Expo West Part 3

Sorry if you guys are sick and tired of hearing about Expo West! I promise I am trying to keep it as short as possible. There will be just one more after this! But if you do want to read up about it, check out part 1 and part 2 🙂

Pure – Pure bars are very similar to Larabars but with an extra punch of protein. I tried cranberry orange and really liked the pieces of cranberries.

They have two new flavors: banana coconut and dark chocolate berry. Out of the two, I probably liked dark chocolate berry more. But I would still buy banana coconut. So they were both a win!

Ozery Bakery – I remember these from last year and they were so good. They are morning buns with pieces of fruit. They have cranberry orange, muesli, and apple cinnamon flavors. They taste super fresh and chewy. If I had to choose my favorite, it would be the muesli. These are a definite buy.

Fage – Yogurt was a big trend this year at the expo. Fage is a company that focuses solely on Greek yogurt and they sometimes add a flavor on the side to sweeten it up. They have a few new flavors: Cherry Pomegranate, Mango Guanabana, Strawberry Goji, and Raspberry. I didn’t try them but the Mango Guanabana sounds good and interesting. As for Fage yogurt, I really like it. The yogurt is super creamy and I know I can get some good quality yogurt when I buy it.

Zico – Like I said, coconut has become huge, and that was clear at the expo. I’m not a big fan of coconut water unless it’s the chocolate flavor. Zico now has latte flavor, which I surprisingly liked! I was worried that the coffee flavor was going to be strong but it really wasn’t. It also had a good amount of sweetness.

Justin’s Nut Butter – The first of many peanut butter companies. Justin’s didn’t have any new flavors but they did have a new candy bar. The candy bar is a healthified version of Snickers. There are three varieties: dark chocolate peanut, milk chocolate peanut, and dark chocolate almond. I tried the milk chocolate peanut and loved it. Justin’s also has their peanut butter cups, which aren’t new but still oh so delicious.

Wisecrackers – These crackers are great for appetizers or when hosting a party. Rosemary is my favorite so I tried the roasted garlic and rosemary. They were great because they weren’t very salty like too many crackers are.

Kombucha Wonder Drink – Kombucha is a fermented tea that I have grown to love. I tried the Asian Pear & Ginger flavor and thought it was okay. I am a big fan of GT’s kombucha so I would buy GT’s over the one I tried.

Gardein – Gardein is a vegetarian company that makes meat-free products. Their newest product is a teriyaki chicken flavor. I really liked the flavors of it and would happily eat it again. Would I buy it again? I’m on the fence. I’m always hesitant to eat faux meats because of the ingredients used (even though I like how they taste). I eat them once in awhile, but as for buying them, I’m not sure. But it did taste good!

Udi’s – I’m not sure if this is a new product but I have never seen them before: gluten free rolls. There are classic French dinner rolls and whole grain seeded rolls. Both were really good!

They also have some new gluten free tortillas. They had a taco bar so I got a tortilla with a veggie filling. The tortilla was really good. I would totally buy them. My mom really liked the tortillas as well.

Cedar’s – Cedar specializes in Mediterranean food. I have had their other hummus before and really liked. This time I tried the Garlic Lovers flavor. Mmm. I am a huge garlic fan so I loved this. But you definitely don’t want to be kissing somebody after you eat it 😉

I then tried the fat free kind. The flavor was good but not as creamy as other hummus.

Corazonas – This company specializes in heart healthy products. One of them is chips. I tried the tortilla lime flavor and fell in love. There was the perfect amount of saltiness and lime flavor. If you have ever had the chips from Chipotle before, then you know what I mean. They tasted so similar. My mom loved them too. She said she will definitely buy them.

Food Should Taste Good – New flavor! Kettle Corn makes me swoon. And that’s exactly what these chips did to me. Delicious.

Reed’s Ginger Brew Kombucha – I tried the pink grapefruit & hibiscus and absolutely loved it! Very refreshing with awesome flavors.

Down to Earth Organic Trail Mix – Oh. My. Goodness. There are a lot of different trail mixes out there. But Down to Earth’s has to be the best I have ever had. The owner takes great pride in his products and you could really tell when eating the trail mix. In the mix, there is almonds, walnuts, pecans, pumpkin seeds, raisins, dried blueberries, coconut, and dark chocolate pieces. I fell in love.

How cool is this bench?? It’s made out of recycled tea leaves.

Then we saw Dean Karnazes running on the treadmill at the Greek Gods Yogurt booth. He was running a marathon! On the treadmill! That man is awesome. And he was talking to people and signing autographs at the same time. Amazing.

Coconut Bliss – More coconut milk ice cream! Coconut Bliss has 4 new flavors: Mocha Maca Crunch, Ginger Cookie Caramel, Lunaberry Swirl, and Chocolate Walnut Brownie.

I tried the Ginger Cookie Caramel and absolutely loved it. There were real chunks of ginger cookies in it and when I hit a caramel spot, the caramel was chewy.

KIND – I love KIND bars. If I had to choose a bar to eat for the rest of my life, it would be KIND bars. True story. They have 4 new bar flavors: Madagascar Vanilla Almond, Dark Chocolate Cinnamon Pecan, Dark Chocolate Nuts & Sea Salt, and Cashew & Ginger Spice. I tried the Madagascar Vanilla Almond and loved it (shocker 😉 ). The Dark Chocolate Nuts & Sea Salt also sounds really good.

Food for Life – Their newest product was Ezekial Flax bread. I didn’t try it though because it was Saturday and they observe that day for religious purposes.

Nancy’s – Nancy’s is a dairy and soy company and they now have Greek yogurt with probiotics. It wasn’t my favorite. I’m not sure if it was because it was plain Greek yogurt I was eating (I like to sweeten it with a little somethin somethin) or because it wasn’t as thick as other Greek yogurt.

Odwalla – Smoothie refreshers…doesn’t that sound good? Well it really wasn’t. I had the mango lime twist and was not very impressed. It was more like a juice than a smoothie.

I was excited to see that Bob from Bob’s Red Mill was doing a book signing! The book is called People Before Profit and is was written by Ken Koopman.

Wallaby – Once again, it’s hard for me to judge this one because it was plain Greek yogurt and very tart. But I do like wallaby’s other yogurts.

Look who we saw…Ziggy Marley! He was a coconut oil company so he was hanging out at his booth.

Guiltless Gourmet – I tried the Toasted Almond Crunches and gave it two thumbs up! They had just the right amount of sweetness and crunch.

Van’s – Van’s had wheat/gluten free pancakes which I thought were really light and fluffy for being gluten free.

They also had Power Grain Waffles (which has 10g of protein!) and Whole Grain Pancakes. Once again, I really liked these also. I would definitely buy these because they’re perfect for those busy mornings.

Doctor Krackers – I am usually a Doctor Krackers fan but the Apple Oat Crunch Crisps were not my thing. I’ll stick with the other flavors (my favorite is the Klassic 3 Seed).

Then we saw John Salley! Former basketball player and current actor and TV host. You really couldn’t miss him because he was so tall!

Sweet Earth – If you like sietan, you will like Sweet Earth. My mom was never really sure about sietan before, but once she tried some of their products, she really liked it. The flavor was so amazing and I just wanted to park a chair at their booth and stay there all day. One of my favorites from the entire weekend!

Food for Lovers – Vegan Queso anyone? This queso dip has no soy, dairy, nuts, fat, or cholestrol. But it’s not missing on flavor. I could taste the nutritional yeast (hence the queso part) and really enjoyed it. It would be good for some nachos.

Hilary’s Eat Well – This is a new company that specializes in veggie burgers. They have two kinds: Original Veggie Burger and Adzuki Bean Burger. I tried both and was very impressed. They said to cook them in the toaster which is even better because it’s super easy. The flavors were spot on for sure. Love! Plus, they’re GMO free, gluten free, dairy free, soy free, corn free, yeast free, egg free, and nut free.

Be Kind Butters – This peanut butter has pieces of chia seeds in it. They have 3 flavors: Marathon Mud, Gator Grit, and Boulder Heat. They are also sweetened with agave. I tried the Gator Grit (original) with chia seeds and really enjoyed it. I liked the pop whenever I would get the chia seeds.

Koele – Non-fried Hawaiian style veggie chips that are actually veggies and not potatoes?? Yep that’s exactly what Koele chips are. I tried BBQ flavor and loved it! I’ll be keeping my eyes out for these bad boys.

We then saw the one and only Fabio. He has a protein powder company so he was hanging out at his booth. He was beyond friendly! He was talking about different protein powders and looked everyone directly in the eyes. And then when it was time to take the picture, he was more than happy to pose with people.

Zilk’s – I’m such a sucker for hummus. Zilk’s had a bacon flavored one. Yuck. No thanks. But they did have an awesome jalapeno cilantro flavor that my mom and I both really liked.

Jones Soda Co. – I don’t drink soda but if I did, it would be Jones. I did try their new drink  and really liked it. There are 3 flavors: Apple, Lemon, and Lime. Plus, there is only 7g of sugar per bottle.

Teese – Teese is a vegan cheese alternative. I enjoyed Daiya more though because I feel like their cheese melted better. But Teese still had a good flavor and would buy it depending on the price comparison of Daiya and Teese.

Hodo Soy Beanery – This tofu company is based in Oakland so I have had some of their products before and I have always like them. This time, I tried the eggless egg salad. Win! My mom really liked it too!

Then we saw two more “celebrities!” These are Caroline’s sons from The Real Housewives of New Jersey. They were helping their uncle out at the Blk booth.

Have you ever met somebody famous before?

15 thoughts on “Expo West Part 3

  1. Part three?!?! Okay I seriously think I would’ve died of happiness if I went there haha
    Those new Kind bar flavors sound awesome, I love that brand! And I now feel like I need your autograph for all the celebs you’re chillin with 😉

  2. Yeah I don’t know if you’ve had any Nancy’s products before but they all taste weird. Everything is super cultured. I never bought it enough to get used to it. I would have run away with Bob’s Red Mill. I want to work for them in Oregon…sigh.

  3. Sick and tired of hearing about the expo? No way!
    For me,it’s super interesting and exciting to get to know what kind of awesome products you have in the US! I wish I would live in America,you definitely have the best food over there.

  4. I could never get sick of these expo posts, I am living vicariously through your visit! haha I love those kind bars too! They are SO delicious!!!
    That man is a crazy! Running a marathon on a treadmill all while signing autographs and talking! ha He’s the greatest! 🙂
    So glad you had fun! I am so jealous!

  5. That’s it. I can’t follow your blog anymore. Your life is too incredible. The level of jealousy I have for you right now with the awesome expo, seeing Dean……AGAIN! AND FABIO?!?!? WHY ARE YOU LIVING MY DREAM?!?!
    Ok now that my temper tantrum is gone, I’m glad you continue to have so much fun. I hope you are picking up TONS of goodies to keep trying out and tasting. And good for you for meeting so many celebs. Must feel like a celeb… you kinda are 🙂

  6. So many products I have to try! Thanks for the heads up on the new KIND bars. I’m soooo jealous you got to go to this. You are so lucky! You can post a part 4 if you like so I can live vicariously through you again. 🙂

  7. Pingback: life updates. in a good way! | Health Freak College Girl

  8. I’ve been wanting to try Pure bars! The new Kind bars sound delicious but I’ve never had those either. I’m soooo jealous you got to try Justin’s new candy bar! I love Snickers and those just sound perfect!!

  9. Pingback: have extra granola? make these cookies! | Health Freak College Girl

Leave a Reply

