Protein Packed (Vegan) Zucchini Walnut Brownies

I didn’t waste any times getting back in the kitchen. I had to take a placement test at the community college this morning. That way, I am able to take summer classes to get ahead. Four hours of bubbling in letters made me want to bake something.

I wasn’t sure to make. But then I decided on brownies. Brownies. Yep. That works for me. I put my Christmas socks on and got to work.

There’s zucchini in them…

And tofu…

And protein powder…

You still there? Good.

Protein Packed (Vegan) Zucchini Walnut Brownies

adapted from here

-1c oat bran (Oat flour would work too. I’m sure whole wheat flour would be fine.)

-1/3c protein powder (I used vanilla whey, so mine weren’t vegan. But if you use raw, pea, hemp, or any other plant based protein powder, then they will be vegan.)

-3/4tsp baking soda

-1/2tsp cinnamon

-1/3c cocoa powder

-1tsp vanilla extract

-1c silken tofu (I’m sure cottage cheese or greek yogurt would work instead. Of course, they wouldn’t be vegan though.)

-1/4c canned pumpkin

-1/2c maple syrup or agave (or a combo of both, like I did)

-1c shredded zucchini (about 1 medium zucchini)

-1 c walnuts, chopped

1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Grease an 8″x8″ pan. Set aside.

2. In a food processor or magic bullet, blend the tofu. It will end up being most of a 12.3oz box of silken tofu. Leave it aside.

3. In a bowl, combine the dry ingredients (oat bran, protein powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and cocoa powder). Mix it on up.

4. Add the wet (vanilla extract, tofu, pumpkin, maple syrup/agave). Mix till combined with the dry.

5. Mix in the shredded zucchini and chopped walnuts.

6. Pour into prepared pan. 

7. Bake for 20 minutes. (But keep an eye on them because all ovens are different.)

These are dense yet light and uber duber fudgy. Plus there are veggies and lots of protein in them. Does it get any better than that?

23 thoughts on “Protein Packed (Vegan) Zucchini Walnut Brownies

  1. I love protein packed baked goods. This clearly would be right up my alley! I also love walnut brownies. It’s been far too long since I’ve had one!

  2. dude this is EPIC! I never would have thought to put zucchini or tofu or protein powder into a brownie….you are a genius. I can’t wait to try making these, it seems like the perfect snack for when I have a mad chocolate craving lol!

  3. Pingback: i like to ramble | Health Freak College Girl

  4. Oh my gosh, I’ve had that protein powder before. The flavor is INCREDIBLE!!! 😀 But sadly whey makes my face breakout (acne), so I don’t eat dairy any more. 😦 But your bread sounds SO good!

  5. Pingback: thursday’s thirteen | Health Freak College Girl

  6. Pingback: how to spend all your money on school books (which you will probably never read) | Health Freak College Girl

  7. At first I was a little hesitant, the ingredients had me questioning, but you sold me at the end! ha These sound really good actually, can’t wait to give them a try! They’ll be a perfect between classes treat! 🙂

    P.S. I have that same protein, but in chocolate! Gotta love Costco sizes!!! 🙂

  8. Pingback: Sweetly Fit

  9. Pingback: Sweetly Fit

Leave a Reply

