dear mom

Dear Mom,

I don’t know how you do it. Every time I call you crying, you always know the right thing to say. I don’t know if you realize it, but you do. You are the strongest person I know. You  always keep such a brave face. I know that if I need help with anything, you will be there.

This hasn’t been the easiest year for any of us, but you have somehow managed to only get stronger. You know when I’m sad. You know every little thing about me. It still amazes me every time we talk on the phone and you know how I’m feeling, only by the sound of my voice. One day, I hope to be able to do that with my kids.

The other night, when we talked on the phone, I hung up crying. Sure, I was crying before because of what I talked to you about. But I couldn’t stop crying once we hung up. Why? Because you amaze me. “I will fly up there right now if you need me to.” Who else would drop everything to be by my side? Not many people. “Call anytime. I don’t care if it’s in the middle of the night. I will be here.” But the part that touched me the most was when you said, “I love you…lots.” You have never said that before. You have always said “I love you,” and there is no denying that. It was not only the “lots” part added to the end, but also your tone. Thank you for that.

Hopefully I won’t need to call you in the middle of the night or have you take a redeye flight to see me. But I know that if a situation were to arise, you would be there.

One day, I hope to be half as good a mother as you are. Thank you for everything. I love you more than words can ever express.

Love,

Haley

12 thoughts on “dear mom

  1. Oh my goodness. Reading this made me actually tear up! I’m so glad you have such a wonderful relationship with your momma, I feel the same way about mine. You just can’t beat a mom hug or a mom pep talk. 🙂

  2. this is really beautiful – I hope your mom reads your blog! I bet this would make her cry (in a good way!)! you are definitely SO lucky to have a mom like that – my mom is selfless like that and I can’t imagine how she does it – I’ll be lucky if I end up half the mom she is lol!

    hope you’re doing ok too!! ❤

  3. I love this. I totally know how you feel. My mom is really close to me too. I remember my freshmen year of college, my best friend and I were hanging out in my boyfriends room, and we both just like started talking about how much we loved our moms and we started tearing up, so we called our moms. Hahah. My mom was like are you drunk again? but then she was like just kidding I love you too.

Leave a Reply

