home sweet home

It feels like I haven’t blogged in a long time! Sorry I went M.I.A. the last few days. Hope you guys missed me. (Please say yes just to make me feel better.) This thing called school got in the way plus I went home for the weekend so it was nice to relax. Before I jump into WIAW, I want to show you guys what I did while being home. (FYI most of these pictures are instagrammed because I don’t have a fancy schmancy camera to take super cool pictures with so instead I just pretend they are cool by taking iffy iPhone pictures and then instagramming them. So if you are sick of instagram pictures, tough luck.)

I flew out EARLY Saturday morning. Very. Very. Early. I woke up at 4:15am to be exact. My flight was the first one out at 6:30am but I was stoked to get home so I hopped right out of bed. I made it to the airport, got on the plane, and slept the entire time.

I was greeted by my lovely parents in LA and they knew I would be hungry so we made a stop at my all time favorite place: Bake ‘n Broil. It’s by no means healthy but it is what a diner would have been like 50 years ago. And I totally love it. I ordered the whole wheat pecan pancakes.

That’s right. I ate every bite and it was oh so delicious.

Once I got home, I took my favorite and most handsomest boy for a walk.

The weather was beyond gorgeous. I can’t believe I thought this…but I kind of missed Orange County. But then I was slapped back to reality when I went to Laguna Beach and saw all the girls walking around half n aked. I don’t miss it after all.

After the walk, I spent some time with this sassy girl.

But then she got bored of me.

So I tried to entertain her but she wasn’t amused.

Β Like I said, she’s got some sass.

That night for dinner, I requested Greek food. For some reason I have been craving it.

I had cauliflower puree*, pineapple, lentil salad on top of lettuce**, chicken skewers*** with zucchini, mushroom, bell peppers, and onions, and tzatziki. Super simple and super delicious.

*Cauliflower Puree: I think I’ve mentioned this before, but if not, I’ll do it again. It’s simply steamed cauliflower and leeks pureed with some salt and pepper.

**Lentil Salad: My mom used a greek salad dressing from How to Roast a Lamb and tossed it with some cherry tomatoes and cucumbers. Then I put it on top of lettuce and topped with fat free feta.

***Chicken Skewers: Marinated in lemon juice and garlic.

It hit the spot!

Now onto the reason I came home: the wedding!! My basketball coach from high school was getting married and I wouldn’t miss it for the world. My coach played such a huge roll in my recovery and she is one of the most important people in my life (like I said in this post).

She had her wedding at an absolutely beautiful venue in Laguna Beach.

The bride looked beyond gorgeous and her and her now husband looked so happy and in love. The whole night was very simple and that was the beauty of it all. Nothing over the top. Overall, it was a great night!

Sadly, I had to fly out the next morning 😦 Not as early as before, but still early. I woke up at 5:00am for my 8:30am flight.

On the flight this time, I just did homework. Boring boring boring.

The airport I flew out of and into was so small that we walked up the steps on the tarmac. I felt like the president. No big.

Now onto WIAW! As always, much thanks to Jen πŸ™‚

My day started out with an awesome gym session. Today was arms and abs πŸ™‚

Breakfast #1:

Protein cake, orange, and oats with almonds and pumpkin pie spice

Last time I had a protein cake, some of you guys were wondering what recipe I used. Well guess no more! I used this recipe: (also can be found here)
-Half scoop protein powder (15g)
-1 egg white
-1 tbsp applesauce or pumpkin puree
-1/4tsp baking powder
-1 tbsp cocoa powder
-1-2 packets stevia–optional (I don’t use)

Mix it all up in a microwave safe mug or bowl. Microwave for 1 minute. Easy peasy.

After breakfast, I headed into Anatomy lecture to get my butt kicked by an exam. Anatomy classΒ willΒ be the death of me. Just wait. I hate that class.

Lab follows right after lecture. And guess what we are doing now! Dissection! Please see my sarcasm. I hate hate hateeeee anything blood related. Did I mention I hate it? But really. I can barely stand to be in the same room as the cadavers. It’s hard enough having a human arm on my desk and having to look at the muscles. Yeah, no thanks. Since I have such a hard time with it, I found another way to study.

Breakfast #2:
After 3 hours of Anatomy, I was more than ready to refuel.

Grapes, Oatmeal topped with hardboiled egg whites, salsa, and nooch, and green tea

My next stop was the chiropractor. I feel improvement in my hamstring and my chiropractor sees it as well πŸ˜€

I had another appointment at 2pm in the same area so I wanted to stay around rather than drive back to school. So I went for a hike!

It was so pretty and I figure I might as well take advantage of my surroundings before I transfer next year.

Lunch:

Β Mango, Egg white salad, and Veggies

I also snacked on these rice cakes.

I’ve had a lot of different rice cakes and these just might be my favorite. They are really light and fluffy.

After that I went to my psychiatry appointment. We are looking at changing my current medication because it’s not working. It went well! My medication was changed so we’ll see how it works. Fingers crossed.

Dinner:
I continued to snack on the mango and veggies so when dinner rolled around, I wasn’t too hungry.

Roasted red potatoes with BBQ sauce, Kindey beans (they’re hiding under the veggies), Cauliflower, and Broccoli

Dessert:
Another protein cake that went unpictured.

Now I’m off to watch Pretty Little Liars! But first I need to show you guys my new background on my phone…

Hunger Games!!! Weeeeooooo! So stoked. I think the fact that I stayed out till 11:37pm one night is actually more impressive. Nahhh. Hunger Games will always win πŸ˜‰

Do you like weddings?
What’s the best thing you ate today?

29 thoughts on “home sweet home

  1. I love all your pictures. And I did miss you. I kept wondering when you were going to post again! Glad to hear you had a good time. Cats do have quite the attitude.
    Pretty Little Liars this week was awesome! I felt like the last few were kind of slow but they really picked it up with this one!
    Best thing I ate today was chocolate. πŸ™‚

  2. Ahh I wish I was home, if only for a day! I haven’t been terribly homesick here, but I am missing a good dose of sunshine πŸ™‚ Glad to see you went to Mother’s!

  3. I’m glad you had a great time at home for the wedding! Seeing your pup and kitty must’ve been great too, pets are always the best πŸ™‚
    Oh and I’m diggin your anatomy studying style AND your wicked awesome phone backgrond πŸ˜‰

  4. I haven’t beeen to a wedding since I was like 8, I would love to have a wedding :P. The best thing I ate would have to be my blueberry muffin in the morning.

  5. Thank you for the update Haley! What wonderful pictures, instagram and all πŸ™‚ I genuinely enjoy going to weddings, especially great ons like you went to! How fun, and that cake, gorgeous! Oh and yeah that tweet pretty much made my day, POWER to ya and continue to screwing ED πŸ˜€ muaha

  6. That must have been so nice to go home! And it’s so sweet that you were invited to your coach’s wedding. It looks like it was beautiful! πŸ™‚

    Ewww dissecting cadavers would totally freak me out (haha I can’t believe I actually considered med school at one point in my life. :P)! So gross!

  7. Aw I haven’t been to a wedding in forever!! It sounds like it was awesome. I love them!! I love that you totally dominated a delicious breakfast in honor of NEDA week!! It sounds like it was epic πŸ™‚

  8. Love all the pictures! Looks like you had a great time. I LOVE weddings!! Love love love them. Im also that freak who watches all the wedding shows (enter: say yes to the dress) just because I love them so much πŸ™‚

  9. Aw I love the Hershey Kisses heart! πŸ™‚
    The Mother’s rice cakes are my fave brand, too – definitely way better flavor & texture than other brands out there. I like the butter flavor.

    • i made breakfast #1 in my dorm but breakfast #2 was from the dining hall. they always have fresh fruit and veggies which is awesome! then my lunch was from trader joes and then my dinner was back at the dining hall. and then all the other salad beasts i show are from the dining hall as well πŸ™‚

  10. AHH man I am so giddy about Hunger Games! haha I cannot wait for it to start!!! πŸ™‚
    And those protein cakes sound so easy to make and so delicious! I will have to be trying one of those tonight πŸ™‚

  11. HUNGER GAMES!!!! YES. I love it. Your blog is so much fun to read. I will also be making those protein cakes. I wish I could go on hikes or go home for weekends, don’t take it for granted! Lots and lots of love for you ❀

  12. Wahoo I’m guessing it felt great to be home! Sad you had to go back so soon. 😦 What a pretty cake too! Pecan pancakes sound SO GOOD, and your eats look delish as well. Especially that egg white salad.. Sounds right up my alley. πŸ™‚ The best thing I ate was greek yogurt and almond butter, about 10 min ago!

  13. I’m glad to see those rice cakes from Mother’s! Rice cakes aren’t that easy to come by – at least the plain ones so that’s perfect! I LOVE Mother’s!

Leave a Reply

