Stanford Triathlon Race Recap

Are you guys ready for another race recap? I know you are. Don’t lie.Β 

The race was on Sunday but since it was about an hour and a half away from our school and since a teammate lives nearby, we decided to drive down on Saturday and spend the night. We left around 1:30pm. The car was filled with me, 3 bikes, a bike pump, backpacks, and 3 testosterone filled men. It ended up being a bit of a tense car ride because they kept on getting into fights about the tiniest of things. But of course, they would make up 5 minutes later. That’s men for you I guess.

We hit a little traffic but we were still able to get to the packet pickup in time. No shirt for this race 😦 But we did get a race belt. I don’t have one…and I don’t use one. But now I have one. After picking up our packets, we headed to the teammates house which was about 15 minutes away. We were all ready to eat by that time so we headed to Chipotle. I got the vegetarian bowl with brown rice, sauteed peppers/onions, black beans, corn salsa, chunky tomato salsa, lettuce, and guacamole.

I always forget how much I love this place! First off, they have the best guacamole. EVER. They use fresh ingredients. It tastes amazing. There are a bunch of options. And it’s cheap! Okay maybe not “cheap” but a decent price. It was $6.60 for this bowl and I was full afterwards. I love you Chipotle. I really do.

After dinner, we headed to a grocery store to grab some vaseline. It helps with the chaffing of the wetsuits on the neck. Really it helps. Just a helpful hint πŸ™‚ While 2 of the guys went into the store, we of course had to mess with them and move the car. They then spent the next 10 minutes circling the parking lot. You probably had to be there…

Once we were back at the house, I made a new friend. Meet Nalla. A very talkative cat who loves to play with a feather on a stick. I wanted to steal her. Then again, when do I not want to steal a cat that I meet?

We went to bed around 10pm and I was lucky enough to get the guest room. Score! A room to myself with a bed?? I’ll take it!

Wake up time was 5:30am for me, 5am for others. But hey, I need my beauty rest. For breakfast, I had oatmeal with trail mix, a banana, and green tea. I didn’t take a picture so use your imagination. Around 6:15am we loaded up the cars and were heading to the race site at 6:30am. Right on time!

The transition area opened up at 7am but we didn’t have to fight for a spot because our spots were marked by our bib numbers. But, the fact that we got there early meant we got a good parking spot. And considering the fact that I hate walking and was the one driving, I was more than happy to get a good spot. Β The race didn’t start until 9am so we had plenty of time to get warmed up and ready to go. I had a Clif Mojo bar about an hour before and it was delicious and sat well on my stomach.

Fast forward to 9am and the men are starting. The women started at 9:10am so I only had 10 minutes to get rid of my nerves. The swim was an open water start which meant we started in the water rather than running in the water. I am always most nervous for the swim for a few reasons. 1) I am not the strongest swimmer. 2) I am human. We were meant to be on land, not water. 3) I hate being cold!

The swim is so mental to me because of #3. But that’s why we wear wetsuits! Of course, before the race, the volunteers were walking around telling us the temperature of the water: 54 degrees F. Personally, I would rather not know because all I was thinking about was “Oh my lanta. 54 degrees. 54 degrees. 54 degrees.”Β 

I can’t think about the temperature when I am going into the water so I counted to 3 and jumped off the dock and into the chilly water. Now, normally, I don’t curse. But as soon as my head surfaced, I let out a loud, “DUCK!” There is a time and a place for cursing. And that, my friends, was the time and place. It was SO cold! After a couple minutes though, my feet, hands, and face were numb so I couldn’t feel anything. That actually helped.

9:10am rolled around and they blew the horn for us to start. Since I’m not the strongest swimmer, and I am hesitant to put my face in the water, I basically do the “Haley stroke.” This is a combination of doggie paddling and freestyle, without your face in the water of course. It was a total of 500m and it wrapped around a dock. It felt really long but I knew that once the swim was done, I would not need to use my arms on the bike. So I gave it my all.

We ended on another dock where we had to climb up a ladder. I had a hard time pulling myself up because I was so exhausted. In addition, I felt really disoriented. I heard others say the same thing. I didn’t really know where I was for a second and I was scared that I was going to pass out. But I didn’t! Woo!

Swim –Β 13:54

The run from the swim to transition area was so. dang. long. Plus, we were running barefoot on cement with little pieces of gravel. But it did give us a long time to take out wetsuits off, fix our hair, and do all that jazz.

The swim to bike transition went smoothly. This is the one with the most steps for me because I have to put on my shoes, socks, running shorts, shirt, Chapstick (that is critical), watch, and helmet.

Transition 1 – 2:23

I was actually pretty stoked for the bike because it was my first race with my road bike. I still don’t have the fancy biking shoes that clip onto the pedals. Baby steps, baby steps. It was a total of 3 loops, 4 miles each. That’s a total of 12 miles. It was pretty uneventful. I was happy with how I did even though I was still getting passed at times. But it was very eventful when I passed somebody. Now that was exciting.

Bike – 41:15Β 

Since I didn’t have to change out of bike shoes into running shoes, I was able to simply drop off my bike and helmet and get running. Easy peasy.

Transition 2 – 0:43

As soon as I started running, my legs felt like cinder blocks. At that point, I knew it was going to be a longgg run. It was an out and back run. Once I hit the turn around point, I felt a lot better. Not great. But better. There was a total of 3 girls racing from my school at this race. One girl I knew was behind. But the other beat me on the swim and bike. I was determined to beat her on the run and cross through the finish line before her. (Competitive much? Yes. Yes I am.) After the turnaround, I could see her ahead of me. At the 2.5 mile point, I started to kick it up and ended up passing her. I gave it my all till the very end. And I beat her across the finish line πŸ™‚

Run – 23:25

Total time – 1:19:42

Not my best time but considering I hadn’t done a triathlon in about a year, I was very happy with the result πŸ™‚ The first place girl had a time of 57:47. What the flip?! That’s faster then most guys. Props to her.

So overall, how was the race? It. was. AWESOME! The weather could not have been better and the course was flat.

After the race, I refueled with a banana, orange slices, and light chocolate muscle milk. Perfecto πŸ™‚

Next race: March 24. This is my first Olympic distance triathlon so I’m nervous but excited to see how it goes!

15 thoughts on “Stanford Triathlon Race Recap

  1. ALL YOU DO IS WIN!!!!! sounds like such a great race Haley – awesome pre and post race fueling, great T times, and mad props on the swim. I’ve been swimming a lot lately for cross training, and I like it but the cold part would totally get me too haha. Way to kick serious butt on the run too!! Reading your recap really makes me wanna do a triathlon now!

  2. Man oh man you’re a rockstar! Fueling up with chipotle is a sure fire way to OWN a race heehee πŸ˜‰ Kudos to surviving the cold swim too.
    There’s no doubt in my mind that your Olympic distance one shall be conquered too!

  3. Congrats!!! You did an awesome job and your time ROCKS! πŸ˜€

    I can’t believe how cold that water was though – I don’t think I would have been able to do it! πŸ˜› That’s why I want to do a tri in August when the water will be nice and warm haha!

    PS. What kind of road bike do you have? Do you like it? I’m asking for one for my birthday and I’m starting to research brands!

  4. Great job! I’ve only done 1 tri thus far an my time was about 20 minutes slower than yours (I hate biking) haha but great job you should be proud! And I comletely understand your need to curse and I’m sure if I felt the water I would’ve told you it was warranted.

  5. Pingback: one month | Health Freak College Girl

Leave a Reply

