thursday’s thirteen

1. I went to my high school today. I know, I know. I’m sure you’re (especially Brittany) thinking, “Why the heck would you want to go back there?” I only went back to see one teacher with my friend. It was my Bible Lit teacher during my second semester of senior year. He really helped me out and was hands down, the best teacher I have ever had. But after being there today, I realized even more how petty it was. I wanted to go up to every kid who was sitting by themselves and tell them how none of it matters in the long run. That one day, those popular kids will be passed out in front of the frat house while you excel in college.
P.S. I am going to have a post about my senior year of high school tomorrow. Let’s just say…it wasn’t the best year for me.  

2. I also went to the mall today with my sister because she needed to exchange some things. H&M had some serious deals going on but I restrained myself to only buying a sports bra for $5. (The cheap ones are perfect for swimming laps.) Besides that, I kept my eyes forward so I wouldn’t be tempted by things.

3. Okay maybe I did take a look at the running shoes at Nordstroms. I am kind of, sort of, obsessed with the colors on this one. 

4. Speaking of obsessions, this song is amazing. It’s called “It’s a Great Day to Be Alive.” You know it’s going to be amazing just by the title.

5. I have been baking some goodies lately. First I made a wheatberry bread (my family’s favorite bread), protein zucchini brownies, and now I have Eden’s “Seitan Style” Pretzel Nuggets cooling. Umm yeah. Where have these been all my life. High protein pretzel nuggets =my new BFF (bestest, favoritest food).

6. I’m having a first world problem…I don’t know if I should get the iPhone 4S. Right now, I have the 3G but it has been so slow lately. As in, I have to just put it down sometimes and just walk away. Anybody experiencing this problem? Wow. I should just shut up now.

7. So remember how I said I was going to run that race this weekend? It looks like it’s going to be a no-go. After the marathon, my inner left thigh began to hurt. It’s not necessarily the groin, lower than that. I try to stretch it out, but it hurts too bad. So I think I’m going to have to push my pride aside and not do the race this weekend.

8. If you’re looking for an amazing site, check out A Recovered Life. I don’t have a tumblr but I ended up there after searching around Pinterest for awhile. I love it. And I can’t get enough of it. 

9. My dinner may or may not have been wheatberry bread and “seitan style” pretzel nuggets (see #5). Don’t look at me that way. Jersey Shore is on so that gives me an excuse to be extra lazy.

10. Have you ever heard of the show, The Doctors, before? Dr. Phil’s son is on it and then they recently added Jillian Michaels. Okay, anyways, I signed up to get tickets. My phone rang the other day with a Los Angeles area code. I thought, “What the heck. Why is Ryan Gosling calling me?” (Oh gosh I wish.)

Anywho, I answered it and it was a guy from the Doctors asking if I still wanted to go to a taping of the doctors. Heck yes! So next Friday I will go see a taping of the Doctors with my sister and mom. Now I am just praying that they don’t talk about sex, lady parts, and herpes. Oh gosh please no.

11. I have been having the hardest time falling asleep lately. That means I have been going to bed around 1am or 2am. Not fun stuff. To help me fall asleep last night, I pulled out my Nintendo DS. I haven’t played that thing for years. I think I see a comeback.

12. Did you know Jersey Shore is on tonight? I think I’m a little too excited.

13. “Cabs are here!” I couldn’t resist 🙂

18 thoughts on “thursday’s thirteen

  1. Highschool has been tough for me too 😦 I am interested in hearing your story.

    Love all the pins! And that wheatberry bread sounds delicious!

  2. High school was really tough for me too. I’ll have to say junior year was the hardest, a lot of issues really came out then. Senior year was tough but it seemed a bit happier, funny how that happens right before you graduate. I would never go back though even to visit- my life got so much better when I went to college!

    Hope you have fun at The Doctors show, so neat that you get to go watch something like that be taped, who knows maybe there will be some neat giveaways or something? I’ve seen it a few times but I don’t remember if they do a lot of those on there like Ellen and Dr. Oz do.

  3. I hope you didn’t hurt yourself too bad and that you heal quickly!
    Can I just say I’m so jealous you’re going to see the doctors?!!! I watch that show every morning. Love it!!!!!!
    And mmmmmm Ryan Gosling <3. Enough said 😉

  4. Oh no! Get better soon! I hate to say but I watched about 4 hours of Jersey Shore tonight with one of my friends. We were bored waiting around for the new episode so we just watched a few of the reruns from Italy. I think I may have lost some brain cells.

  5. Oh dear. I love those first world problems far too much. Hahah. I feel so lazy and selfish when I read them…but they’re problems. I make such a pain out of going to get my charger…it’s such a big effort, UGH.

    ….You don’t always get calls from Ryan Gosling? Oh…I thought he did that to everyone…

    Kidding. Don’t come after me.

  6. Senior year was the worst for me too, that’s when my ED started and when all of my close friends pretty much became druggies 😦 Thank God for college!
    Sorry to hear about the inner thigh pain, but WOOHOO about getting to see a taping of the Doctors!! I love that show, especially now that Jillian is on it 🙂
    And one last thing….meatballs down!! 😀 yay jersey!

  7. I didn’t really like HS either. I had an amazing group of friends, but I had way too low of a self confidence to really enjoy myself.

    Sorry you can’t run the race this weekend! 😦 But I’m sure it’s for the better. I hope your thigh feels better soon!

    That’s so cool that you’re going to see the Doctors! I’ve never really watched that show, but I keep on meaning to. It sounds like they talk about such interesting stuff!

  8. hahahaha. Jersey Shore. I can’t say I’ve ever watched it, but dressing up for jersey shore themed parties in college was, um, definitely an interesting experience hahaha.

    ANd I feel ya on high school. I had tons of friends and was happy, but the “popular” girls always made fun of me…UNTIL I lost a ton of weight the summer before senior year, and suddenly they all wanted to be my friend? Ugh, makes me want to vomit. Now of course I’ve graduated from one of the best colleges in the country, and most of those girls were college dropouts…I had a great “hah” moment when one of them rung up my coffee at Wawa (sort of a classy version of 7-11) here. hah. HAH. okay, that just made me sound super mean, but I’m sure you know where I’m coming from 😛

  9. so i’m going to be completely honest and say that I had to reread the tid bit about the doctors a few times (okay 4 times) because I was completely distracted by ryan gosseling. 😛 haha. I don’t think your crazy for goin back (well…a little 😉 ) but at least you got to see your favorite teacher! I went out to breakfast with a few friends last week and we all had the same favorite teacher in hs so she came with us too! It as nice to see her again.
    Have a great day!

  10. Hahaha I totally called out my friend on a firstworldproblem when I was trying to decide if he should get the black or the white iphone 4s. Even more ridiculous. I have the iphone 4 in black and the 4s in white. (One is for work, I’m not quite THAT crazy, but still!)

    I enjoyed visiting my old high school once I got to college!

  11. I love this post- I LOVE ryan gosling, that is cool that you’re going to the taping. I always forget to do things like that despite the fact that it’s free and in town. And I too always find myself longing for those pretty running shoes Nordstrom has on display. I don’t know how long I could keep them that shiny though lol.

  12. Aw,I’m sorry about your thigh…Hope you feel better,soon!
    I just got an iPhone 4 with 3GB and I love it soooo much! 😀 it’s also pretty fast,but the correction function thingie is a bit annoying…i really have to find out how to turn it off!

  13. Cant wait to hear your story about HS because it’s either an awesome experience, or not so awesome.

    Love so much about this post! I checked out that website..let’s just say I’ll need a good 5 hours to browse through it – it’s so great! That JS book picture is hilarious and so true. I still haven’t watched yesterday’s episode, but I am dying to! Although I heard people are kind of starting to get disappointed with this season..they probably just need a new cast. Ok now I am rambling about JS…oh boy lol. Happy Weekend Haley!

  14. “It’s a Great Day to be Alive” is one of my all-time favorite songs. Such a positive message.

    Bahahaha love the First World Problems graphic you posted. So funny! (And also so true…)

    When I see Los Angeles area codes, that’s usually the first thing that comes to mind too (she said, as if she knew what the Los Angeles area code was…haha).

  15. High school sucks, hands down.
    My friend just got the iPhone 4S and I think she likes it. She’s kind of never satisfied with her phones, though. We’re all so impatient. If something takes too long to load we get mad. But if yours is slow, honestly I would see if it can be fixed before checking out a new one.

Leave a Reply

