vi-vi-vi-vitaminssss + sunfood review

Vitamins, vitamins, vitamins. There are so many out there that it can be overwhelming to walk into the pharmacy (or Costco vitamin aisle like me 😉 ). Everybody is different, and their needs are different. So what one person takes, another might or might not need. With that being said, here are a few vitamins that I take:

Multi
This one is pretty self-explanatory. I take one a day, in the morning. I think that everybody should take a multi vitamin to get some of the essentials.

Calcium
I take calcium twice a day. I’m sure you know how important it is for women to get calcium. This is to help prevent osteoporosis. You can also get you calcium from food but I don’t the best job at this. A couple of months ago, I got a bone density test and the results came out good. (Thank goodness). I truly think this is because of the calcium vitamins. When looking at the different calcium vitamin options,  go for calcium citrate. The citrate helps the calcium be absorbed.

Glucosamine
I take two glucosamine pills twice a day. I started taking this a couple of years ago when I began to have knee trouble. I have noticed a BIG difference. Every once in awhile, I will still have knee troubles, but it is nothing compared to how it used to be.

Flaxseed Oil
After seeing my nutritionist, she recommended I take some sort of omega-3 fatty acid. I definitely didn’t want fish oil, so flaxseed oil it was. It comes in little capsules, so I don’t actually drink it. I take one pill a day.

Magnesium
Like the glucosamine, I started taking magnesium after an injury. I hurt my back and had to see the chiropractor a couple of times. He told me to start taking magnesium, so I gave it a try. I have noticed a difference. I haven’t gone to the chiropractor and no back problems have come up (knock on wood). I take one magnesium pill a day. 

So those are the vitamins you can take but there are also some foods that are chock full of vitamins. 

That’s a very simplified chart but here are a couple websites for more information:
Vitamin/Mineral sources and what they do
Food sources and how much a person needs

And what some other awesome nutrients? Check out some foods such as acai, maca, goji berries, lucuma, cocoa nibs, and some many other products at Sunfood. They have been the “World’s Best Organic Raw Food and Superfoods Since 1995.”

I got to try out a couple products and boy, it was hard to choose! I ultimately decided on Acai powder and Maca powder.

First up, Acai powder

Acai, from South America, has become even more popular these last few years. It contains antioxidants, healthy fats, amino acids, and essential vitamins. In order to pack in the most nutrients, Sunfood freeze dries the berries before grinding them into a powder.

“The dark purple color of acai comes from pigments called anthocyanins, which are powerful antioxidants that help defend the body against free radical damage. Diets rich in antioxidants can help slow the aging process and protect against disease. Acai contains omega 3, 6 and 9 essential fatty acids (EFAs) which are critical for brain function, cardiovascular health and the nervous system. An essential fatty acid is a substance that the body cannot make on its own and must be derived from foods. Acai is also a great source of B vitamins, amino acids, vitamins C and E, calcium and fiber. Plus, it’s low on the glycemic index scale (i.e., low in sugar).

People enjoying acai regularly have reported:

* More energy/stamina
* Better sleep
* Improved mental focus
* Enhanced digestion
* Lower cholesterol
* Better metabolism

Recent research has indicated that acai may help to regenerate stem cells and even fight cancers.
The nutrition found in acai is a rare and wonderful blend of antioxidants, omega 3 and 6 essential fatty acids, vitamins and amino acids. 

Sunfood Acai Powder captures the pure essence of the acai berry. This product is not an extract or concentration. Sunfood Acai Powder delivers a synergy of powerful antioxidants, essential fatty acids and healing oils, fiber, and proteins found only in acai.”

I have been loving this in smoothies. There is also a good looking recipe for acai fudge on Sunfood’s website. Acai would also be great to add to a pancake mix or to some granola bars. Sneak some antioxidants in wherever you can!

Maca Powder

Maca powder helps with endurance, energy, and strength. It is widely used with endurance and extreme athletes. (Hence the reason I use it. Just kidding 😉 ) Interesting fact: Maca is likely the highest altitude food-herb crop in the world. Here’s what Maca looks like before ground into powder:

“Said to improve memory, oxygen in the blood, neurotransmitter function and libido, studies have also shown that the adaptogens in maca can boost your immunity and increase your bodys overall vitality by 10-15%.

Containing 60% carbohydrates, 9% fiber and almost 10% protein, dried maca powder is high in lipid content, including linoleic, palmitic and oleic acid.

Maca is mineral-rich with calcium, magnesium, phosphorous, potassium, sulfur and iron, and contains trace minerals, such as zinc, copper, selenium, manganese and silica.

Additionally, as a good source of vitamins and sterols, Maca contains nearly 20 different amino acids and seven essential amino acids, giving you a wide variety of benefits for your on-the-go lifestyle.”

Like the Acai, I put Maca in my smoothies. I really couldn’t even tell it was there! The combination of the two superfoods turned my smoothie gray…I promise it was still delicious. I found a recipe at A Dash of Compassion for Maca Mint Blondies. These are definitely on my “to-make” list. Also, Sunfood has some awesome recipes to check out using maca: Caramel Maca White Chocolate, Maca Vanilla Ice Cream, and Cinnamon Maca Bars. I know…don’t they all sound drool worthy?

Acai and Maca not your thing? That’s fine. Sunfood has A TON of organic, raw, healthy, and superfood filled options. A lot of the times, I cannot find certain foods that I want in stores but I know that Sunfood will always have it. So go check them out!

What vitamins do you take?
Have you ever had Acai or Maca before?
Find anything cool of the Sunfood website? (How can you not??) 

17 thoughts on “vi-vi-vi-vitaminssss + sunfood review

  1. Wow this was so informational! I love learning stuff like this! 🙂
    I’ve always wanted to try maca before, the word is even intriguing haha I’ll have to go check out their website pronto!

  2. I am a slacker in the vitamin department! I like to think I get all my nutrients through the food I eat but I am sure I could use some extra! Especially vitamin D….we are all so deficient up here in the north east!
    I looooove sunfood! They have GREAT stuff! And maca powder is SO good for joint health…I always add it to smoothies!

  3. I’ve recently got so into sunfood! They have so much good stuff, I’m really obsessed with golden berries and cacao atm – so yummy and so good for you! I think I might go make a smoothie with maca now 😀

  4. Haley!!! Thanks for this post! I feel like you were answering my question from the other day and so many other questions that I had. Thank you so much! I always love your posts 🙂

  5. I take some fish oil and a multi vitamin (Opti-women), and it really helps me with my mood disorders ! I chose opti-women because there are chromium (stabilize blood sugar), B-complex, zinc (mood), A, C, manganese, copper… everything ! I didnt want to take a zillion pills but with this multi-vitamin I just have 2 pills =)

  6. I take vitamin D and fish oil pills. I have a multivitamin that I bought for its calcium and iron content (since I’m probably lacking in those), but I almost never take it. 😛

    Acai and maca powder both sound so awesome! I’ve never tried either though because they’re sooo expensive.

  7. You take a lot of vitamins but thats great that you do! This post was great- tons of information in it 🙂 I take a womens multi vitamin everyday, and I take extra vitamin c so I don’t get sick! I used to take vitamin D and fish oil, but we ran out and we never got anymore. Maybe I should start taking them again…?

  8. So many vitamins to take! I take 1000mg of vitamin D every monday since we don’t get any sun up here and B12 and floic acid every day because one of my medications worsens my depression and I don’t want to pay for antidepressants. Apparently more B vitamins helps with it. Been doing it for over a year and it still works. Vitamins are weird.

  9. Oh I love acai sunfood!!! I always add some to my protein shakes!
    I take multivitamins every day! Along with magnesium and calcium! I try to make sure I am eating nutritious healthy foods, but even then I don’t think I am getting enough of all the vitamins!
    Thanks for sharing this post and links! Learned a lot from this 🙂

  10. I just started taking glucosamine now that I have knee problems. I really hope it helps me like it has helped you!! A lot of people have recommended it to me so I’m glad to hear another good review!

  11. Pingback: Sunfood Maca Powder

Leave a Reply

