the best chair ever

This morning, we had some family bonding time. We headed to a farmers market where there were food trucks. I love food trucks. I have the apps to follow them on my phone, I watched The Great Food Truck Race, and I even applied for a job at one of them this past summer. (I didn’t get the job. Instead I worked at a pet’s hotel. That will have to be for another post.)

My personal fav is Seabirds. They are a vegan truck that was on The Great Food Truck Race. They didn’t win…booo. I had a Groupon though. So, yay!

There were other food trucks at the farmers market, but I knew that I wanted Seabirds. Here’s what I got:

kale salad with blood oranges and spiced walnuts

"The New Years Resolution:" Steamed organic broccoli over organic brown rice, sautéed carrots and onions, lemon tahini sauce, fresh herbs

How do places get their brown rice to be so good?? The world may never know…

My dad likes to get little things from each food truck so he got something from Seabirds.

roasted beets with a chive dressing

My sister decided to go to Taco Maria and get the jardineros burrito.

roasted pumpkin, black beans, queso Cotija & salsa de semillas

And my mom went to Home Skillet and ordered the breaky sandwich.

fried egg, bacon, tomato, pepper jack cheese, and aoli

For my dad’s second dish, he got a tamale from Taco Maria but I didn’t snap a picture. But I did get a picture of his crispy brussels sprouts from Home Skillet.

brussels sprouts, capers, red wine vinagrette, herbs

After lunch, we headed in The OC Mix Mart. Basically, it’s a bunch of kiosks selling clothes, spices, antiques, etc.

Our first stop was at the spice store. They had a ton of different spices that I didn’t even know existed. 

My mom got some stuff and I made a request for vanilla bean sugar. Mmm. It’s gonna be perfect on oatmeal, or grapefruit, or…oatmeal.

Then we saw a coffee shop. Or shall I say…coffee lab. 

Portola Coffee Lab. I have never heard of it before but it looked really good and fun. I have never seen so many hipsters. But that’s not the point. The line was really long and there were a lot of people sitting around, enjoying themselves. 

And how cute is it that the baristas wear lab coats?? I thought it was adorable. And clever.

Ooh and then the best part, like omg, a fashion camp. (Please take note of the sarcasm.)

Anywho. After walking around for awhile, we headed to a home decorating store. It’s huge! I’m pretty sure we spent an hour there. 

But the coolest thing, in the entire world, was this chair.

I loved it. And, I mean, $360 for hours of fun?? Worth it. We didn’t buy it but I happily take donations 😉 

After finally leaving the store, we went back to the famers market for popsicles.

"Island in the Sun:" mango, pineapple, and a hint of lime

My mom opted for a crepe at Crepes Bonaparte instead. (They were on The Great Food Truck race as well).

crepe with strawberries and whipped cream

So all in all, it was a fun day. There’s nothing better than spending the day with people you love. 

 

19 thoughts on “the best chair ever

  1. Sounds like a fun & eventful day! I’m so jealous, I’ve always wanted to eat from a food truck! Plus, you got to even eat at Seabirds! I wanted to eat there ever since I saw The Great Food Truck Race. I was actually rooting for Hodge Podge to win though! Still, so jealous right now.

  2. Seriously, I need to become your official traveling buddy. What a fabulous day!! Food trucks, pretty flowers, wicked cool chairs, and quality family time? WIN 😀
    Enjoy the rest of your Saturday!

  3. whoaaa that sounds like such a cool market!! I had NO IDEA food trucks made food that good…I’m used to the ones in Philly that sell hot dogs and falafel and fried grouper sandwiches (oh yes there was totally a jamaican food truck!)…um yeah I don’t really go for that stuff hah. If I had food trucks like the ones at your market though, I’d never go to a real restaurant! And omg I’m in love with the coffee lab. So perfect for my science-nerd self haha.

  4. Food trucks are the best! In Dallas, where I’m from, they have taco trucks that I looove! I’m pretty sure I would love a crepe truck equally as much 🙂 I actually made crepes for breakfast this morning!

  5. That looks like such a fun day!! I’ve never went to a food truck before, but I watched the race on Food Network. I LOVE that chair! It’ looks beyond comfyy. I need me one of them! 😛

  6. That chair is pretty amazing and that whole market looks really cool, including all the food trucks. I haven’t seen that show but we don’t really have food trucks here. We do have an ice cream truck (lol) but that’s about it. Looks like you guys had a great time!

Leave a Reply

