when i grow up

I have dreams. Big dreams. Growing up, I went through so many fazes of what I wanted to be and what I wanted to do. Basically, up until 6th grade, I wanted to be whatever my sister wanted to be. Here are some examples:

Haircut person (Because that’s totally the name of them. Right?)

Teacher

they would totally get an A+

Vet

it's so fluffy i'm gonna die

And then middle school came and I wanted to do my own thing:

Professional soccer player

mia hamm=my idol

physical therapist

chiropractor

 

And now:

NutritionistΒ There are actually a few routes I would like to take with this. I would like to help those trying to lose weight. I could help them get on a meal plan and exercise routine that would make them feel good about themselves without feeling like they’re actually on a diet. Then on the other side, I would also like to help those in recovery from an eating disorder. Such as maybe working in a clinic to help make a meal plan for the patients.

I know. I know. These are total opposites but I have a passion for both. Or, I could just have my own business that has consulting with people who want to be healthier in general. But either way, I want to help people become happy and healthy.Β 

Then I have bigger dreams. Far off dreams that I would love to happen one day. One of those dreams is to open my own restaurant. A healthy restaurant, of course. Where there is also a bakery attached to it. Or I would love owning just a bakery. I love baking bread so making it for a living would be amazing.

I would also want to one day present a bill to Congress. It would be about the food industry or nutrition and food labels. But whatever it’s about, I would just one day love to stand in front of Congress and tell them about something that I am passionate about.

I’m only a freshman in college but I know that this is the direction that I want to take. Right now, I am majoring in Kinesiology and minoring in Psychology. After the four (or so) years here, I would like to move onto the nutrition program at the University of Washington.

Over this past year, I have grown so much emotionally. Because of that, I have found my passion and I cannot wait to help people. It makes my day whenever I get comments or emails from readers, telling me how much I have helped them. Whether it has to do with eating disorders, depression, food, or fitness, my day is made when those comments come my way. It just reinforces what I want to do with my life.

Day 6 of the 30 day photo challenge:

Books. Gotta love them. Let’s see…I have a computer science, biology, some english, and a philosophy book. Try to contain your excitement.

Question: What do (did) you want to be when you grow up?Β 

20 thoughts on “when i grow up

  1. What a neat post! πŸ˜€ I wanted to be everything but my main ones were–ambulance driver, egyptologist, vet, paleontologist, and marine biologist (which is what I’m pursuing now heehee)

  2. I don’t think I can even remember all the things I wanted to be. But it’s cool to watch your progression, especially since you clearly took a turn towards the healthy life.

  3. When I was really little I wanted to be a Nobel prize winning scientist (hehe!). And for about the last 8 years I’ve wanted to be a lawyer (which is what I’m still planning to do now!).

    PS Love the vegetable-body picture. Super cool!

  4. Haley………………I went to school to be a meteorologist! I. Was an intern with the team that guided the first hot air balloon over the Atlantic Ocean. At the same time I was working as a produce Manager at a major Boston chain store………….I enjoyed selling mangoes more than predicting the weather (wx). You have been a total inspiration as I change my eating lifestyle! TY.

  5. Do you think that your ambition to be a nutritionist has something to do with the obsessive compulsive need for control that stems from EDs? Don’t get me wrong, I think your ambitions are really great and honorable, I’m just speculating with trends I see on HLBs (eating disordered–>passion for fitness/nutrition)

    P.S. I always wanted to be a teacher or a farmer

    • During my Freshman year of high school (long before the ED), I became really interested in nutrition. At this time, my sister was starting to lose weight. She was very overweight and was finally able to find a program to help her. She was able to lose 100 lbs and throughout her entire journey, I became more interested in health and nutrition. My mom started to make healthier meals and I noticed the effect that it had, not only on my sister, but on me as well. That’s really when my passion for nutrition began.
      Then ED hit and even though I still was interested in nutrition, it wasn’t as prominent as before. Now that I am recovering, I think my love of nutrition has grown even more.
      I think the ED has just made my passion for nutrition grow, but I don’t think it’s the main reason why I want to go into the health field. After seeing how happy and healthy my sister is now, it makes me want to help others who were like her.

  6. Hey,we’ve got a lot in common! I also want to help people become happy & healthy,but I don’t want to do the nutrtionist-thingie (I think so much about food and stuff anyways,I don’t want it to become an obligation of my job later). I want to be a nurse! During my fall break,I did a work experience and it was great,so I am really,really sure about it now. πŸ™‚
    By the way, I don’t think helping people to lose weight forms a contrast to helping people with an ED: In “my” ED clinic,there were anorexic,bulimic AND obese people,so not all of them had to gain or maintain their weight!

  7. I wanted to be a professional cheerleader, then I wanted to be Brittany Spears, then at some point I wanted to be a wedding planner or fashion designer, but now I want to be a professional runner and a coach… more likely a coach, but I still dream about going pro!

  8. omgoodness πŸ˜€ you sound SO much like me πŸ˜€ I want to help people, too πŸ˜€ My dietitian saved my life, so that’s why I am on my way to be an RD πŸ˜€ !!!!!!! I hope to specialize in eating disorders

  9. YAY! I used to want to be a nutritionist too! and for those exact reasons – my sports nutritionist helped me a TON, and I wanted to do that for others. You ARE an inspiration, and I think you’d make a fantastic R.D !!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    When I was little I wanted to be an olympic figure skater (like Michelle Kwan lol!) and a doctor. I guess not a lot has cchanged…now I want to be an olympic marathoner and a physical therapist! πŸ˜›

  10. I hope I never grow up! I wanted to teach the deaf, but ended up being a nurse…it was a great choice and opened a lot of doors for me.

    Nutrition is changing in todays world. It’s not just about eating to live, but it’s about eating to prevent and cure illness. Pick up a copy of Dr Campbell’s book “The China Study”. I think you’ll find it a good read for someone who wants to be a nutritionist.
    Good luck!

  11. I was possibly the weirdest 7 year old in the world – I wanted to be a zoologist! πŸ˜› Then I wanted to be an actress, then a lawyer, and then a doctor. And now a dietitian. Helping others to become healthy and happy is something I’m sooo passionate about. πŸ˜€

  12. Awe I love this post! You can be whatever you want to be girl! I think you’d do great in a job that has to do with nutrition..although be careful because anyone can call themself a “nutritionist.” You would probably want to be a registered dietician. Either way, find something you are passionate about and don’t stop until you achieve it!

  13. Great post. Also, that cat looks EXACTLY like mine. I hope you reach your goals! I’ve changed my life path a lot too.. But my career dreams have always focused on science, and have actually come in a complete circle. I wanted to be a rock collector when I was five, and now at 19 I’m currently on my way to being a real geologist (specialty undetermined).

  14. when I was a kid, I wanted to be a doctor or a nurse when I grow up. that’s why when I first entered college, I wanted to be a nurse but then I wanted to be a physician assistant. However, I grew to hate it and found a new love for nutritious and now I’m working toward my degree to become a dietitian. It’s funny how things work and falls into place. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

