dear body

Dear Body,

I am so sorry for all those years of mistreatment. For all the times I did not nourish you when you needed, for when I worked you until you could not work anymore, for hating you. I know that there have been so many times in the past where I would let myself starve. I didn’t want to feed you because I was scared. I was scared of what that food would do to me. But now I know better. I know that you need food. You need fuel. Each and everyday you do amazing things for me. The least I can is properly fuel you.

I’m sorry for those days where I would work you, nonstop. Where I would workout in the morning, afternoon, and night. Whenever you would tell me to stop, I wouldn’t listen. I just kept on going because I thought I knew better. When really…I didn’t. I was hurting you. And I’m sorry for that. You deserve to have rest. And I need to give that to you.

I’m sorry for all the hate you have received from me. You never ever deserved that. You do so much for me. You get me from class to class. You enable me to hang out with family and friends. You let me run and workout. And most of all, you let me enjoy life.

I wish I could take back all those years of hate but that is the past. I have today and the rest of my life and I am going to make a promise to you. I promise to love you and treat you the way you deserve to be treated. Because after all, there is still so much that I want to do.

With love,

Haley ❤

Remember: The scale doesn’t define you, you define you.

 

 

P.S. Check out my first ever guest post over at Moves ‘n Munchies!

21 thoughts on “dear body

  1. I LOVE YOU <3333 You are seriously GORGEOUS for one thing. And you have come so far from where you've been. You are stronger, healthier, and happier now. Never ever ever let your mind tell you otherwise!!

  2. Girl this was AMAZING! I really connect with everything you just said. It really is hard to put it all out there for the world to read but you did a tremendous job of it. I am so happy you are learning to change your way of thinking. I am too 🙂

  3. this. is. awesome. I need to write one to myself for sure 🙂 I bet your body forgives you!

    Love the picture too – you do have some pretty sick calves! as a runner, I’m jealous, not gonna lie! 😀

  4. Pingback: for the love of peanut butter | Health Freak College Girl

  5. Pingback: recent obsessions | Health Freak College Girl

  6. Is it possible to buy the picture part of this post as a poster? It would be such a great gift for my niece, she would love it.

    • I think that would be awesome to make it into a poster! You can definitely make this into a poster, I don’t mind. In fact, I would be honored. No need to buy it. If it helps somebody, then that’s all I need 🙂 Do you mean the words to the picture, or solely the picture with the Golden Gate bridge in the background?

Leave a Reply

