WIAW – I saw a rooster!

I always have the hardest time opening up posts. I always feel like it’s super awkward. So if you ever start reading a post and it sounds awkward, bear with me and keep reading.

It’s WIAW, so thank you JennΒ as usual!

After myΒ longΒ drive back to school yesterday, I was exhausted. 9 hours on the road is no fun. Since I was tired, I was in bed at 8pm, asleep by 8:30pm. Yes I am a grandma. I set my alarm for 5:30am so I could get a full 9 hours of sleep. I actually woke up at 5:20am feeling amazing! I love going to bed early πŸ™‚

After waking up, I headed to the gym and busted out a quick arm workout.

Then I came back to my dorm, and had a pre-run snack: Udi’s bread topped with walnut butter and pumpkin butter. Oh my. SO good. I’ll talk more about the walnut butter tomorrow πŸ™‚

After finishing that, I headed out on a run. That’s right, an actual run outside. I haven’t run outside in over a month. One month! I promised myself that if my back or hamstring started to hurt, I would stop and turn back. But I am happy to say that they felt good! I wish I could say that my body really liked the month off and I just glided across the pavement like nobody’s business but that wasn’t the case. It was tough! But I got through it.

Breakfast
Greek yogurt, chocolate Amazing Grass, peanut flour, ground flax seeds, Bob’s Red Mill granola, and a banana.

I had to run a few errands afterwards. And look what I saw at Walgreens…a rooster! That was very exciting. And yes. I’m easily amused.

Lunch
Salad with carrots, kidney beans, black olives, cherry tomatoes, Trader Joes hummus salad dressing, walnuts, and brown rice.

If you haven’t had the hummus salad dressing yet from Trader Joes yet, go get it now!

Snack
Somehow I forgot my phone in my dorm when I went to the library. So the orange went unpictured. Sad day.

Dinner
Salad with carrots, kidney beans, black olives, corn, and salsa. Cauliflower. Roasted potatoes with BBQ sauce.

I got this salsa from Trader Joes last time I was there and I really like it! It’s spicy but in you good way. Plus I’m a sucker for anything with chipotles.

In other exciting news, ShannonΒ chose me along with Cara and KatieΒ to be part of the HLB newsletter team! So if you haven’t signed up for the newsletter yet, go do it now!

Are you a late night person or early riser?
What’s your favorite salad dressing?Β 

39 thoughts on “WIAW – I saw a rooster!

  1. Your breakfast looks AMAZING! I’m nuts for all the ingredients in that combo πŸ™‚ And that’s one schmexy rooster, if I were a hen, I’d be on him like fly on poo haha
    Congrats on being chosen for Shannon’s newsletter too!! How cool! πŸ˜€

  2. Yummy eats, especially love your breakfast! I can’t believe there was a rooster there! Well, I guess it doesn’t really surprise me, because people like to dump them.. That’s how we got 50 ducks and three extra roosters on my farm! Happy WIAW and congrats on being on the HLB team!

  3. Wow, walnut butter? I have never had that, I wonder how that would taste like. Must be amazing though and would probably remind me of Christmas. It’s all good.

  4. Yesss hooray for being a grandma!! I lovee going to bed early. My go to salad dressing had usually been blue cheese…ohh the though makes me drool. I hope that rooster had a home, how random! I would have been amused too.

  5. Hummus is my absolute favorite salad topper so I definitely need to get my hands on this dressing! Your breakfast sounds delicious- I still have a bit more Amazing Grass which I need to use up so thanks for the idea :)!

  6. How have I not seen your blog before??!! It’s amazing! I want to be friends already! :p! Haha, I can’t wait to start working with you! And, I think our breakfasts are twins…LOVE my bananas.

  7. Definitely an early riser. Having said that I COULD sleep late- if I had nothing to do and didn’t care about wasting the day, I certainly have the ability to sleep real late. But not my style, I love the peace of the mornings too much!
    Your salad sounds great, salsa on salads is always a brilliant idea πŸ™‚

  8. I love having amazing grass on yogurt!! It tastes so good!!! And isn’t walnut butter AMAZING!? I wish I could have it more often but its so darn expensive!!!

  9. Oh my god rooster! And the various butters- delicious! I’m totally an early riser- I’m perky in the morning, but I like to go to bed super early. I don’t really have a favorite, maybe ranch?

  10. I’m an early riser all the way! But not quite as early as you. πŸ˜‰ I usually get up between 6 and 6:30.

    That hummus dressing sounds awesome! We don’t have TJs here, but I’ve seen another brand of hummus dressing at my grocery store before and I keep on meaning to buy it!

  11. All of your eats look amazing! I would have been pretty excited to see that rooster too… they’re so pretty!

  12. That hummus salad dressing sounds amazing! I usually just mix hummus + balsamic vinegar together for my salads so they probably taste similar πŸ˜€

  13. I love going to bed early too! And I had to take a break from running for a while, and my first runs back were not so great either.

    • nope it was just hanging around! there were also some chickens so it must of been it’s family πŸ™‚

  14. I love going to bed early, too. We can be grandmas together. And maybe…just maybe, you’ll share your TJ’s goodies with me since I don’t live near one? πŸ˜€

  15. Pingback: adventurous april: walnut butter, car wash, and kombucha | Health Freak College Girl

  16. Pingback: life without (temporarily) running | Health Freak College Girl

  17. Pingback: one month | Health Freak College Girl

Leave a Reply

