facing fear foods: peanut butter

Happy Black Friday everyone! I hope all of you that went shopping are rested up and are now eating some good leftovers. My Thanksgiving was good, and yes, I woke up at the crack of dawn to go shopping. But I’m sure most all blogs are talking about Thanksgiving so I will save that for another day.

With an ED, there are many fear foods that stop people from eating certain foods. I had many and not gonna lie, I still have a few. I am going to start a new series of posts that pinpoints a fear food. I will then try to help you not be so afraid of those foods. That really, they can be good for you. So if you have any fear foods that you would like help overcoming, feel free to leave a comment and I’ll focus on it for a week. As for my fear foods, I still have a few: butter, cream, cheese, white flour, white rice, white potatoes. That list has dwindled down immensely.

For this week’s fear food, I am going to focus on peanut butter.

My dad has always been a peanut butter lover. He would gladly dip a spoon into the jar and snack away. So it’s no surprise that I feel the same way about peanut butter. In about 8th grade, I used to eat PB&J sandwiches like it was my job. There was even one weekend where I tried to eat as many as I could. I think I got to 8. Then a couple of months later, I learned about hydrogenated oils. That’s when my mom switched over to natural peanut butter.

The Fear

In 9th and 10th grade, I still ate PB&J sandwiches every once in awhile. Then I started to read nutrition labels, health magazine, and weight loss sites. All of those said one thing: eat less fat. Well, peanut butter has a lot of fat, so I better not eat that anymore. Peanut butter was non-existent in my diet. The only time I ate it was if I didn’t have any sort of fat for breakfast, snack, or lunch. So if I didn’t eat any fats, I wouldn’t get fat…right?

The Truth about Fats

Fats are vital to live. They help protect your brain, nerves, and bones. There are many types out there. Some types of fat (mono-unsaturated, omega-3s, and omega-6s) actually help prevent heart disease. These can be found in nuts, flax, fish, chia seeds.

Peanut Butter Nutrition

So is peanut butter healthy? Heck yes it is. Peanuts contain a good source of protein, meaning it is perfect for vegans and vegetarians. They also contain nutrients such as iron, calcium, vitamin E, and fiber. They also contain an enzyme (coenzyme 10) which protects the heart when there is a lack of oxygen (i.e. high altitudes or working out).

Proof

There are so many healthy living bloggers that promote eating healthy fats. And guess what? They aren’t overweight. They are healthy and strong. When I wasn’t eating any fats, my energy level was nonexistent. Since adding fats, I have felt so much more energized. That energy allows me to go to school everyday, hang out with friends, and run marathons.

So now that peanut butter is okay to eat, what do I do with it?

There are a world of possibilities! Banana and peanut butter is my go-to choice. I’m pretty sure I ate 6 in one day…

You can also put it on some rice cakes. I know, I know. “Aren’t rice cakes diet foods?” Yeah, they are if you eat them straight out of the bag. But not when you slather them with peanut butter and jelly. 

And then there is the wonderful peanut butter and jelly sandwich (with bananas if you so desire). 

Or you can put it on top of some oatmeal.

empty peanut butter jar = not good news

 

Day 12 of the 30 day photo challenge…

Hands. They allows me to eat lots and lots of peanut butter.

 

Now if you’ll excuse me, I will eating peanut butter (with my hands) and cuddling with my cat.

Do you like peanut butter?

What fear foods do you have?

28 thoughts on “facing fear foods: peanut butter

  1. I looovveee pb! I was also following the “no fat” trend as well as the “no carbs” trend in my E.D days. My fear foods were (<- yay! lol) white bread and sugar. I'm not so much "scared" of the white bread anymore, I just don't like how processed it is, but I know I wouldn't die if I had to eat it! Kudos to you for overcoming these fears and helping others understand they shouldn't have fears either 🙂

    • i totally know what you mean about not wanting to eat the processed white bread. i’m okay eating things like organic white bread. but when it comes to conventional bread, i just don’t want to eat them for the processed stuff.

      and yay for not following those trends anymore!

  2. Peanut butter is my favorite food EVER – along with other nur butters,of course! 😛
    It has been a fear food of mine for such a long time,too,and I therefore deprived myself of it for ages… I am so glad I am able to enjoy it again now as I’ve really,really missed it the whole time through! 🙂
    My “worst” fear foods are also white bread / white flour and sugar. Although the sugar-thing has gotten a bit better by now,white flour or bread are very “challenging” foods for me. :/

  3. I’ve never been a huge fan of peanut butter, ’cause my family only ate the hydrogenated kind which was super sweet and stuck to the roof of my mouth; but ever since switching to all-natural, I’m liking it a lot more!

  4. I should be a member of PB addicts anonymous. I love that stuff. Peanut butter and banana is by far the best way to eat it! Peanut Butter never really was a fear food of mine (I guess the love is too strong?) I think I stopped eating it when I was really bad with my eating disorder, but I literally only ate turkey, apples, and broccoli during that phase. It was one of the first foods brought back and I didn’t think twice about it!

  5. Oh how I adore peanut butter! I can’t imagine life without it’s delicious versatility haha
    During my ED days, butter and pretty much all carbs were fear foods for me. I still tend to veer from butter, but it’s a work in progress 😉
    Have a great weekend girl!

  6. I LOVE NUT BUTTERS!!! they are my fave. I go through about a jar every five days, I’m not even kidding. I used to be afraid of it too, but the fact of the matter is…we women need 30% of our calories to come from fat for optimal energy and uh womenly function!! After getting my fat intake up this past summer I feel SOOOO much better!!!!!! and my fave way to eat it is heaped on cinnamon raisin toast 🙂

    I still have some fear foods too. namely, pasta, pizza, brownies, chips, mexican food…wow, I actually have a LOT of fear foods. I guess it’s an improvement from fearing food in general though right?

  7. I love peanut butter. I suffer from peanut butter withdrawl if I don’t have some in a day. It has to be the best thing ever. I’m glad you’re back to eating it again.

    I have a lot of fear foods and I’ve never actually called them that before. Basically anything with sugar and fats.
    Except peanut butter, for some reason I’m ok with it. Maybe because I love it so much!

  8. I absolutely love peanut butter! Like you, I went through a time where it was not allowed in my diet, but recently I have overcome that notion. Now I include it in meals in moderation and it’s great! Btw, love your blog!!

  9. I don’t know if I really have any fear foods… but I loved this post! I guess I have a lot of friends who don’t eat certain things because they think they’re bad for them, but really aren’t. I’ll have to share some of your fear food posts with them!

  10. Peanut butter used to be a huge fear food for me BECAUSE I loved it so much. It tastes so delicious that I was afraid it would be too easy to eat tons of calories worth of pb without even trying, so I figured it was better to avoid it altogether! Now that I’m in recovery, peanut butter makes up a pretty significant percentage of my daily calories and I actually don’t know what I’d do without it! Good fat, protein, etc. Yum!

  11. This is a great idea for a series of posts! SPREAD THE PEANUT BUTTAH LOVE HONEY! 😛 haha. I love peanut butter. I’ve tried to stay away from eating nuts before because they’re so fattening (not anymore though) but NEVER peanut butter. Never in a million years could you pry a peanut butter jar from my hands, or tell me it’s unhealthy. It’s good for the soul 😉

  12. I’m not a fan of peanut butter but I love almond butter! I’d still say it’s a fear food of mine because I usually only eat a teaspoon or 2 of it per day. My other fear foods are full fat and low fat dairy including butter and cheese, processed foods and chocolate, but I’m working on that last one because I love the taste of dark chocolate!

  13. I totally get you with that wanting to eat “less fat.” It’s what we hear from the media and magazines and stuff. I’ve learned the hard way. But now I know that fats are essential. I’ve been working to eat more fats in my diet- – I feel so much better when I do! 🙂

    Awww, enjoy cuddling with your kitty and eating peanut butter!!!

  14. PB makes my life complete! I seriously eat it every.single.day! My fav source of healthy fats. I don’t know if I have any specific fear foods (other than fair style food..but that’s more just disgust than fear) but I do have fear “days” where I worry about eating anything! Those are far and few between thank goodness!

Leave a Reply

