one month

That’s how much longer I left as a freshman in college: one month. It’s weird to think about but I am mostly happy. Happy because I can get the heck out of here! Okay that’s a bit harsh but yes, I am very excited for what next year has to offer. This year wasn’t all bad though. In fact there were a lot of good moments. I wouldn’t take this year back, not at all. I don’t care if it was a good one or bad one. I believe that everything happens for a reason and if you don’t like an experience, the best you can do is grow from it. So that’s exactly what I plan on doing.

There are some things I will miss though…

The dining hall. After touring the different schools, I have come to the realization that my school has an awesome dining hall. They have a lot of different options, healthy and not so healthy. Plus they really try to focus on local ingredients. I will miss my daily giant salads…

The rec center. I’m sure that other rec centers are nice too but I have gotten so comfortable at my school’s. I know where all the machines are and when it’s busy and when it’s empty. (Hint: It’s empty from 6-9am.)

The location. I love that I can go to San Francisco for the day or to Napa or to the bay. There are so many different options. Plus I love driving down the street and seeing some cows chilling on the hillside. Or a rooster in the Walgreens parking lot. And there are a ton of awesome races.

Triathlon Club. I loved this club. I loved the people, the coach, everything. Plus it gave me an excuse to do another race πŸ˜‰

The friends I have made. I’ll be the first to admit that I haven’t made very many friends. Some have come and gone and some have stayed. I will miss the ones who have stayed for sure.

And on that note…

Hallelujah!

What lessons have you learned this past year?

13 thoughts on “one month

  1. Yay for this year being almost over! And as I told you before,you’ve done a great job pushing through the last few months,girl. I knew you were strong enough! πŸ™‚
    I can’t wait to be done with school either. I’m sick and tired of studying for my final exams,I just want them to be written and over…

  2. I love that keep calm picture! I’m a senior in high school right now and can’t believe my high school career will be over in less than two months. I loved this post because of how you focused on what you were thankful for this year. I think it’s so easy to always keep rushing forward and keep going going going and focus on the future without realizing how lucky we are for the things that have happened. I’m glad you had a great freshman year of college! Keep up the great work with your blog! πŸ™‚

  3. YAYY you’re in the home stretch! I know what that feels like – honestly, I absolutely LOVED my college but by this time of year (2 weeks till final exams start), I was always 100% ready to peace the heck out and go home and “regroup” over the summer. And the summer before I transferred, when I left my old school I was totally like “PEACE OUTTT i hope to never be back!!” lol. But you’re right, its so important to appreciate the good in every situation (there’s very rarely a situation that’s all bad), and I love that you can pick out things about your current school that you can be happy about/appreciate now :). All good things to take with you in the next chapter! ❀

  4. It’s so awesome that you stayed positive this year despite the rough patches and chose to focus on the good. πŸ™‚ Going from high school to college can be rough, but I think you handled it really well! And pretty soon you’ll be living it up over summer and having adventures at a new college in the fall WOOOOO! πŸ˜€

  5. I felt like I was reading a post written by me for a second! I will be done in a month, too and can not wait! Good luck with your new school and most definitely SUMMER!! We are so close!

  6. Yay for almost being over! That’s exciting. None of the schools you looked at have giant green salads? That is sad. Mine does. I had one last week when I was visiting. Delicious. Anyway, Summer is almost here! Whoohoo!

  7. Congratulations on making it! You’re so close, and it sounds like transferring is going to be a really good move for you. College should be a happy and exciting time, and you deserve to have that! Take care.

  8. Woo congrats for being almost done with your freshman year! It’s so nice that you’ll be able to look back positively on the experience after you move on. πŸ™‚ In the past year, I’ve learned to respect myself and my friends, and to not take them for granted. I can’t believe in one month I’ll done with my junior year of college!

  9. I love your perspective on this year at school – I completely agree that we shouldn’t have regrets! Also it sounds like there were definitely some awesome aspects about your school – especially your dining hall! Your salads from it always look so good!

    This year I’ve learned how to chill out a bit more when it comes to school and to make more time for my social life, even when I have lots of school work to do.

  10. Oh goodness I’m excited to move out from the school I’m in too. Like you, I didn’t have many friends but I’ll miss the ones I have, and I’ll certainly miss my teammates! At the same time so much crap has happened here and I’m excited to have a new start!

  11. Isn’t it crazy how fast it goes?! Trust me, it’ll be past before you know it! Just make sure you enjoy it along the way πŸ™‚ And even though you might miss the friends that you make, there will be some you’ll stay in touch with forever! I know I have!

Leave a Reply

