Q&A numero uno

Well hey there errbody. I’ve had these Q&A questions for awhile so I am finally going to answer them πŸ™‚

What would you pick for your “last meal”? (This is supposed to make you think of what your very favorite meal EVER would be!) πŸ™‚
This question is always so hard! But I think this is what it will be:
Appetizer – Beet and Cashew Cheeze Dip from Portobello in PortlandΒ 

Main Course – Gnocchi from a restaurant in Vancouver. I don’t remember the name of the place but ohhh boy. That stuff was so good.
Dessert – Unlimited frozen yogurt. (Preferably Golden Spoon)Β 

What one kitchen appliance can you not live without?
A magic bullet!! I love, love, loveee this. I can make smoothies, banana soft serve, blend flours. I have one at home and one in my dorm room…so it’s everywhere πŸ™‚

smoothies for dayzzz

How do you get pumped up for loong training runs? I’m finding myself having trouble getting up the motivation to run 9+ miles
It’s hard to get pumped for long runs sometimes! It happens to everyone. If I plan on going on a long run, I do it in the morning. The longer I put it off, the more likely I won’t do it. So put your clothes and shoes out the night before. Then when you wake up in the morning, have a little snack (nothing big) and hit the pavement. Mornings are definitely the best time for long runs πŸ™‚Did you like eating in a dining hall (if you did)? If so, what were some ways that you survived?! I can’t stand my school’s food haha!
Surprisingly, I actually like the dining hall food. I like having access to so many fresh veggies. I know a lot of people are not a fan of dining hall food but that’s because they aren’t creative. They have the same thing everyday or just go for the special of the day. Instead, you can do so much with the options. Make a big salad and use soup as the dressing. Make a sandwich and put hummus on it. Another thing I really like to do is make a “bowl.” Put rice, veggies, and some sort of protein on top (my fav is vegan chili).

an example of one of my salads

Do you ever get stuck in food ruts where you seem to be eating the same things all the time? How do you break them?
Heck yes I get in food ruts! I have actually had the same breakfast almost everyday for the past few days. I really don’t do anything to break them though. I just let them run their course because I figure if it tastes good, why not eat it? So after a week or so of eating a certain breakfast, I’ll naturally switch over to something new.

Since you’re in college, what are some good ideas to bring for lunch in between classes?? No way in heck am I paying for overpriced food here hahahaha
Pshhh I never pay for that overpriced stuff! If I ever need to pack a lunch, I have a bunch of options. Here are a few:
-Sandwich
-Yogurt
-Trail Mix
-Fresh Fruit
-Dried Fruit
-Steamed Veggies (I steam them so they aren’t so loud when I eat them.)
-Clif Bars, KIND Bars, Larabars, etc.

What’s your least favorite food and why?
Fish. I have never been much of a seafood fan. I used to eat shrimp every once in awhile, but never loved it. Now, any sort of seafood is gross to me. I really, really wish I liked it though because there are lots of healthy fats in it.

What food have you never eaten before but have always thought about trying? It can be something really weird or just a normal thing you’ve never tried before!
I know I just said I don’t like seafood, but I want to try sushi. Maybe like an avocado or cucumber roll. I’m hesitant to try it though because it has seaweed and that has a seafood taste to it.

Are you an early bird or rather a late riser?
Early bird for sureee! I am actually not a fan of sleeping in because I feel like my whole day is gone. I get a lot more done in the morning so I am able to spend the rest of the day relaxing and not rushing to get stuff done.Β 

Whats your best running advice you can give me?
I’m always looking for advice too, so here are just a few things I have learned that works for me:
-Like I said, run early. Running later means you eaten more food and sometimes, certain foods don’t sit well in a runner’s stomach.
-I never run 2 days in a row unless I have a really, really good reason. I do this because I don’t want to get burned out. So 3 days a week I run. Then the other 3 days, I do some strength, hills, or stairs.
-If you are a beginner at running, don’t expect to run for miles and miles. Start small. Walk a minute, run a minute. Then slowly work your way up from there.
-Sprint! If you don’t feel like doing distance, head over to a track and do some sprint work. One that I like to do is: jog the curves, sprint the straights. I do that for 4 laps (1 mile). Then I will do abs, squats, lunges, push-ups, and then run another mile.Β 

What are you most passionate about in life?
Nutrition. (Are you shocked?) My sister lost 100 pounds. After seeing how much it changed her life, I knew that I wanted to help people reach their goal of being happy and healthy. I also want to teach people that healthy food can be delicious.

And that’s all for today πŸ™‚ I have more questions but I will answer them in another post. You can always leave questions in the comment section.

And now here are some things from Pinterest lately because, you know, you can never have enough pins.Β 

I’ll be back tomorrow with my New Year’s Resolution, and a more serious post.


20 thoughts on “Q&A numero uno

  1. Loved reading your answers! It’s so cool to get to know bloggers through these. πŸ™‚
    I too loathe the dreaded food ruts haha and can I just say that golden spoon froyo pic is the most amazing thing ever? πŸ˜€

  2. hahahah “I steam my vegies so they’re not so loud when I eat them.’ I KNOW THE FEELING. Eating carrots in public=really really embarrassing. It always hits a grand awkward silence, and then I’m sitting there silently whilst my mouth is doing this violet CRUNCH SNAP BAM POW CRUNCH SNAP BAM POW routine.

  3. I agree with the running early thing, either that, or I wear my sneakers to work to inspire myself to go later πŸ™‚ I just got a personal blender!!! (The magic bullet was too expensive lol) and I can’t wait to start using it when I get back. Forward me some good recipes! πŸ™‚

  4. I definitely agree about running early! I’ve had some bad cramps recently because I push my run to the afternoons when it’s 40-50 degrees. I’d rather deal with the cramps right now because it’s like in the teens in the morning *brrrrrr*

  5. Great q and a sesh! I love the pins too! That last one is so sad….I hate to think that that statistic is true 😦

  6. I agree: Working out in the morning is the best you can do!
    I always work out very early because I love the feeling of having gotten something done before the others even wake up hehe πŸ˜›

    Random question: What place would you really like to travel to some time?

  7. Love this! I totally agree on the Golden Spoon front. Plus, I’d have to throw sweet potato + nut butter in there πŸ™‚

    Have you heard about the Whole Foods thing in Tustin this weekend?

  8. I always run early! It’s the first thing I do with my day, normally. It’s such a great start and when I get back, I’m all awake and motivated and stuff. That “what are we eating” thing is SCARY. Luckily, I don’t eat like that anymore. I had a similar weight journey as your sister.

  9. I love this Q+A! and YAY for another early riser! I can’t stand sleeping in (even though I can’t anymore because I’m so used to getting up early). and I love the robert downing jr pic from pinterest. πŸ˜›

  10. I’m so glad you commented on my WIAW… Because I got to see ur awesome blog! Haha, your posts are so funny and real. I totally wish I had gotten a magic bullet for Christmas, but I got a food processor instead. I’ll just have to live with that!

  11. Hello friend! I am new to the blog world but when I found your blog I had to comment, I too struggled with bulimia for almost 5 years, I LOVE running and after attending treatment I am in recovery, its tough I know but its well worth it. I will definitely keep reading your blog, happy Friday πŸ™‚

  12. Pingback: Q&A part 2 | Health Freak College Girl

Leave a Reply

