things i learned from this past week

1.Β When everything else seems to suck, you will always your family. As I’ve said, my mom is my best friend and she is able to help me get through so much. Then there’s my dad who doesn’t want anything more than for me to be happy. He talks sense into me and makes me realize even the little things. There are those quirky texts I get from my sister. Or those from my brother. No matter what, I know that they will always be there for me, during the good times and bad.

from my dad

from my sister

from my brother (he's in Boston right now and got to see the Boston marathon finish line)

2. Life is pretty awesome once you get out there. Being stuck up in my dorm for the past week hasn’t been fun. But once my mom and I went for a drive, my entire mood changed. We saw beautiful scenery, met cool people, and had an all around amazing time. You just have to get out there.

3. Anything is better than just sitting there. Like I said, I need to find things to do, even if that means doing it by myself. I’m actually pretty excited about my weekend. Friday I am going to the mall, Saturday I have triathlon practice and am going to do some homework, and Sunday I plan on going into San Francisco and being a total tourist. I looked up some fun stuff to do on Trip Advisor and now I’m going to check them out. Who cares if I’m by myself? I don’t. I’m pretty awesome company.

4. I can change my future. Just because I’m unhappy with my current school doesn’t mean I have to stay here for all 4 years. Tons of people switch after their first year. I’m so excited to find the right place for me. With that in mind, I have something to look forward because the thought of coming back to this school isn’t all that appealing.

5. And most importantly, life doesn’t have to be perfect to be wonderful.

 

24 thoughts on “things i learned from this past week

  1. Love this! I know sometimes for me it’s hard to look at the brightside when things seem to stink, but I love having a family that reminds me that even though things aren’t great, they will get better πŸ™‚

  2. Great post! It’s great to have such a positive outlook on life! Things will get better. The year is almost up, you just gotta push through! Good luck, girl. I know you can do it!

  3. ONE OF MY FAVORITE POST EVER ! when you feel down, just read it again to remember how to lift your mood !!

    You seem in a better place now, hope you ‘ll keep going Haley !! xoxo

  4. I LOVE THIS!! seriously reading this makes me smile, and it’s so true. I find that when I spend too much time in my house (or, when i was in college, in my dorm and the library hah), I get a lil stir-crazy, and doing things really helps. even alone!! I bet you WOULD be awesome company, I’d totally hang out with you! πŸ˜€ And I gotta say, transferring schools after my freshman year was 1. the hardest thing I’ve ever done and 2. the BEST thing I’ve ever done. So, I am SUPER proud and happy you’ve made that decision, I can’t WAIT to see where you end up, and I’m so excited for you to be able to start fresh at a place that’s perfect for you! ❀

  5. Great post! I love the inspiration this holds!
    It is so true, only you have the power to say this is not how my life is going to be. You control your own destiny! Live it up!!! πŸ™‚
    I completely agree with you on that family one as well, I don’t know where I would ever be without my family! I love the bond we share!

  6. I really needed this today!! These realizations are so true. The one that resonates most with me at the moment is that life doesn’t have to be perfect and that I can change my future. Thanks for being so thoughtful and inspiring!!

  7. Pingback: a rainy and nap filled WIAW | Health Freak College Girl

  8. This is so true!! So much of this post resonates with me, because I often feel down and out, and spend time alone. You always do have your family. Even if you’re across the sea from them and have to stay up way past your granny bedtime to skype them πŸ™‚
    That’s great that you’re taking the initiative to do some things while you’re traveling, even if you’ll be alone. I’ve been thinking of doing the same thing for this coming week, which I have off.
    Best wishes, you’re obviously doing lots of thinking, which I’ve found never hurts πŸ™‚

  9. This is a great post and definitely one you should look at whenever things get rough. It sounds like you have a lot of wonderful people cheering you on! This semester will be over before you know it. My first six weeks of grad school were extremely rough. My mom sent me little gifts at the end of each week. They were great reminders of how far I’d come!

  10. I really like the first one you mentioned: family. I don’t know where I would be if it weren’t for my family. They have always been there for me and supported me. I love this post. I know you can do it, Beautiful!

  11. This post is really beautiful πŸ™‚ You made me smile this evening so thank you!

    A loving, supportive family is one of the best things you can have in life, I’m so glad you have your family! I’m really thankful for mine too, they’re always there for me, no matter what.

    I loved no.4, this is exactly where I am in my life right now, more on that to come later, and I’m so happy that you feel positive knowing you can change πŸ™‚ I really hope it all works out for you and you find somewhere you love!

    Finally, thank you so much for that quote, I’ve saved the picture to remind myself πŸ™‚

  12. Mom’s are the best. I don’t know how I would have gotten through some of these weeks without her πŸ™‚

  13. Pingback: seven things…errr…wednesday? | Health Freak College Girl

Leave a Reply

