screw the scale

Hey hey heyy ya’ll! I feel like self confidence and anti-ED posts are really helpful. Not only for all you guys, but for me as well. Today, I wanted to talk about the scale. The notorious thing that many girls rely on day after day. Not gonna lie, I relied on that stupid thing too. I would weigh myself 2, 3, 4 times a day. And every time, it would make me cry. So why did I keep on using it? Because the stupid ED was in control. So I wanted to talk to you guys about how to let go of the scale and just live life. Because you know what….LIFE IS BEAUTIFUL.Β 

I haven’t weighed myself in about a year (partly because my parents hid the scale and partly because I could care less). And guess what? I have absolutely zero desire to do so anytime soon. As long as my clothes still fit and I feel good, then I’m happy! When I go to a doctor’s appointment, I asked to get weighed “blind.” That means that I go onto the scale backwards and I do not see the number. They are totally fine with that and I end up being happier too.

One day, about three months ago, I was looking in my sister’s room for a shirt. In the middle of my search, I found the scale. I had two options: let the ED take over and weigh myself or say, screw you ED and walk away. You know what I did? I walked away…take that ED! At that point, I knew that I was in control of the ED. I am so much more strong than that stupid ED will ever be.

Whenever I have to fill out some sort of paperwork with my weight, I just write what’s on my drivers license. I might be more, I might be less. But you know what? Screw it. I feel good. That’s all I care about.

You are all too beautiful to have a stupid number determine who you are!

P.S. I don’t know if any of you guys noticed but when I refer to the ED, I call it the ED. Not my ED. Because guess what? I am better than it will ever be.

I know that all I have said it easier said than done but you can achieve it over time. I promise. And I don’t break a promise.

18 thoughts on “screw the scale

  1. BEAUTIFUL post and I am so happy you walked away from the scale when you saw it in your sisters room πŸ™‚ Doesn’t that “take that ED” feeling make you feel on top of the world?

    You rock πŸ™‚

    xoxo
    Meg

  2. YEAH!!! STICK IT TO THE MAN!! I love this post! πŸ™‚
    I stopped weighing myself for awhile too – then this summer I saw a new nutritionist who thought it might be good for me to weight myself like once a week…so that if I felt like “omg I gained weight, I’m gross”, I could look on the scale and see that “nope, I haven’t, just been ridiculous”. That’s usually what happens! But you’re SO right – it’s SO easy to let the scale take over – and walking away from it and saying “screw you, ED” takes guts. You go girl! πŸ™‚

  3. i can’t like this post enough!! it’s hard to kick the scale out of your life… but life is SO much better that way! people ask me all the time what i weigh, and i tell them i honestly don’t know. i just know my clothes fit and i’m happy and feel great, so why slap a number on that? the number will always just derail my progress.

  4. I really love that you call it the ED instead of my ED!! I hate knowing my weight, nothing good ever comes from it. Good for you for not letting that number define you anymore!!

  5. this was great! i caved this morning and weighed myself, it didn’t really affect me as much as i thought it would. but after reading your post i feel so much better! i am going to be able to eat today, not over exercise and most importantly BE HAPPY. thank you so much!

  6. Pingback: Real Foods Corn and Rice Thins Review + 5 Thing Survery | Health Freak College Girl

  7. This is so true. There’s the quoute about saying ‘Imagine if I let my self worth be determined by a toaster.’ It’s the same ridiculous logic. If you gain muscle, fluid, tissue, and FAT even because *newsflash* it’s really good for us and we need it to survive (umm, babies, warmth, hugs, and amazing curves) then it shouldn’t be dubbed as bad. There’s actually no logic in it. I’m so happy I divorced my scale. I didn’t really need ice cream therapy to cope, but I did it anyway just to piss The ED off more.

  8. Pingback: if the pants fit | Health Freak College Girl

Leave a Reply

