running shoe love

Well I did it. Race #4 on my 21 before 21 goal is done! I will have a full recap tomorrow but for now, I would like to pay a tribute to my favorite running shoes…

black nike free runs with my colorful shoelaces

I have three pairs of Nike Free Runs and they are straight up amazing. The black ones were the second pair that I bought and I instantly fell in love with them. They were the perfect shoes to run with outside because of the color. They have lots of miles on them. Many 5k’s, 10k’s and random runs on them. Plus 3 half marathons and a full. I have had them for over a year now and I don’t even know how many times I have tied the laces. I’ve read that it is best to get new shoes between 300-600 miles. Well my friends…I think it’s time. I know it may sounds weird to be so sad about this, but I am. Running shoes are a huge deal to runners. Luckily, since I have 3 pairs of Free Runs, I can transition without having to buy new ones.The ones on the far right were my first pair. Then we have my babies in the middle *tear.* And then to the left are my newest pair. I have still had the newest ones for about 10 months but they haven’t seen as many miles as the other ones. Partly it’s because I liked the color so much and I didn’t want to get them dirty. But that is about to change! They are going to become my new running shoes. I will still use the others for weights or spinning but I would rather not risk ruining my knees. But hopefully Santa will be nice this Christmas and get me a new pair 😉

 

Now, here is a little tribute to the best shoes ever…

 

Onto the next pair…

are you ready for the challenge?

 

14 thoughts on “running shoe love

  1. Aww poor black shoes, you shall be missed 😦
    I really want a pair of Nike free runs, I’ve heard such great things about them! I just wish they weren’t so dang expensive haha

  2. Earlier this year I purchased a pair of Nike Free Runs and am so sad that they didn’t work out for me. I love the way the feel when I wear them, but after lots of running they really wear on my ankles 😦 I don’t know if they offer enough support for the sole of my feet. Did you experience this? I’ve been afraid to wear them exclusively because I don’t want to hurt myself. On another note, I really love your blog! I work at a residence hall with lots of college kids and it’s nice to read about someone like you who is so focused on being healthy in a not-always-so-healthy environment. Keep up the good work, I’ll be sure to pass your blog along 🙂

    -Sarah

    • i totally know what you mean. i’ve seen a lot of other bloggers not wearing nike frees and i think, why not?? but i think that’s why. i will agree that they don’t offer the best support for ankles.

      and i’m glad you like my blog! and yes, please spread the word 🙂

  3. Ahh I run in Nike Free Runs too! My 2nd pair ran their last run (the half marathon this morning!) and I picked up some new ones at Niketown yesterday for the marathon. I won’t run in anything else, I LOVE THEM! 🙂

    Hope the 1/2 went well for you today!!

  4. I think the Free Run’s are so cool! My sister has them. I’m not sure if they’re right for my feet, but they’re so pretty!! I usually keep two pairs of the same type of shoe at once and alternate them so I can go longer without having to stop and get a new pair. And when it rains of course it’s nice to have backup while the others dry!

  5. lol I always keep two pairs of the same shoe at once too! It definitely extends the lifespan 😉 I can’t say I’ve ever tried the Nike Free Runs – are they the minimal/lightweight ones? I’ve actually never worn a Nike shoe before – I’ve worn Brooks, Mizuno, and Asics…Mizuno’s and Asics were definitely my favorite! I think I’d like to give the Nikes a try once I’m healthy again though!

Leave a Reply

