“Pho King”good spring rolls

Have you ever had pho (pronounced pha) before? It’s a Vietnamese soup that has tons of veggies, rice noodles, and any kind of meat you want. I’m always hesitant to try ethnic food because I’m scared of what’s in it. Not necessarily because of the ingredients, but I don’t want any hidden fish flavors or something in my food. (I hate fish.) But when my dad came home and told me how amazing this restaurant was, I had to give it a try.

The other day, my mom, dad, and I headed out to a restaurant called “Pho King.” Say it slowly…do you get it? Pha king….Phaking…F***ing… My parents and I had a great time joking about this the entire time.

Anywho. We started out with the vegetarian spring rolls. 

Oh my. Okay. How do I explain these things to show how amazing they were? I don’t think I can. But they were delicious. 

The spring rolls were amazing by themselves but it was the peanut sauce that really took it over the top.

I wanted to eat it with a spoon, swim in it, and buy a gallon of it all at the same time. 

After the spring rolls, it was time for the pho. I ordered the vegetarian noodle soup.

I opted to get the large size because it was only $.50 more and figured I could always take the rest for leftovers. And uhhh yeah…it was large.

There was a combination of tofu, broccoli, celery, bok choy, onion, carrots, bell peppers, and rice noodles in a vegetable broth.

They also brought bean sprouts, basil, and lime to the table to top our soup with. 

I opted for the lime. 

They also had sriracha (a.k.a. rooster sauce) to put on things. But me and sriracha have a bad history. When I was about 6, my brother, who was about 12 at the time, asked me if I wanted to smell some sriracha. Of course, I said yes. Well, my brother decided to squirt it in my eye instead. So ever since then, I am hesitant to put it on things. Thanks for scarring me big bro. Thanks.

You also ate the soup with a totally awesome soup.

But back to the pho. That stuff was SO filling. I ate some of it but I had to call it quits after a while. This is the after picture. See? I made a dent in the giant, head size, bowl. 

After our dinner, they gave us each a dessert. It was a tapioca sort of dish. I tried some but it just wasn’t for me. So overall, this place was so “pho king” good! Plus, the customer service was amazing. The manager came over and talked to us and he was hilarious. He told us about some eating competitions they have and some funny stories about them. So this place was definitely a go back. Not only for the food, but for the customer service.

Last night, I decided to try and recreate those magical spring rolls.

I started out by broiling some tofu. 

Then I gathered my veggies. I used a combination of spinach…

shredded carrots…

and cucumbers. 

I then got the rice paper soaking. It didn’t take long. Only 30 seconds or so.

Next up, assembly. It actually wasn’t as hard as I thought it was going to be! In fact, it was kind of easy. 

For the dipping sauce, I used Alex’s Spicy Peanut Sauce

So overall, it was a huge success. I was afraid of spring rolls being too hard to make, but I’m happy to say, they are not at all! These were “pho king” delicious 😉

Have you ever had pho before?
What’s your favorite ethnic food?  

15 thoughts on ““Pho King”good spring rolls

  1. I’ve never had pho before but it looks awesome! Recently I have been all over indian food! Have you ever had naan? So good!

    • i had naan a reallyyyyy long time ago. i remember it being good…then again all carbs are good 😉 there isn’t much indian food around me but i really want to try

  2. I’ve wanted to try pho FOREVER!! My dad’s coworker is Vietnamese and always tells us how good it is, I need some in my life asap! 🙂
    Looks like yall had a blast at that restaurant!

  3. Hehe Love the title! I love spring rolls and PHO! Both are so good! I have those rice paper wraps too….its so fun to make the rolls homemade!!

  4. tee hee “pho-king” that’s clever! I’ve heard of Pho but to be honest (I know…foodie blasphemy about to occur…) I really don’t like asian food. Chinese, Japanese, Korean…I’ve never had Vietnamese but I’ve also never had any other asian food that I’ve liked. Unless you count Indian food but I think that’s in a category of its own haha. Spring rolls are SO GOOD though!! I actually have rice paper at home for some reason, maybe I should try your recipe! I’m glad they turned out well! 🙂

  5. I’ve never tried Vietnamese food before! I have to avoid most Asian restaurants because of their use of nuts. 😛 But luckily I can have Japanese food, which is my favourite. I could just eat sushi everyday for the rest of my life!

    Your homemade spring rolls look awesome! I’ll have to try making them sometime!

  6. I LOVE Pho!!! It is so delicious. There’s a really authentic Pho restaurant in my city that sells the best. It can seriously heal sickness, no kidding.

    I’m glad you liked the peanut sauce!!! It’s one of my favorites, too!

  7. Pho is delish! I love the whole process of “making it”! It’s so fun 🙂 And you’re right…it is suprisingly filling! Also, I know you don’t drink, but for those that do I heard it is a bomb-diggity hang over cure!

  8. Spring rolls are the best, I love how fresh they are! I’ve never had ones with tofu though but they look amazing, especially with the peanut sauce.

    My favorite cuisine is Mediterranean–you can’t go wrong with tabbouleh, falafel and hummus!

Leave a Reply

