owls and peanut butter

Christmas!!! I hope your day was fun, filled with lots of good food and wonderful people. Mine was amazing. Every year, I realize just how lucky I am.

Christmas Eve is our big day. I spent the morning helping my mom in the kitchen. We always go to my grandpa’s house but it’s potluck style so we brought stuff. My mom made 2 desserts, roasted vegetables, and a kale salad. Then she told me to make some stuff too. Weee! I made a lentil loaf and sticky toffee pudding.

We got to my grandpa’s house around 5 and it was nice to see the rest of my family. Once dinner rolled around, I filled my plate with lentil loaf, roasted veggies, and kale salad. Then for dessert, I had some dark chocolate almonds and sticky toffee pudding.

Then, it was gift time. We ended getting home around 11:30. It was late! So we headed to bed…but not before I had a little panic attack.Β 

Christmas morning was laid back…just the way I like it. We slept in till about 9 and then slowly made our way to open up the presents. Gift giving was light this year because we already got our big presents. I got my road bike and my sister got a beach cruiser. Then my parents bought each other a new car and a TV. Even though I told my parents to not get me anything, they still did.

from my parents: owl plate, owl magnets, owl hand warmers...i like owls πŸ™‚

from my sis: pretzel pizazz peanut butter (honey peanut butter with pretzels. swoooon)

from my aunt: nike tempo shorts. from my parents: running gloves. from my sister: running shirt

And now my newest obsession, thanks to my parents…

front of the jacket

back of the jacket

Adi was in kitty heaven with all of the wrapping paper and boxes.

relaxing by the fire. because, you know, her life is so hard and all

my sister got our parents a pasta maker...adi thoroughly enjoyed something new to sit on

We also gave Lucky a new dog toy. He couldn’t have been more excited. Then after about 5 minutes, he was pooped.

After the gift giving, we headed to the kitchen for breakfast. My mom made Ellie Krieger’s whole-wheat pancakes with nutty topping.

I was in charge of the fruit salad. And heck yes there are pomegranate seeds in there. Gotta get festive.

My plate (I went back for more pancakes…of course):

As for the rest of the day, we spent it watching basketball and movies. One of them was Due Date. Because what else says Merry Christmas than Zac Galifianakis?

And now my aunt and cousin are on their way over for dinner. My mom is making roasted tomato basil soup, split pea soup, and lentil soup. Mmmm soup πŸ™‚

I’ll probably go to bed early tonight because I have marathon #2 tomorrow. Eeeeek!!

Anywho, I hope you all have a wonderful rest of the day πŸ™‚

 

14 thoughts on “owls and peanut butter

  1. Ugh I have lost my retainer so many times. You got awesome stuff. Pretzel peanut butter??! I love owls too πŸ™‚ Good luck at the marathon.

  2. Glad you had a fun christmas! That dinner sounds delicious and the pancakes look perfect! Good luck with your race! You are a crazy girl!!! πŸ™‚

  3. OMG looks like you had such an amazing day!! All that food looks delicious, I really gotta try those pancakes. Aaand honey-pretzel peanut butter? is there a greater food combination in the world? I think not….I love all the pink running gear too!! I have that FAST shirt in white, it’s really comfy – gotta love Nike. GOOD LUCK at your marathon, I can’t wait to hear how it goes!!!! πŸ™‚

  4. My cat went craaazzzyy for the wrapping paper too. It was so much fun to watch. Awesome gifts! I got a jar of nut butter too. Good luck on your marathon and have fun!!

  5. This is a post full of pure awesomness. It looks like you had a wonderful christmas!! I’m lovin all the food (and pb with honey and pretzels? ohmygosh. Pure heaven!). Good luck on your marathon tomorrow!!

Leave a Reply

