my week home

Well I’m back at school. That means back to homework, waking up early, and dining hall food. It was amazing being home. I wish I was still there but just three more weeks and I will be home for Christmas break! I’ll give you guys a run down of how my week was. Let’s just say, it was filled with lots of good food, love, and laughter.

Wednesday

I already talked about some of my Wednesday in this post. But it was filled baking these cookies

And good food…After going to lunch with my friend, I was superrr tired. So tired, that I took a four hour nap. Four hours. Where did that come from??

My mom was going to make soup for dinner but she didn’t have some of the ingredients. So I made myself a tempeh, hummus, and avocado sandwich with grapes on the side.

Afterwards, I was going to see Breaking Dawn with my friend, but there was a change of plans. So instead, I watched House with my parents and sister. This may sound weird, but one of my favorite things to do is watch TV with my family.

Since I wasn’t tired my sister and I stayed up and watched a rerun of the CMAs. I had the urge to make something so that’s exactly what I did.

I made the Espresso Pumpkin Spiced Walnuts from Elle’s New England Kitchen. The only difference I did to the recipe was using agave instead of the sugar and water. They turned out really good! They didn’t get hardened like they should have but that’s because I used agave. Definitely a go back. I had these on top of some oatmeal and I died a little inside. Enough said.

Thursday (Thanksgiving)

I woke up early to get to the Turkey Trot. I decided to run to the start line (partly to get some more mileage, partly to skip out on the parking). Before leaving, I had a mint chocolate Clif bar.

To the start line:

3.21 miles – 24:48 min – 7:43 min/mile average pace

I arrived at the race about 5 minutes before the 10k started. So I got in the huge line and waited. Once it was time to go, I was ready to get moving again. I have run the course before so I knew what to expect and how it looked.

6.09 miles –  48:32 min – 7:58 min/mile average pace

Once I finished this race, I wasn’t sure if I was going to run the 5k or not. Then I saw my high school’s basketball team so I stuck around to talk to them. They were running/walking the 5k so I figured I would do it too. There were tons of people but it was fun as usual. People on the side cheering us on. Gotta love it.

3.14 miles – 25:13 min – 8:02 min/mile average pace

After this, I didn’t hang around at any of the booths. I just wanted to get home! So I made the run back…slowly but surely.

3.09 miles – 28:00 min – 9:04 min/mile average pace

Total : 15.53 miles

Overall, they were great races. Luckily, the weather was amazing. Not too hot, not too cold. Just right. Here are some pictures from the course (I took these pictures on my run Saturday…not on the actual race day).

When I got home, I stretched while watching some House (I love that show). Then I showered to get the wonderful smell off of me. But I returned again for some more House afterwards. Then around 2, it was time to help my momma get ready for people to come over. Once 3 o’clock rolled around, it was party time! It was so much fun seeing all of my family. I haven’t seen them since the summer so it was fun catching up. My brother, brother’s girlfriend, cousins, aunts, uncles, grandma, and grandpa, and friends all were there. So it was a packed house.

At around 4:30, it was time to get my grub on! I didn’t take any pictures because I didn’t want any questions to be asked. There was lots of delicious food, and my mom was amazing (as usual) and made me some healthier things.

We first started out with a zucchini soup which was so good. The recipe was from Food and Wine. Healthy and delicious…just the way I like it 🙂 Then it was time for the main event:

-Turkey

-Gravy

-2 types of stuffing: cornbread and wild rice

-Candied sweet potatoes

-Brussels sprouts with bacon

-Rolls

-Mashed Potatoes

-Cranberries

My plate had the following:

-Quinoa stuffed kabocha squash

-Steamed brussels sprouts

-Sautéed green beans

-Roasted sweet potatoes

-Cauliflower/Leek puree <–This is seriously the most delicious and easiest recipe ever. When my dad and sister were doing the Atkins diet (DON’T EVER DO IT! PLEASE!) there was a recipe for this. The original called for cream. Well my mom healthified it and didn’t add any cream. It turned out amazing. All she did was steam leeks and cauliflower, add some salt and pepper, and then puree it. Easy peasy.

It all tasted so good. I’ve missed home cooked meals. Then it was time for dessert. There was pecan pie, pumpkin pie, See’s candy, and chocolate cupcakes (a la my brother’s girlfriend). I had a piece of dark chocolate almond from the See’s candy box but the best part was…

Pumpkin pie with a meringue crust. I die. My grandma makes it every year because she knows I love it so much. I wish I had the recipe to share, but it is hidden somewhere deep in my mom’s recipe book. I ate about half of this pie (you think I’m kidding?).

My mom also had a cheese plate out for dessert. I don’t like cheese but these crackers….I died….again.

I then asked my sister to take my blood pressure (because she in school for nursing). So of course, my brother had to get in on it. 

He is being fed mashed potatoes while getting his blood pressure taken to see how it changes….gotta love the family.

So overall, Thanksgiving was amazing. I love spending time with my family. There is nothing else I would rather be doing. Once some of the people left, my sister and I decided to do some bonding over the iPad…

Friday

My sister was kind enough to go with me to some Black Friday shopping. I told her to be ready to leave at 3:30am and she was okay with that. Score.

The first store we hit up was Target. I wanted some moccasins and then my brother wanted a pink hand mixer for his girlfriend.

moccasins – $12 (originally $20)

Next up, Old Navy.

sweater – $15 (originally $35)

Afterwards, we went to Dicks Sporting Goods. This was the place I was most stoked for because I was going to get new running shoes. Nike Free Runs never go on sale, so the fact that they were $15 dollars cheaper was a big deal (to me, at least).

the shoelaces look red but they are actually pink

Nike Free Runs – $80 (originally $95)

My sister wanted to stop at the mall to go to another Old Navy and see if they had the socks she wanted. Yes…socks. While there, I got a pair of my most favoritest jeans of all time.

Black jeans – $20 (originally $35)

The Forever 21 at our mall moved into a new space and ohmygosh it’s huge! Two stories of pure awesomeness. I got some stuff…even though they weren’t on sale.

Earrings – $2.80

Nail Polish – $2.80

We ended up getting home around 6:30am so I headed straight for bed. After about 4 hours of sleep, I got up, ate some leftovers, and proceeded to sit on the couch for most of the day. I watched American Horror Story. Do you guys watch that show? My brother was telling me about it so I decided to give it a chance. Ohmygosh this show is so twisted and addicting! Totally different and out there but I thought it was really good.

I finally decided to get my butt of the couch and get my ears pierced! It only took 18 years but I finally got them done 🙂 

My parents came home around 5pm with my new car! Weeeoooo! Right now, I have a 2006 Volkswagen Passat and even though I love it, it just isn’t reliable. If it weren’t for the warranty, we would have had to pay so much in repairs. So now this is my new baby:

2007 acura rdx

(This isn’t the exact one…I got this picture from online.)

I took it for a test drive and I am in love.

After the test drive, I made some dinner. I have been craving spaghetti squash so you better believe I had that for dinner!

spaghetti squash, marinara sauce, tempeh, green beans, brussels sprouts, onion, avocado

Saturday

My best friend and I made plans to go to breakfast at one of our favorite spots: Cafe Zinc. But when we got there, the line was super long and my friend had to get to work. So instead we decided to go to the Laguna Beach Farmers Market which was going on down the street.

It was a good choice because I found these bad boys:

pumpkin spiced almonds

Then I also got some hummus…at least I thought it was hummus. I got home and was enjoying it with some carrots when I saw the ingredient list: garlic, sundried tomatoes, basil, lemon juice, olive oil, spices. No garbanzo beans! Oh well. It’s still tasty.

When I got home, I decided to cook some goodies.

pumpkin protein bars

I used Jamie Eason’s recipe like last time. I packaged them up to bring back to school with me. The only things I did different to this recipe was: NuNunaturals Baking Blend instead of brown sugar blend, extra pumpkin instead of applesauce, and oat bran instead of oat flour.

applesauce

Homemade applesauce is super easy to make. Peel and dice about 7 apples (I used red delicious). Put into a pan with about 1/2 c water. Make the heat as low as possible and cook them low and slow. When the apples are softened, add cinnamon and lemon juice. The lemon juice helps keep it fresh. Then mash the apples to desired consistency.

Then we got a call from my dad. The new car…my new baby…got into an accident. My dad is okay (thank goodness) but the car wasn’t so lucky. It was a hit and run involving about 4 cars. It had to be totaled to a shop but it can be saved!

I decided it was finally time to get my butt moving so I made my way to the harbor to run and do some stairs. I ran the same route as the Turkey Trot, just cut a little. After running, I ran up and down some stairs….these are death. After about 10 minutes, your legs will shake for the rest of the day.

view from the bottom of the stairs...

view from the top of the stairs...

When I got home, my mom and I talked about my class schedule for next semester. It’s so stressful! Then my aunt came over for some Thanksgiving leftovers. This is kind of what my plate looked like on Thursday…

quinoa and kabocha, steamed brussels sprouts, roasted sweet potato, steamed green beans, cauliflower/leek puree

It was fun seeing my aunt. We always have fun when she’s around. She’s the crazy aunt that everybody has 😉

Today

I got up at the crack of dawn this morning: 3:45am! What the heck?? We had to drop my sister off at the LA airport and then drop me off at the Long Beach airport. My flight left at 6:50am and I got there around 6am.

I landed in Oakland where it was freezing cold. Gotta get used to that again. On my way back to school, I stopped at Trader Joes because I was all out of peanut butter.

Do you see what I see? Cocoa almond spread! Thank you Trader Joes for making my day.

Then I decided to stop at another store to get myself a kombucha…hey, I deserve something for waking up so early! When I got to the checkout, the cashier asked, “Are you 21?” “No…” I said. “Oh. You have to be 21 to buy this.” What the flip?? Since when?? I know there is a little alcohol in kombucha but it’s like .01%. So let’s just say I left the store a little pissed.

And now I’m back in the dorm…and it’s super quiet. The campus is basically empty. It’s probably a good time to do homework. Blahhh.

 

Wow. I just noticed that this is a super long post. I’m sure you guys are thinking, “Why the heck do I want to hear about this girl’s week?” Well I already typed this post so I’m going to publish it gosh darn it!

How was your guy’s week? 

20 thoughts on “my week home

  1. Congrats on the new car and thank goodness your dad was okay after that wreck! Yikes!! Looks like you guys had an absolutely incredible thanksgiving with your family 🙂 Christmas break will be here before we know it!
    Ps– you and your sister are adorable haha

  2. That sucks that the new car was wrecked right away… but it’s great that you A) have a nice car still! and B) it can be fixed! My first car was awful, super cheap (all I could afford!) and broke down every 3 days or so… then I moved onto scooters/ motorcycles.. much more fun!

  3. That sounds like an amazing time at home! I love just chilling and watching tv with my family too. There’s something so comforting about it. 🙂

    Oh my gosh I can’t believe you went shopping so early (late?)!!! But you definitely scored some amazing deals. I love those moccasins!

    My weekend was good! I went home and just chilled with my family, did some shopping, and baked. It was pretty similar to yours actually. 😀

  4. Sounds like you had an awesome time! 🙂 Yeah, it does suck to go back to school after a great holiday, but life’s like that… At least, that’s what I tell myself. Hey, at least your runs and eats were good! 😀

    • nope i’m not vegan. i don’t like turkey but i do eat chicken. plus i’m lactose intolerant. and my dinner was actually really tasty!

  5. Haha,sounds like you had a great time at home! 😀
    Your moccasins are so lovely and YAY for getting your ears pierced! I’m so glad I got mine pierced when I was six,I bet I wouldn’t have the heart to do it today! 😛
    Ooooh,and your sister is going to be a nurse? That’s great,I want to do that,too! 🙂

  6. NICE turkey day run!! that’s pretty darn epic you ran both races and to and from….definitely earned your feasting rights there! and ummm “quinoa stuffed kabocha squash”?? oh. my. goodness. that’s like two of my favorite things combined!

    and YAY for the ear piercing!! I got mine done last Thanksgiving – my mom and I went together! I have my cartilage pierced too, and I think I want to get a few more cartilage piercings this holiday season lol.

    I’m so sorry about the Kombucha – HATE when that happens!! There are a couple places around where I live that also card you for Kombucha….I didn’t discover it till this summer so I thank my lucky stars every time I buy it that I’m over 21. But they do still card me. hahaha.

    Glad you had such a fantastic thanksgiving day break with your family!! Hang in there through final exams, you’ll be back before ya know it! 😀

  7. Holy moly!! What a trip! Your running on the day of the Turkey Trot is beyond impressive. Great job! So awesome on the new car, but poooopy that it was hit! I hope it is back to brand new.

  8. Sounds like you had a fabulous Thanksgiving week at home! So glad I came across your blog, I love finding other healthy food/living blogs and yours is such a pleasure to read! New follower! xoxo

  9. I love your new car and I’m glad it can be fixed! I really just want any car at this point since I don’t have one of my own haha!

    I was too scared to go out shopping on Black Friday but my family and I spent a whole day shopping on Wednesday and scored some pretty good deals!

    I only got my ears pierced when I was 11 but they got infected 6 months later and I haven’t gotten them repierced since!

  10. I have an acura too, you are going to LOVE it!! 🙂 Congrats on the new set of wheels..how exciting! And you ears pierced?? Wow! What a week haha. Now you get to put on lots of cute earrings.

    You are your sis are adorable – you look so much alike! And all your scenery is beautiful – I love california! I cant wait to move there!

  11. It looks like you had a really fun week. I’m mixed on how I’ll feel about going home when I finally go off to college. I need to get out of my house like you have no idea.
    Target is the best. and that pumpkin pie…! I died just looking at the picture.

  12. Pingback: random much? | Health Freak College Girl

Leave a Reply

