded, and I was even sweating. In the other yoga classes I went to, the teachers did a lot of downward dogs, child poses, and other easy moves. But this time…oh boy. I was getting quite the workout! My arms were burning and it was definitely a challenge. So I guess I like yoga now? But the teacher makes or breaks the class.

This week, I also went on a bike ride in Sonoma. Usually I go on the same bike loop near my school but I decided I needed a change. So I put my bike in the back of my car and headed to Sonoma. After walking around downtown a bit, I got my bike ready and headed out.

It was a short ride because there were a lot of people walking on the trails and I had no idea where I was going. But it was still fun to see something different!

What adventures have you been doing?Β 

19 thoughts on “adventurous april take 2

  1. That bike ride sounds so fun! Sonoma is so beautiful! Just a quick question though….how did you make that photo collage?

  2. It looks like this challenge has been great for encouraging you to do new things! πŸ™‚ Yay! The bike ride looks BEAUTIFUL. Jealous!

  3. I feel like every blog post you write, I’m like omg me too! I used to hate yoga and now I wouldn’t say I “like” it, but very occassionally I do seem to enjoy it!!

  4. I love that you got to experience a yoga burn! They are THE best! I’m not a huge fan of the slow paced easy classes, but the vinyasa flows that get me sweaty are soo good.

  5. I had the same yoga experience with yoga. I thought I would be way too competitive for it… but something about the classes that incorporate more of the balancing poses… like competition with yourself… or with your mind (to stay mindful)…

    glad you liked it this time around — or at least seemed to enjoy it. It can make you feel so great after, can’t it?

  6. Well this weekend I changed up my run a little bit and ran where I haven’t run too often before so that was fun. I had the same reaction to yoga! It was actuallly really challenging.

  7. love how you stepped out of the fitness comfort zone this week! I am totally the same way about yoga – I honestly really haven’t found a good teacher/class/video that’s given me the burn. Someday!! yoga is so good for you, I need to do it more! And bike riding in new places is the BEST!! I took my bike out for a long ride saturday morning and ended up like four towns over…no idea how I got there and I’m not sure I could replicate it, but it was a gorgeous ride. I never knew my hometown area had such beautiful picturesque farmlands!

  8. This week I started using coconut oil as a moisturizer…that’s all that I can think of; but I’m so glad you like yoga, munchkin! I wish I could steal your passion, I’m so envious. There’s a wild hippy dancing-meditation-throw-arms-around class in an old nunnery close to me…I want to do that as my ‘unwinding’ but I’m so so scared to walk in!

  9. i’ve tried so hard to like yoga and i’ve never been able to manage. yogalates (yoga + pilates… i don’t know how to spell it) is a different story, because it’s more fast paced and i don’t have time to ruminate. i haven’t really been up to much adventure lately, though i have started trying samples again at work, which is kinda an adventure for me. i’ve just been trying to widen my comfort zone, which certainly isn’t going well but could be going worse πŸ™‚

  10. Oh my gosh that’s such a gorgeous place to go for a bike ride! It just makes me want to visit/live in California even more!

  11. I agree… the yoga teacher definitely makes or breaks the class. I haven’t been to too many yet, but each time there has been different instructors and I know which ones I prefer already! What a gorgeous place for a bike ride as well! Those pictures made me happy πŸ™‚

  12. Pingback: recent obsessions | Health Freak College Girl

Leave a Reply

