my kind of birthday celebration

Thank you all SO much for the birthday wishes yesterday! It was a great day and since I spent most of it traveling home, we celebrated with a lunch today. Not any lunch though. Lunch at True Foods, my all time favorite restaurant. If you are ever in Orange County (or Scottsdale, Arizona because they have a location there), go to True Foods! You will love it. I promise. They even have meat so my dad and brother love it too!

“At True Food Kitchen, we celebrate simplicity. We practice sustainability. We believe that simple, fresh, pure ingredients create the most memorable and satisfying meals. And while our healthy menu is packed with nutritious, good-for-you vegetables, whole grain and proteins, we never sacrifice flavor. You may not notice the difference. But it’s there.” (source)

Luckily we got there at a good time so we didn’t have to wait to get a table. I almost always get a drink at True Foods because they make it fresh there. I got the cucumber refresher. It was very refreshing (hence the name) and had just the right amount of sweetness.

For appetizers, we got the hummus plate and vegetable crudites. I had gotten the hummus plate before and loved it. The pita is warm and fresh. As for the crudites…oh my. I fell in love. I mean how can you not love a giant bowl of local veggies??

For my entree, I got the banh mi wrap. Amazing. That’s all I can say. My sister got this as well and loved it. The kale salad was on the side and I am always a fan of it. You can actually find the recipe here. My mom made it for my dad and brother once and they turned into kale fans!

I got a free dessert for my birthday so I chose the dairy free chocolate pudding. It was so rich and creamy that I bet you could trick somebody into thinking it was regular pudding. It was super rich so I only ate half and then took the rest home. Mama Pea even recreated the recipe because it’s so good!

I left with some snacks for later. (Which have already been eaten πŸ˜‰ )

So overall, it was an amazing lunch with some amazing people.

I plan on spending the rest of the night packing to go back to school (booo) and watching the CMA’s (wooo!). It’s already started on the east coast but we’re a little behind here on the west coast so I will be twiddling my thumbs until 8 o’clock rolls around. I love me some country!Β I couldn’t have asked for a better birthday πŸ™‚

What’s your favorite restaurant and what do you get there?

22 thoughts on “my kind of birthday celebration

  1. OMG that place looks epic!! You guys on the west coast are SO lucky to have cool local/sustainable/fresh restaurants, I feel like they’re so few and far between here! Especially when they make drinks like that omggg. My fave restaurant is called Baker’s Crust – there was one in my college town but they only exist in Virginia so I can’t go anymore! 😦

  2. Happy belated birthday!! Sounds/looks like an amazing lunch. That cucumber drink looks fantastic. I’m definitely wanna try that kale recipe. I absolutely despise kale, but I really want to like it so hopefully it’ll change my mind.

  3. Holy crap that place sounds like heaven!!! What a fantastic birthday celebration, so glad you had fun with your family and got to nosh on such delicious foods πŸ˜€

  4. Yay! I’m glad you had an awesome birthday celebration – that food looks TO DIE FOR! Happy birthday again!

  5. Ahhhh everything looks SO great!! That cucumber drink looks delish and that plate of veggie heaven looks to die for! Glad to hear you had a great birthday! πŸ™‚

  6. I’m glad you had a great birthday! The food you ate looks super delicious and I’m jealous!
    The restaurant that’s my favorite is Panera- I love getting their french onion soup and salmon caesar salad with their lemonade <- my favorite.

  7. Aww that looks like a great birthday. That restaurant looks amazing – everything is so fresh! I’m going to have to add it to my restaurant bucket list. πŸ˜€

    My favourite restaurant is Blacktree, but the menu changes monthly so I always get something different!

  8. Oh my goodness I went to True Food Kitchen on my Birthday as well!! That place is awesome and I can picture no better way to mark a new year than with fresh, delicious food.

Leave a Reply

