race recap: healdsburg wine country half marathon

Check out my other race recaps in my 21 before 21 goal: Moo-Cow Half Marathon and Healdsburg Wine Country MarathonΒ (Yes…the marathon and this half marathon have the same name. They obviously like their wine up here.)

Race #3 on my 21 before 21 goal is done! It was a beautiful day to work on a goal πŸ™‚

I set my alarm for 5:30am and well…I didn’t wake up until 6. Eeek! The race started at 7:15am so I was getting ready as fast as possible. I ended up leaving around 6:15am. It was still dark out and it was freezing cold! My car said 40 degrees…I wanted to cry. Luckily, I had my new ear warmers that my parents got me! Seriously…a lifesaver. Wore it through the entire race actually πŸ™‚

Before I left, I made myself a quick power breakfast: P28 protein bagel (review to come!) with pumpkin butter + honeycrisp apple

After getting lost taking a detour, I finally made it to the race site at around 6:50am. I am one of those that likes to get to races early, so I was not happy when I didn’t have much time left until the start. Lucky for me, the bathroom lines weren’t crazy lines (one of the benefits to being late, I guess). By the time I made it to the start line, it was time to start. Perfect timing!

It was still superrrrr cold. Around 43 degrees. Wahhh. I knew that once I got going, I would warm up.

Like last time, I am going to give a mile play-by-play. The number in bold, after the mile, is the split time and the italics are my thoughts.

Mile 1 – 9:09 – There were so many people! I spent this entire first mile weaving in and out of people.

Mile 2 – 8:34Β – You see a lot of shirts while racing. And you get a lot of time to look at them too. At this point, I saw one that read, “You think training for an endurance event is hard? Try chemotherapy.” I wanted to cry, work harder, and give that lady a hug all at the same time.

Mile 3 – 8:14 Well I know why they call it wine country…it reeks of alcohol! Some people may like the smell of wine…but not this girl.

Mile 4 – 8:06 – Weather is starting to get warmer πŸ™‚ I like these ear warmers…I need to get more.

Mile 5 – 8:06 – I stop to get some water at this point but it was cold and it was still a little cold out so when I spilled it on my shirt, I was…cold.

Mile 6 – 8:18 Oh my goodness. Where are those bathrooms? Ooh is that one up there?? Hallelujah!Β 

Mile 7 – 8:32Β – They had an aid station serving wine. And lots of people were stopping. I wish I was kidding.

Mile 8 – 8:33 – 5 more miles babayyy!

Mile 9 – 8:41 – I take some Gu that they have at an aid station. This stuff has the worst texture…but not a bad taste.

Mile 10 – 8:32Β – I could feel the home stretch. People started speeding up and the course scenery changed a little. I could feel it πŸ™‚

Mile 11 – 8:47 – I could still feel it…

Mile 12 – 8:44 All right…anytime now…

Mile 13 – 8:15 – I can hear the crowd at the finish line so I push it even harder. Kick it up a notch Haley! You got this! New PR here I come!

Mile 13.1 – :44 – Wooooo!

Total Time: 1:51:26 (<–14 minutes better than my last half!)

Average Pace: 8:30 min/mile

The medal was a wine stopper. I told you they like their wine!

When I made it back to the car, I refueled with a banana and somersault sunflower snacks (these were in the goody back and they were so goood(y)!).

I had about a half hour drive back and I just happened to be passing a Whole Foods so you better believe I stopped!

Soup was calling my name for some reason so that’s exactly what I got. Mushroom barley soup + trilogy kombucha. I think it’s safe to say that this mushroom barley soup was the best soup I have ever had…or I was really hungry…or both.

I also got some goods from the hot bar. Do you see what I see?? Brussel sprouts! I almost spilled my soup when I saw these. I was so excited! So I got some brussel sprouts, butternut squash salad, roasted beets, and tofu.

Mmmm…the best way to refuel πŸ™‚

This race was great! Beautiful scenery and wonderful weather. I also really liked how the course just wasn’t one loop. We started at a winery and then ended up at a lake. Then we took a bus back to the start.

 

I spent the rest of the day working on homework and doing some random stuff around the dorm. My roommates were with their parents because it was parent’s weekend. My parents came 2 weeks ago so I had my time with them then. Then I went to bed at 9:00pm…yeah I’m serious. I was a tired girl.

Next up: San Francisco Nike Half Marathon on Saturday. Woot woot!

21 thoughts on “race recap: healdsburg wine country half marathon

  1. Yay!! Congrats to ya my friend!! And I agree, there’s no better way to refuel than at glorious whole foods haha, I’m so jealous of your noms πŸ˜€

  2. YOU PR’D BY 14 MINUTES???? girl!!! you are INSANE! you should be the one with olympic aspirations not me hahahaha. Congratulations!! and even after a stressful morning of running a bit late. you rock. And oh man, I’ve never gotten to refuel at a whole foods before….I bet that would be amazing!

  3. Amazing race!! That is quite a nice shave off your last half. I’m thinking you do that again next time? You are seriously a racing machine!! I haven’t done a single half marathon and you’re killing it. I love it! You are my idol!!

  4. Pingback: Walnut Creek Half Marathon Recap | Health Freak College Girl

Leave a Reply

