WIAW – on the road edition

It’s Wednesday babyyyy. And I’m home babyyyy. Since it’s Wednesday, you know what that means…

Pre-Breakfast Snack

We hit the road at 6 this morning. Since we wanted to get home as soon as possible, my roommate was going to bring some Cliff bars for our breakfast. Well an hour into the drive and I found out she forgot them. Perfect. Instead, I had some prunes and carrots. That’s why it’s called a “pre-breakfast snack” because there is no way that counts for a breakfast.

Breakfast

About three hours in, we stopped at a gas station to fill up. Then we stopped at Starbucks to get some real-ish food.

-Chocolate banana protein smoothie

-Fruit and Nut Kind bar

I didn’t snap a picture because I had to keep my eyes on the road!

Lunch

We made it to LA around 1pm. And I was starvinggg. So once I dropped my roommate off, I went to Yogurtland for some frozen yogurt.

tart frozen yogurt, banana, blueberries, and walnuts

Then a half hour after that I saw a Whole Foods. So I made a stop. I mainly wanted the roasted tofu but they didn’t have any! Grrr. So I got other goods instead.

roasted veggies, tofu fajitas, sweet potato almond pancake

Oh my goodness. That sweet potato almond pancake thingy was too good for words. I must recreate it…or just find a copy-cat recipe online. There was sweet potatoes, almonds, raisins, and eggs in it. And maybe a little magic. That’s all I know though.

Snacks

When I got home, I was first welcomed by my little kitty (who hocked up a hairball). Then, I had one of the best pears ever.

Then I had a banana and peanut butter. Cause…you know. I haven’t had one in like 10 hours.

And catching up on House for a little bit, I found blueberries in the fridge. Score!

Dinner

My mom said I could choose dinner tonight and since I’m so indecisive, I had no idea what to choose. After thinking about it, I decided that I wanted soup. Soupppp! Luckily my mom had all the ingredients for mushroom barley soup and that is exactly what sounded good. In addition to the soup, she also made a root vegetable gratin. Basically it was sweet potatoes, rutabaga, and parsnips sliced super thin, layered up, and topped with whole wheat bread crumbs. Easy and delicious.

 

After dinner, I needed to reunite with my best friend! Reunited and it feels so good. Luckily, she likes healthy food to so we went to Mothers Market to get some groceries. (P.S. If you are ever in Orange County, you must must must go to Mothers Market. It is my favorite store ever. Plus, they have a restaurant and juice bar. Heck yes.)

My haul:

-Erewhon Crispy Brown Rice Cereal (I’ve never had this before but I had a free coupon)

-Green Valley Organic Plain Keifer

-Udi’s Cinnamon Raisin Bagels (a pre-race must)

-Annie’s Lite Gingerfly Dressing

-Silken Tofu

-Spicy Veggie Tempeh

-Daiya Mozzarella Style Shreds

-Organic Sprouted Tofu

-Pumpkin Seeds

-Pistachios

-Sunflower Seeds

-Tofu Shirataki Noodles

-Cedar’s Artichoke Spinach Hummus (had a free coupon)

Woooooot. Super stoked on my loot. I’m ready to get back into the kitchen and make the delicious food I have been seeing online. Plus, I love baking bread and I haven’t baked any in too long. Too too long, my friends.

Have a wonderful Wednesday! And since I haven’t showed you guys my recent pins lately, here are a few 🙂

21 thoughts on “WIAW – on the road edition

  1. MMM such a yummy fruit filled day! And mom-made soups are TOTALLY the best. AND you got froyo and epic groceries…could this day get any better for you!! 😀 loving all the pins too, especially that puppy, I want it! And the one about the test…oh my goodness, STORY OF MY LIFE hahahaha.

    • kefir is a fermented milk. i know that sounds gross but it’s not! it tastes like a not so thick greek yogurt. it’s good to drink plain or added into soups. and then tofu shirataki noodles are noodles made out of tofu. they are a little slimy and i wasn’t a fan at first, but now i love them.

      and whole foods along the highway?? heck yes! we should totally start that 🙂

Leave a Reply

