adventurous april: walnut butter, car wash, and kombucha

Have you guys heard of Adventurous April yet from Janetha? If not, go here now! It’s such an awesome idea to get out of your comfort zone whether it’s in the kitchen, at the gym, or just in your daily life. Plus this couldn’t have come at a better time. Since I only have one month left at this school, I figured I should make the most of my surroundings!

I mentioned yesterday the walnut butter that I made. Well that was an adventure for me! The last time I tried to make nut butter, I almost broke the food processor. I tried making nutella so I threw some raw hazelnuts in the mini food processor and let it blend. Well I might as well put rocks in the food processor because I started to smell and see smoke.

Well that was about 6 months ago. I finally tried it again on Monday before I left for school. This time I made sure to use the bigger food processor and it went much better than last time! This recipe is very vague because it depends on your taste preference (plus I didn’t measure anything πŸ˜‰ )

Walnut Butter

-Walnuts
-Salt
-Cinnamon

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
3. Put the walnuts onto the baking sheet and put into the oven for 5-8 minutes.
4. Once you start to smell a nutty scent, take them out of the oven.
5. Let cool for about 5 minutes.
6. In a high speed blender or large food processor (NOT a mini food processor!), add the walnuts.
7. Blend, baby, blend! At first it will become mealy but continue to stop and scrape down the sides whenever the it becomes stuck to the side. It probably took me a total of 10 minutes.
8. When it becomes the consistency you want, add salt and cinnamon, tasting along the way.
9. Store in a sealed container in the fridge.

I thought peanut butter and pumpkin butter was a winning combination but boy oh boy was I wrong. Walnut butter and pumpkin butter is a match made in heaven.

I thinking roasting the walnuts really helped break them down in the food processor. Plus it made an awesome flavor. This definitely has given me the confidence to make homemade nut butter again! And again…and again.

My car was begging to be washed to I headed to the self serve car wash for the very first time. When I’m home, I wash the car in my driveway but since I have no driveway, what’s a girl to do? I could have easily gotten it done by someone else but a) it’s expensive and b) what’s the adventure in that?! It was surprisingly fun to do! The only bad part was that it was windy so the water kept on spraying back into my face. It was lovely.

Then I tried a new kombucha flavor! I’m such a creature of habit that its really easy for me just to get the same one over and over again. But nope. Not this time. Gingerberry it was.

And the verdict? Delicious! I’ve tried a lot of GT’s flavors and this will definitely be a go back. My other favorites are:

  1. Original
  2. Citrus
  3. Trilogy
  4. Gingerberry
  5. Mystic Mango
  6. Strawberry Serenity
  7. Cosmic Cranberry

I really want to try the multi-green flavor but I’m hesitant. It’s so greeen!

So there you have it πŸ™‚ My first round of adventures. These were little but for a person who hates getting out of their comfort zone, it was pretty good!

Are you participating in Adventorous April?
Favorite nut butter?
Do you wash your car yourself or do you get it done?
Favorite kombucha flavor? Have you tried the green one??

24 thoughts on “adventurous april: walnut butter, car wash, and kombucha

  1. walnut butter sounds soooo good! i’ve made my own almond butter and cashew butter but neither turned out the consistency I wanted 😦 oh well haha. And mmmm Kombucha! I haven’t had one of those in forever…my favorite is probably the Botanicals #3 and #7…and there’s another orange one with “ginger” in the name but I forget what its called haha.

  2. Mmmm I looove walnut butter! And ginger berry is one of my favorite kombucha flavors as well! SO yummy….like a healthy ginger ale! πŸ™‚

  3. that walnut butter looks and sounds delicious! i haven’t made homemade nut butter (minus a major FAIL one time- it turned out into more of a nutty dough than anything) because my blender is not powerful at all and i don’t have a food processor. definitely one of those appliances that i’m going to buy when i get my own place!

  4. Adventurous April is an awesome idea! And the walnut butter sounds delicious! You should try making your own kombucha too, I did it last summer and it turns out really tasty!

  5. I need to check out this Adventurous April deal immediately. Sounds great! My interest is being a pain so it should take me the next hour to get over there πŸ˜‰ I only ever drink the original kombucha – it’s the only flavor I can find! So I’m a creature of habit … but not entirely by choice!

  6. Yay for your nut butter success! I’ve always wanted to make my own, but I only have a mini food processor and I’m scared of breaking it. Thanks for the heads up NOT to use mine haha. My parents have a bigger food processor, but it’s ancient, so I don’t know if it would work any better. πŸ˜›

  7. I still need to try kombucha. I will get on that before I go back to school (wah, my spring break is almost over). Good job not breaking the food processor this time! I don’t recommend breaking food processors. πŸ™‚
    Adventurous April sounds like fun. I might have to participate.

  8. Adventurous April sounds awesome! I totally want to join in. I love the walnut butter! I’m glad you enjoyed it! Walnuts are super soft, so they’re really easy to make into nut butter. πŸ™‚ I love making almond walnut butter with honey! IT’S SO GOOD!

  9. Adventurous April sounds awesome! It’s a great idea, I’ll have to go check it out. πŸ™‚

    Yum! I’ve never made homemade nut butter before. I’ve never had walnut butter either. Walnuts are a favorite nut of mine so I know I would be a fan of walnut butter!! πŸ™‚

    Have a great weekend!

  10. i love walnut butter!! But i like almond the best! πŸ™‚ love washing my car myself b/c i like to get ma tan on! haha. and citris is my fave flavor!! πŸ™‚ but i have only had that one…besides original. haha.

  11. Pingback: adventurous april take 2 | Health Freak College Girl

  12. Pingback: just another super sunday | Health Freak College Girl

Leave a Reply

