operation get out of the dorm=success

Well I didn’t sit in my dorm all day today! Woo! Weekends are the worst for me because people are always out doing things and all I want to do is stay in my dorm. But today, I went out, ran some errands, and had some good quality ‘me’ time. I even put on my bright Vans for the occasion. 

Before heading out, I had a delicious lunch. Chicken, bbq sauce, rice cake topped with mashed avocado and nooch, dark chocolate acai berries, and split pea soup topped with nooch.

And yes. I ate it off of a kid’s plate. But it was an owl kid’s plate! My mom got it for me for Valentine’s Day. She knows me too well. 

I had therapy at 1pm so I was already going to be out. After my appointment, I went on a little drive around the area. It’s totally different then what I am used to. The area was totally farm country. 

There were tons of cows. And I love cows. I don’t know why but every time I see one, I get excited. Right when I pulled up, these cows stared me down. Then we had a staring contest. And they won.

Afterwards, I headed to Peet’s to get some tea and do homework. I was only there for about a half hour. My homework went by much faster than I thought. That’s not a bad thing of course.

Next stop: the running store for a new pair of shoes. I went to one of those fancy schmancy places that video tapes you while you run and then they recommend the best shoe. And I got a new pair….drumroll please….

Brooks Defyance 5! They’re not Nike Free Runs. Aren’t you shocked?? I learned the hard way that Free Runs aren’t the best for long distance. These will last me for 400-500 miles, and they better for the price I paid. But it’s worth it. I ran a little around the store and they’re super comfy. I mostly chose them for the box though.

After that oh so exciting purchase, I went to what was probably the worst mall ever. But the fact that there was a Whole Foods definitely made up for it. And you better believe I got dinner at the hot food bar. I got a schmorgasboard of goods: half a vegetable curry wrap, tofu, roasted cauliflower, butternut squash with cranberries and red onion, kale and barley salad, edamame and mango quinoa salad, and walnuts. With an original kombucha on the side. Obvi.

Shopping occurred, of course. With coupons, of course. 

-365 Value chipotle salsa
-So Delicious coconut milk (On sale for $2. I had a $1 off coupon. My price: $1)
-Erewhon brown rice cereal (My price: free)
-Thatziki (My price: free)
-walnuts
-carrots
-dried mango
-Mojo Peanut Butter Pretzel bars (I had a $1 off for 2 coupon. My price: $.50 each)
-Luna Chocolate Mint Protein bars (I had a $.50 off coupon. My price: $.79 each)

There was a TJ Maxx nearby and I had a gift card so I stopped by. I wasn’t really in the mood to clothes shop though. So I just got these Dr. Krackers.

I also got these AWESOME salt and pepper shakers from Marshalls. I mean, really, how could I resist? 

So that was my day! Oh yeah, and it included some of the best frozen yogurt I’ve ever had. Let’s just say there were actual pieces of coconut mixed in. Yeah. It was amazing.

On the agenda for tomorrow: San Francisco! Woo! What am I going to do? I’m not too sure. I plan on being a total tourist though. Fanny pack and all. Kiddinggg. That would be pretty awesome though.

How was your day? 

20 thoughts on “operation get out of the dorm=success

  1. I always find Dr. Krackers at marshalls and tj maxx!! I LOVE them and they are usually so expensive so I get excited everytime I see them there! Such a great deal!! Glad you had a nice day out girl! I wish I could go to Whole Foods! Haven’t been in forever!!

  2. That plate is sooo cute. I’m actually tempted to pick up some of those plates with portion trays so I can better allot veggies/carbs/proteins, etc! Also, nice grocery haul – I wish we had a WF where I live!

  3. wooo sounds like such a fun day!!! I kind of love wandering around shopping lol I did that all the time when I lived in Raleigh and didn’t know anyone so i just hung out with myself lol. super jealous of your WF hot bar noms! And LOVE the Brooks shoes!! Brooks and Mizuno’s are my fave – and you’ll defs be better off in them on those long runs. hope you like them!!

  4. It looks like you had a very fun/productive day! Love the new sneakers by the way and especially the box. I’m glad you got to have some quality time and I love the shoes (my favorite color is pink) that’s what color they looked on my computer. And I love the plate, I definitly need to get me a kids plate, it’d be so much easier to have lots of food on it!

  5. Pingback: one month | Health Freak College Girl

Leave a Reply

