the most important people in my life

I have been blessed to have so many wonderful people in my life. I hate to say it, but there are some days where I take those people for granted. I know I shouldn’t but it just happens. But at the end of the day, I know that I can always count on them no matter what.

1. My Mom – I don’t think I could have gone through my past without my mom by my side. She knows every single thing about me. Some of those things I don’t even know about myself. She knows when something is wrong. Even when I am 9 hours away, she can tell when I am feeling down by the tone of my voice. And when I’m around her, she can tell my mood by the look in my eye. She is what I want to be when I become a mother one day. She’s not only my mom…she’s my best friend.

2. My Dad – Not gonna lie…me and my dad have not had the best relationship. I had always felt so much pressure from him when it came to basketball. It was as if I was playing for him. But since I’ve been in recovery, he has been so understanding. He even tells me that he doesn’t know what I’m going through, but that he is there for me. That is all I have ever wanted.

3. My therapist back home (Nicole) – I never thought that going to see a therapist would be so helpful. I can honestly say that Nicole is my lifesaver. She was able to talk me through so many situations. Even now that I am so far away, she still checks in to see how things are going. I know there are a lot of therapists around, but if it wasn’t for Nicole, I don’t think I would be where I am today.

4. My sister – My sister knows a lot of the struggles I have gone through. Even though it is on opposite sides of the spectrum, she has dealt with weight issues. She even lost 100 lbs. I look up to her so much. She has been able to handle her weight issues so well. So when I was at the beginning of my recovery, my parents knew that it would be best for me to visit her in Portland. And they were right because she always helps put me back in place. 5. My best friend (Stephanie) – Stephanie and I met Sophomore year but we weren’t great friends. Then around the beginning of Junior year, we got closer. Then ED hit and I lost a lot of friends, but not Stephanie. She stayed by my side the entire time. Whenever something bad happened, she was able to help me work out the problem. Now, we skype a lot and text basically everyday. 6. My high school basketball coach (Taryn) – This is a different coach than the one who made us write down the food journals. That guy was an ass and he didn’t help me one bit. But Taryn helped me tremendously. She was able to relate to the emotional difficulties I was going through. Rather than push me towards basketball, she pushed me towards whatever would be the best for myself. I still keep in touch with her today because she has turned out to be more than just a coach. She is now a friend.

7. My friend (Victoria) – During my Sophomore year of high school, Victoria was a Freshman. She played basketball too and we were basically inseparable. As my ED got worse, so did our relationship. I didn’t want to be around anyone so whenever she asked to hang out, I would make up some lame excuse. One day, Victoria wanted to talk to me. She told me that she was worried about me. I was able to admit to her the problems I was having and even though it was hard for her to relate, she was still the friend that I needed. Even though our friendship hasn’t gone back to how it first was, we are still friends for life. At times, Victoria feels responsible for the problems I have gone through because she was the first one to confront me. Even though I try to tell her over and over again that it is far from her fault, she is still hesistant. I know this may sound cheesy, but I believe that Victoria saved my life.

So as you can see, I have been very blessed. I know that if I have troubles at any point in my life, they will be there for me. All of these people have helped me become the person that I am today. I thank my God each and every day for having them in my life ❤

It’s day 2 of the 30 day photo challenge and this one is….Smile 🙂 This picture was taken right after I graduated high school so of course I was smiling ear to ear.

Who’s the most important people in your lives?

16 thoughts on “the most important people in my life

  1. Beautiful post, I absolutely loved reading this! The admiration and appreciation you have for these people got me kinda choked up 🙂
    My parents, my best friend emilie and my God are the most important people in my life. I wouldn’t trade them for anything! 😀

  2. I envy the relationship you have with your mom. Mine and I don’t get along at all (my dad says it’s because were so similar). Reading what you say about your mom makes me wish I had a better relationship 🙂

  3. All the people that you have listed as the most important in your life, I’m sure after reading your post are extremely honored! Beautiful post.

  4. Ok, I simply adore this post 🙂 I would have a long list too, but my parents would definitely be the first ones to appear on my list! They were and have continued to be out of this world supportive for everything I have gone through!

  5. this is BEAUTIFUL! I hope all of these people read your blog!! And its always good to take time to really just sit and be thankful for them. I know I often take people for granted too, so thank you for inspiring me to do this! My parents are for sure first on my list. My mom has been my rock, and she’s the most selfless person I know. I only hope to be half the mom she is.

  6. Such a wonderful post!
    My mom is the most important person in my life,she has always been and will always be there for me and she loves me although I’ve hurt her so much with my ED and everything… I could never live without her,she’s my greatest motivation and support!

  7. Oh this is such a beautiful post! I loved reading about all the people who have helped you and supported you, you have some really special people in your life!
    My parents, my sister, my best friends and my wonderful boyfriend are the most important people in my life 🙂 They’ve supported me through everything!

  8. Pingback: home sweet home | Health Freak College Girl

Leave a Reply

