WIAW on the road

I am currently in Illinois! Exciting stuff I know. I’m (re)looking at schools to transfer to next year and this is our first stop. Then Texas on Thursday. And Seattle next week.

P.S. I am using the WordPress app on my phone so if things look a little funky, blame the app.

Breakfast
This morning started wayyyy to early. I like mornings and all but a 3am wake up call is something nobody wants to hear. When we got to the airport, I got some food at Starbucks: banana chocolate protein smoothie and oatmeal with raisins and nuts.

20120327-060453.jpg

Then we had the 4 hour flight to Chicago. I spent 75% of the time sleeping so it was pretty uneventful.

Snack
Snack was consumed on the plane:
Banana and almond butter (both brought from home)

Lunch
When we got off the plane, both my mom and I were ready for lunch. Chipotle to the rescue! Vegetarian bowl with brown rice, black beans, fajita veggies, mild salsa, corn salsa, lettuce, and guacamole. Hit the spot.

20120327-154023.jpg

We made sure to leave some room for dessert because after seeing iCream on Food Network awhile ago, I knew I wanted to go. Basically you choose everything you want in your ice cream and then they mix it together using liquid nitrogen. I got soy milk ice cream with coffee and pecans. So good! I will be back for sure.

20120327-154726.jpg

20120327-155953.jpg

Snack
B-a-n-a-n-a

Dinner
My mom and I decided to forgo going out to dinner and get some stuff at the market instead. We got crackers, carrots, a cucumber, hummus, and apples.

20120327-193908.jpg

Come back tomorrow for a delicious recipe! I’ll be off enjoying beautiful Illinois 🙂

15 thoughts on “WIAW on the road

  1. OMG I’m so excited that you’re hunting for transfer colleges, especially since one involves tejas WOOOOO!
    Lovin the eats girl! My parents and I sometimes go to the grocery for food too instead of out to eat, I love having a picnic in the hotel room haha 😀
    Have a fun rest of your trip, can’t wait for a recap!

  2. ughh early morning flights….I avoid those like the plague!! at least you got some good noms to make up for it – starbucks protein smoothies and chipotle are two of my fave on-the-go things. And dude that ice cream place sounds like so much fun!! Have a blast on the rest of your trip and I hope you fall in love with some of the schools you’re visiting! 😀

  3. I hate early flights! I’ve got one in June. I was stupid and booked the earliest flight. Whoo. And I love Starbuck’s smoothies. They are delicious.

    I hope that the weather gets nice here next week so you can enjoy Seattle. Seems like a lot of people I know are coming to Seattle to look at colleges. My cousin was here just last week. Enjoy your trip!

  4. chipolte is a total lifesafer!! healthy food on the go…i never can get enough of their guac!!! 🙂 I like the edit you gave some of the pictures!! they look awesome!

  5. Yummy eats! That Starbucks thing looks awesome. I’ve never had them – didn’t even know they existed! They’re on my must try list now 🙂 Have fun lookin’ for schools!

Leave a Reply

