WIAW

It’s Wednesday, Wednesday, gotta get down on Wednesday. And since it’s Wednesday, you know what that means…Thanks once again to Jen for making Wednesdays not so suckie.

Today was the first day of my routine of adding more weights into my workout regimen. (Woo hoo for strength training!) That means I am upping my protein and eating more often…Not that I didn’t eat a lot before or anything 😉 I got the inspiration to do this program from Brittany. She has had a lot of success from it so I figured, what the hey! I’ll give it a try too. It’s Jamie Eason’s 12-week Trainer and I’m super excited for it 🙂 Phase 1…here we go.

Breakfast

I woke up this morning at the crack of dawn: 5:30am! The school gym opened at 6 so I wanted to get there early to skip out on all the people. While walking to the gym, I snacked on an unpictured orange.

What I Worked: elliptical warm up, chest/triceps, abs, bike cool down

I totally forgot how much I love weights! I did it a lot over the summer for basketball, but I just stopped once coming to school. It felt great to get back into it.

I had english at 8am so I headed off to class with the smoothie I made last night.

frozen blueberries, frozen banana, frozen pineapple, ground flaxseed, protein powder, spinach, and almond milk

smoothie and water

I ended up only drinking half of it because I had to do a group presentation. Nailed it. Obvi.

Once I came back to the dorm, I sat down for a little something more…

4 egg whites with salsa + frozen blueberries + sweet potato with flaxseed oil and a dollop of hummus

Lunch

lettuce, shredded carrots, kidney beans, black beans, bell peppers, mushrooms, annie's lite gingerfly dressing + brown rice

That was followed by…

banana with crunchy soynut butter

Snack

chocolate protein cake with a spoonful of pb

The recipe for the protein cake can be found over at Foods of April. But here it is:

-15g protein powder (~1/2 scoop)

-1 tbsp cocoa powder

-1/4 tsp baking powder

-2 packets stevia (or any sweetner) (I don’t use any)

-1 tbsp pumpkin or applesauce

-1 egg white

1. Mix all ingredients together.

2. Microwave for 1 min.

3. Eat it plain or top with pb (I highly recommend this.)

Dinner

lettuce, kidney beans, shredded carrots, mushrooms, annie's light gingerfly dressing + sauteed carrots + indian rice noodles

I also had an unpictured apple.

Since I got my workout of the way, I was able to shower and actually wear something besides workout clothes. My outfit today:

-sweater from Target

-skinny black jeans (rolled into capris) from Old Navy

-forest green Toms

__________________________________________________________________

In other news…

Award! Award! My mommy will be so proud 😉 Anywho, this is this is the first blogger award that I have won and it’s pretty exciting not gonna lie. I have gotten it from a couple of amazing people:

Brittany @ A Spoonful of Peanut Butter

Aja @ Writing and Recovering

Thanks guys 🙂

‘Liebster’ is German for ‘dearest’ or ‘beloved’ but it can also mean ‘favorite.’ The idea behind this award is to bring attention to blogs with fewer than 200 followers and show some support.
The rules of winning this award are as follows:

1. Show your thanks to the blogger who gave you the award by linking back to them.

2. Reveal 5 of your top picks and let them know by leaving a comment on their blog.

3. Post the award on your blog.

4. Enjoy the love and support of some wonderful people on the www!

Now I’m going to pass this award off to: Kate @ Chasing It, Isabelle @CheesymiteapplesEllie @ Recovering FreeLove Me Some Oats, and Sally @ Paleo Runner Girl.

And here’s a little something for a chuckle…

This is actually a little bit relevant to my life right now because there’s a flippin mouse in my dorm! Yes. A mouse. My roommate saw it the other night and while I was standing on my bed, afraid for my life, I saw him scurry by. I haven’t seen him since but he left me a little surprise over the weekend. I have a crate filled with snacks and when I came home from Portland, I noticed there was popcorn in my closet. So I lifted up the crate and a bunch of popcorn fell out. Turns out, the mouse had some delicious food because almost all of my snacks had holes in them. That mouse better be happy because he got some organic popcorn. Spoiled little thing.

Day 4 of the 30 day photo challenge…

 Leaves! Oh fall…I love you.

35 thoughts on “WIAW

  1. Thanks!! I’m honored…can’t wait to pick 5 blogs to pass this on to 🙂

    Great eats especially that protein cake. Good on you for adding more weights to your workout routine. I saw Jamie’s workout on Brittany’s blog. Seems like a great workout to do.

  2. I really need to try a protein cake again! I made one the other day, but I didn’t have baking powder so it didn’t puff up. Guess I should have followed the recipe more closely 😉

    That is so scary with the mouse! My dorm hall last year got a mouse so a bunch of girls were freaking out. Luckily it didn’t eat my food!

  3. Awesome eats! And I love that picture about how quickly the week passes. So true!
    I love getting my workouts done in the morning. It leaves me completely energized and then I don’t have to stress about fitting it in later on. 🙂

  4. whoa you put your smoothie in a water bottle? Looks good. flaxseed is so good for you. You’re making me crave sweet potatoes. I love eggs and salsa, I’ve never thought about putting it in them like that- I’ll have to try it.
    totally cute outfit, by the way. I always cufff my jeans into capris, even though it isn’t supposed to be fashionable….pssssh
    Happy WIAW my friend! Congrats on the award- you deserve it, I love your positive attitude.

  5. I love the egg white with salsa idea! I always forget about hard boiled egg whites but they are such an easy source of protein. I love the mouse too!! Haha that’s too cute.

  6. Good for you, I was NEVER able to wake up early in college to workout, I guess I just got lazy after highschool. I love that you ate a sweet potato for breakfast, so easy yet delicious.

  7. AWw! yay yay yayy!! Thanks for the award girlie!! Am I allowed to give it back to you? lol. lolz at the mouse – nommin on organic popcorn is every mouse’s dream I bet! Also, Adorable outfit – I ❤ Toms so much, I'm definitely asking for a pair for Christmas! And, as usual, delicious eats – you are really fueling yourself EXCELLENTLY if I do say so myself! I love the flaxseed/hummus/sweet tater idea – I never thought of combining hummus and a sweet potato but I bet that'd be awesome!

  8. Thank you SO much for passing the award on to me! You are SUCH a sweetie! 🙂

    Your eats look delicious! You eat such an excellent variety of fruits and vegetables–I MUST follow your example. Also, your roomies are CRAZY if they think you eat a lot. Your daily diet is a nutritionist’s DREAM!

    Also, I totally feel your pain on the mice situation. Hide EVERYTHING! They love snacks and they also like to destroy soft clothing to make little “nests.” UGH! The nerve!

  9. Pingback: mini cupcake maker to the rescue | Health Freak College Girl

  10. I need to smart making smoothies for breakfast or snack. Yours sounds really good and if my blender wasn’t a complete piece of crud I would be making it right now. Note to self: Invest in a better blender.

  11. Pingback: sunday shenanigans | Health Freak College Girl

Leave a Reply

