mini cupcake maker to the rescue

So as I mentioned yesterday, I am beginning to do Jamie Elson’s 12-Week Trainer. During those 12 weeks, I will do lots of strength training. There is basically zero cardio but I am definitely going to find a way to fit some in….cause you know…I still have 21 before 21 to accomplish 😉

In addition to the workout plan, there is also a meal plan. I’m not going to follow that. I will look at it and take it from there. Since I was going to need to increase my protein, I headed off to the store…

-frozen berries – peach, blueberries, mixed berries (on sale: 2/$5)

-baking powder

-pumpkin pie spice (on sale)

-unsweetened vanilla almond milk x 2 (on sale)

-crunchy soy nut butter

-zico natural coconut water x 2 (on sale: $3.50 each)

-18 eggs

-annie’s lite gingerfly salad dressing (on sale)

-quaker unsalted rice cakes

-baking soda

-walnuts

-cocoa powder

-salsa

Quick question: Why is protein powder so expensive??? I was looking to buy some whey but I ended up leaving the store without because I didn’t want to drop a ton of money on a tiny tub. For now, I am going to use this protein powder that I have:

I got it for $18 awhile ago by the time the sale and coupons were added in.

While looking at the BodyBuilding website, I found this good looking recipe for pumpkin protein bars…and I really wanted to make them. There was one problem though. I don’t have an oven. My roommate had just bought a mini cupcake maker over the weekend, so a lightbulb went off in my head. I can use the cupcake maker to make the bars! Genius.

I had to make a few adjustments, so this is what my recipe was like. Plus, I halved it.

Adapted from here.

all the ingredients lined up

-1 small apple

-a few shakes cinnamon

-a splash of water

1. Take the skin off the apple and core. Throw those pieces away.

2. Cut up the inside and put into a bowl. Add a few shakes of cinnamon and a little bit of water.

3. Microwave in 30 second intervals. Check to see when it gets soft. Once soft, mush until it is like applesauce. Put into a large bowl.

-1 c oatmeal

4. Measure out the oatmeal and blend in magic bullet or food processor. (Of course, you can use oat flour. Go ahead and use 1 c of that.)

5. Put that into the bowl with the applesauce.

6. To that bowl, add the rest of the ingredients:

-1/4 c NuNaturals Baking Blend

-1 1/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice

-1/2 tsp baking soda

-1/2 tsp baking powder

-1 tsp vanilla extract

-2 egg whites

-1/2 a can of pumpkin (it would end up being 7.5 oz)

-1 scoop vanilla protein powder

-1/4 c almond milk

-1/4 c walnuts (optional…but I totally recommend it)

7. Mix it all up!

8. So the original recipe would call for baking these at 350 for 30 min. But i didn’t have an oven. Therefore….Add to mini cupcake maker.

9. And now, wait. It all depends on how much batter you put into each and how hot the cupcake maker is.

10. Continue until the batter is gone.

don't they look delicious?? i promise they actually are.

At first, I wasn’t sure about these. Then they cooled and I really liked them! It was a lot of work making these in a tiny dorm but they are totally worth it. A great snack with lots of protein is always welcome to me 🙂

I started the plan yesterday and, well…I’m already sore! I don’t know about you guys, but I love feeling sore. What’s sore, you ask? Oh you know…my triceps, shoulders, chest, and abs…so basically everything…no big.

And your funny picture of the day a la Pinterest:

Day 5 of the 30 day photo challenge…

Morning Sky. I took this picture before the US Half in San Francisco. It was too pretty to pass up.

Question: Do you ever have to improvise when it comes to recipes?

Do you like being sore?

16 thoughts on “mini cupcake maker to the rescue

  1. Dude those pumpkin bars are my faves, I added peanut flour to that recipe and my mouth literally caught on fire with happiness…it was epic haha 😉
    And that pinterest pic just totally made my day!! Too funny!!

  2. I improvise all the time otherwise it gets too expensive to go out and buy whatever is missing!
    Protein powder is expensive mine costs $30! You got a pretty good deal with the Raw Protein one you bought.
    Love the pumpkin protein bars 🙂

  3. pumpkin protein CUPCAKES! I love it! I’m a huge fan of resourceful cooking techniques – I’ve been known to make paninis in my waffle maker hahaha.

    Also, good luck with the Jamie Eason! I’ve seen that allllll over the blog world and I bet it will get you epically ripped! I think my coach would KILL me if I decided to try that haha but it definitely looks fun. And I have to say I’m glad you’re not following her eating plan to a tee…I took a look at that and um, I’m sorry, that’s the amount of calories a person needs ust to stay alive haha. But YES to the increased protein – you’re definitely going to feel strong and enerized from that! I find when I eat a lot of protein I have less injuries.

    And I always choose sore over sorry. I actually LOVE the feeling of being sore, ya know? 😀

  4. I LOVE those pumpkin protein bars!!! They’re fantastic and so easy to carry around just in case I get hungry in class. I’m so excited that you started Jamie Eason’s 12 week trainer! I know it’s scary the thought of giving up cardio but it’s totally worth it. I’ve completely given up cardio (except for HIIT sometimes) and it’s great. My body responds a lot better to weight lifting. It makes you feel so much stronger too! and yes, I love being sore too! It lets me know that I actually worked during my workout and then I feel like a beast 😉
    Protein powder is ridiculous. My dad buys a huge tub that usually lasts me 2 weeks for around $16 from the store. (I usually have a scoop and a half every day, and I use like 2 scoops for the protein pumpkin bars).
    Good luck with the program! I can’t wait to hear more about it. 😀

  5. Jamie Eason has some of the best protein filled recipes!

    I’ve never heard of Toad in a Hole but it sounds awesome. I love eggs!

  6. Pingback: my week home | Health Freak College Girl

Leave a Reply

