hey-oooo San Franciscoooo

So I am finally going to recap my day in San Francisco. Get stoked. I went to the city about a week ago just to get out of the dorm. And since I’m transferring next year, I figured I should take advantage of living close to San Francisco. But back to the day!

I left the dorm around 8am because there was a farmers market I wanted to get to. My first stop was the Ferry Building and the Ferry Plaza Farmers Market

The Ferry Building is an old pier turned into a building with a bunch of different stores/kiosks. They have some awesome food and locally sourced stores. One of the stores also had an endless supply of Bob’s Red Mill products. 

Once I was done inside, I grabbed a coffee from Blue Bottle Coffee before going to the farmers market portion outside. Blue Bottle’s iced coffee was seen on Best Thing I Ever Ate so I had to stop and grab a cup. They brew their coffee overnight with it being a very slow process in order to get the best flavors. 

New Orleans style iced coffee it is.

It turned out being wayyy to strong for me. No matter how much sugar I put into it, I just couldn’t drink it. Oh well. At least I can say I’ve tried it.

The farmers market turned out being completely awesome! There were a ton of vendors and a large variety of fruits, veggies, and other local stuff.

After walking around for a bit, I saw that there was going to be a cooking demo going on. Of course, I couldn’t resist! The demo was done by Michael Hung of Bushi-Tei. The demo was really interesting and I actually learned a lot.  He made Celery Root and Yuba “Spring Rolls” with Toasted Almonds and Winter Citronette. And they were awesome! 

After the cooking demo, I headed to Union Square which is a big shopping area. At one of the malls, they had escalators that wrapped around. I’ve never seen anything besides straight escalators so I thought this was totally awesome. And yes, I’m easily amused. 

I stopped by Sephora because I had a giftcard and I love their blasted nail polish colors. So I got a blue blasted and a white blasted. Perfecto 🙂 

Once I saw a fight, I decided to get my butt out of Union Square. I made it back in time to the farmers market to grab a bite for lunch before the vendors went home. I got the avocado wrap from Alive. Inside, there was avocado, a sunflower seed pate, and sprouted lentils. 

It wasn’t great. I probably wouldn’t get it again. But I followed it up with an orange that made it all better. During the cooking demo, I learned that it was orange season. So when I saw a vendor that only sold oranges, I stopped and bought a few. And ohhhh boy. They were the best oranges I’d ever had. 

While eating, I enjoyed a view of the bay bridge.

After lunch, I stopped by to get some kombucha-like drink. Instead of mushrooms (which is what kombucha is made out of), they start with whey as the base. How do they do it? I have no idea. The drink wasn’t creamy at all. The lady even said it was like kombucha, just less acidy. 

And since my lunch didn’t include any carbs, I had to make a stop at my favorite bakery, Acme. I got the small sourdough round and it was just as delicious as I’d remembered. 

This was around the time that I started to get a headache so I headed back to the car. On the way home though, I stopped in Sausalito which is a really small tourist town along the water front. It was adorable and I will definitely be back to do some proper sight seeing when I don’t have a headache 🙂

And that was my day in San Francisco! It was a really fun day and I definitely plan on going back before the school year ends 🙂

Have you ever been to San Francisco before?

18 thoughts on “hey-oooo San Franciscoooo

  1. I have never been to San Francisco, but now a song about it is in my head… Anyway, it looks like you had an awesome day. It’s good to get out every now and then, I should do that more often but sometimes my couch is just wayy to comfortable.

  2. I wanna go to San Francisco! It sounds like you had a lovely day. And don’t worry I would’ve been just as easily amused by the winding escalator as you :). Grrr now I want to go to a Farmer’s market!

  3. Loveeee SF! I totally would have stopped at that cooking demo too. The “kombucha” sounds intriguing 🙂

  4. Sounds like an awesome day,Hailey – I am glad you were able to enjoy it and hope you get a similar possibility really soon! 🙂
    That wrap sounds absolutely awesome; when I read what was in there,I was like “WOOOW!”,but then you said it wasn’t very good and I was like “Aaaaaaw…” 😉
    I would totally love to visit San Francisco someday,but I have never even been to the states actually yet – oops!

  5. I love all your pictures from San Fran! I’ve never been but would love to get someday! Looks like a great time your having there!!! Jeeze nice Bob’s swag going on…. they know whats up 😉

  6. I’ve never been to San Francisco but have always wanted to. It looks gorgeous and so much fun! And wrap around escalators?! I have got to see this! ha That is cool! I’ve only ever seen straight ones as well!

    Glad you had such a fun trip! 🙂

  7. Pingback: one month | Health Freak College Girl

Leave a Reply

