wiaw {home edition}

Home sweet home! If I haven’t said it enough, I am home πŸ™‚ But before I get to how it is being home, I got received a package from Tara! We did a food swap so I was excited to see what products an (amazing) cross country athlete likes to eat. She wrote this super sweet note:Β 

And yesss, Tara, when you are in California, let me know!

-Annie’s Bunny Graham and Cheddar Bunnies

-Late July Mini Peanut Butter Sandwich Crackers

-Barabara’s Oatmeal Snackimals

-Zico’s Chocolate Coconut Water <–Ohmygosh I love this stuff! And I just finished my last bottle that morning.

-Love Grown Raisin Almond Crunch Granola <–I was so excited when I saw this. So excited actually that I ripped it open right away. I’ve tried Love Grown before but they don’t sell it anywhere near me so this made my day week.

-Chocolate Chip Cherry Torte Larabar

-Nugo Dark Chocolate Pretzel with Sea Salt <–Pretzel + Chocolate = heck yes

-Honey Stinger Waffles – Honey and Vanilla

-Vosges Chocolate – Habana and Gingerbread Toffee

-Trader Joes Omega 3 Trex Mix

-Cascadian Farm Oatmeal Raisin Granola Bar

Tara, you’re amazing. Thank you so much for all these amazing new products!

 

I landed in Orange County at 5:30pm and was welcomed by my Mom. I missed her πŸ™‚ She knew I would be hungry so she asked where I wanted to go to eat. After much contemplation, I decided on Native Foods. I got the Garden Pizza and it was delicioussss.Β I ate in the car because I was uber hungry.

Then I made it home and it was amazing. I was greeted by my dog and then my dad, who gave me a huge hug. Just what I needed. And then I saw my cat! Ahhhhh!

she's a bad kitty on the counter

Then I saw this on the counter: Pumpkin hand soap. My mom has some good taste.

My sister recommended we go to Yogurtland for some frozen yogurt and I was all for it. They had chocolate hazelnut flavor! I died.

While I was enjoying my frozen yogurt, I looked up to see my best friend standing there. My best friend! Apparently my sister and her planned it out. So it was a happy reunion πŸ™‚

After enjoying our frozen yogurt, my friend showed me her new car and then we decided to head over to her house to watch the Taylor Swift Speak Now DVD. We’re both huge T-Swift fans πŸ™‚

Okay. Now to the WIAW part:

Breakfast:

Breakfast was really random and spread out. When I woke up, my mom needed to go to Trader Joes and the market for some last minute Thanksgiving goods so my sister and I tagged along. I ate a banana from Trader Joes and then a Gala apple from the market.

When I got home, I roasted some brussels sprouts. While those were roasting, I ate:

carrots dipped in mashed avocado, lime juice, salt, pepper + strawberries

And then the brussels sprouts were ready.

it's like candy.

I was ready to get my bake on from the moment I stepped into the kitchen, so I made A Healthy Passion’s Pumpkin Ginger Cookies.Β 

The only thing I did differently was that I used canola oil instead of Earth Balance. They were, how do I say this? Fantastic! As my sister said, “I could eat this entire bowl of dough right now.” So we ate a lot of dough before finally baking them. They are really cake-like and I was really happy with how they turned out. The recipe’s a keeper!

Lunch

My best friend (the T-Swift fan) and I went to lunch at our favorite spot, The Stand. It’s a hippie-vegan-sort of place in Laguna Beach and I know I can always get some amazing food when I’m there.

tortilla soup

steamed vegetable bowl - brown rice, broccoli, red bell peppers, mushrooms, bean sprouts, shredded carrots, tamari sauce, and guacamole

I have no idea how, but this place has THE BEST brown rice and guacamole ever.

beautiful drive down PCH

I then requested we stop by a beach real quick so I could snap a picture.

Yeah. I’m glad to be home.

Dinner

I haven’t had dinner yet but my mom said it’s going to be tomato soup πŸ™‚ I’ll probably have it with a hummus sandwich or something. Perfection.

Later tonight, my best friend and I are going to see Breaking Dawn. Weeee! So excited to see it. About half of the world (exaggeration?) has already seen so I’m excited to jump on the bandwagon. I’ll probably also get some frozen yogurt tonight. Ohh yeah.

 

Day 11 of the 30 day photo challenge…

Something old: my dog, Lucky. He’s not even that old, really. He’s about 6 but he had a hard past. Story time. In Tennessee, a lady was driving down the road when she saw a puppy laying in the snow. She brought him to the vet (where my godmother works) and they said he was almost frozen. So they put him on a warming table for a couple of days. He was finally able to pull through but ever since then, he has been a little slower than most dogs. Take him on a walk for 5 minutes, and he’s pooped for the rest of the day. But we love him. And wouldn’t trade him for any other dog.

 

Anybody planning on running a Turkey Trot tomorrow??

17 thoughts on “wiaw {home edition}

  1. You mentioned in an earlier post that once you got home for Thanksgiving you were going to cook up a storm! Hope you have a wonderful break with the family and friends.

    Happy Thanksgiving.

  2. Yay have fun at home my friend!! πŸ˜€ All the eats look fab and that’s one heck of a goodie swap package, you’re set with some great munchies!
    Hope your thanksgiving is beyond amazing, enjoy your much deserved break πŸ™‚

  3. awwww- your dog is so cute but that story is so sad! 😦 He is indeed Lucky πŸ˜€
    Isn’t it great to just be at home again?!? I go to the communty college so I live at home, but I don’t feel like it because I”m constantly running around, so to finally sit down and be with the family is so nice.

    Have a great Thanksgiving tomorrow!

  4. What an amazing package of goodies! So jealous. Snackimals are addicting! I just finally tried the oatmeal flavor the other day and fell in love.
    Those cookies look amazing! I definitely need to try them.
    I hope you’re enjoying the time with your family. (:

  5. Pingback: my week home | Health Freak College Girl

Leave a Reply

