Expo West Part 2

Did you miss Expo West Part 1?? Check it out here.

Nasoya – This is a soybean company that makes tofu and soybean hummus. They have a new black soybean tofu plus. I couldn’t really taste the difference from other tofu. So I guess I would buy it.

Barbara’s – I didn’t try their high fiber cranberry cereal.

But I did try the Honest O’s. They were basically like a sweeter version of Cheerios. I love Cheerios but if you wanted an organic version, these would be the ones to buy.

They also had Oatmeal Flakes, which taste a lot like Frosted Flakes. Out of the 3 cereals I tried, the Oatmeal Flakes would be the ones I would most likely buy.

Kashi – Their Go Lean Crisp Cinnamon Crumble cereal really didn’t make much of an impression on me. Not bad but not great.

Same goes for the Banana Chocolate Chip bar. It tasted a bit like a muffin so that was a plus.

They also had Pita Chips which I really liked.

But the best thing that Kashi had was their new Steamers. It’s a frozen meal in bag which you microwave to have dinner in just a few minutes. I tried the spinach and artichoke pasta and really liked it. My mom tried another flavor with chicken and really liked it too.

Bear Naked – Honey Almond and Maple Nut are their newest cluster flavors. I like the Honey Almond most.

Flax 4 Life – I have seen Flax 4 Life’s muffins around before but I have never tried them. They now have sandwich buns, which tasted great! I tried the everything flavor and was very impressed. I think I’ll try their muffins now :)

Earth Balance - Are you sitting down? Because you should probably be sitting down before I tell you this. Ready? Coconut peanut butter. I know! Sounds too good to be true. But Earth Balance has made it and it is beyond delicious! My mouth is actually watering just thinking about it.

Amy’s – Ohhh Amy’s. How can you not love Amy’s?? They have a pretty big booth so there was lots of stuff to try. About a year ago or so, they came out with Light & Lean frozen meals. I tried the roasted polenta with swiss chard. I’m a sucker for polenta so this was two thumbs up.

Another addition to their Light & Lean line is an Italian Vegetable Pizza. The workers were raving about it so I had to give it a try. But I really though it was just okay. I would rather buy the polenta and swiss chard one.

Next I tried the Mushroom Risotto bowl. Amazing. It tasted like somebody just made it fresh! I would definitely buy this.

They also have shortbread cookies but I didn’t try them.

The rice crust pizza isn’t new but I still tried it. I thought it was good. There was a lot of different rice crust and gluten free pizzas. This was one of my favorites.

I also tasted the rustic Italian vegetable soup and loved loved loved it!

Clif – Clif has had Boulder bars which contain 20g of protein for awhile. Their newest flavor is chocolate chip and s’mores.

I liked s’mores most out of the two.

They also had a new line called Kit’s Organic. It’s a fruit and nut bar but I didn’t try it.

For Clif’s 20th Anniversary, they are having Gary’s Panforte bar. They are based off an old Italian recipe. The flavors are spot one. It is also their first bar with pistachios!

Luna – I love Luna bars (plus they’re a part of Clif which is doubley awesome). Always have, probably always will. They now have Luna Fiber bars. They aren’t like normal Luna Bars. They are chewier and doughier. I enjoyed these a lot.

So Delicious – Over the past couple of years, coconut products have become “all the rage.” So Delicious is one of the major coconut milk and ice cream companies. They recently came out with an Almond Plus line. This is almond milk with an added punch of protein (5g per serving). I really liked both vanilla and original flavors. I would totally buy them.

Another almond milk product was their vanilla mini ice cream sandwich. I want more of these!! Totally going to buy these when I find them.

I also tried the chocolate and vanilla coconut milk even though they aren’t new. I loved the chocolate. It tasted like super creamy chocolate milk :) This will be a buy for me next time I go to the store.

I also tried their chocolate ice cream. It was okay. I liked the chocolate milk more.

And look who we saw! Drew Brees. Him and his wife are spokesmen for So Delicious so they were getting the crowd pumped for coconut.

Peas of Mind – I remember this company from last year and absolutely loving them. I saw them a couple days after the expo and bought some of their products actually! Peas of Mind specializes in making healthy, veggie filled foods for kids. Yes. Kids. But age is just a number, right? They have pizza, fries, and breadsticks. I bought the fries and all you need to do is bake them in the oven for a few minutes. One flavor is loaded with carrots and the other with broccoli. I loved them both!

Artisana – This line of nut butters has some new flavors on the market. Acai Berry, Berry Antioxidant, Blue Algae, Goji and Milk Thistle, Marine Phytoplankton. These were…interesting. I tried the Berry Antioxidant. It’s not something that I would buy in the future.

Chobani – No new flavors here but the booth was big and awesome! Plus I got a couple to take home ;)

Jamba Juice – Jamba Juice is a smoothie shop but they have expanded to selling products in grocery stores. They now have Multigrain Fruit Crisps, which are basically chips with a fruity flavor. Out of the blueberry and cranberry flavor, cranberry was by far my favorite. The crisps were different but in a good way! They would be a nice, sweet snack.

They also have added Greek Yogurt Smoothies. I tried the acai flavor and really enjoyed it. If somebody is in a hurry and doesn’t have time to make a smoothie from their own fruit, these are definitely the way to go.

Blue Diamond – Almonds! That’s what this company is known for. From almond chips to almond milk. They have almond coconut milk now which is almond milk with a coconut flavor. The coconut was very subtle. It would add great flavor to a bowl of cereal! I tried both the sweetened, unsweetened, and vanilla flavors and liked them all.  I’ll definitely keep my eyes out for this one.

MimiCreme – MimiCreme is a non-dairy creamer. They also have non-dairy whipped cream made from almonds and cashews. It tasted like real whipped cream! The only problem I had was the calories. I knowwww that calories really don’t matter but I think you would be better off with organic whipped cream unless you are lactose intolerant.

Rudi’s – Love this bread. Organic and delicious. They have 100% whole wheat bagel flats and multigrain sandwich thins. Many companies have similar products but these are probably my favorite.

Here’s my haul from Day 1!

Then my cat had to inspect it all of course…

Do any of these products sound good to you?

22 thoughts on “Expo West Part 2

  1. I feel like I went to this expo thanks to your description of all the new products! I’m definitely gonna be on the look out for the almond plus milk, greek yogurt smoothies, coconut peanut butter, and organic cheerios. It all sounds amazing!

  2. Deliciousness overload haha!
    I’m about to shat my pants about that coconut peanut butter, the Barbara’s high fiber cranberry cereal, the Pistachio clif bar, and the Luna fiber bars! My wallet is not gonna be happy haha
    Wicked awesome haul pile too! :D

  3. OMG YOU SAW DREW BREES!! I’m in love with him haha. And aaah I love so many of these products! Almond milk is a staple in my house – the vanilla unsweetened is my favorite, but i’d be really curious to try So Delicious’s version with the extra protein! I definitely wanna get the Bear Naked clusters too – their granola is my absolute favorite.

  4. Seriously so jealous. I wish that haul was on my living room floor with my cat checking it out.
    I have yet to have almond milk yet. I want to try it so bad, though.

  5. Oh my goodness, this place looks like heaven! I can’t believe you got in for free, that is so awesome!!! Glad you are able to give us all the good scoop and good reviews! :)
    I’m going to have to try A LOT of these products, so many of them I have not even heard of yet!

  6. Woah,I am SO jealous,I can’t even put it into words!
    ALL of these products sound absolutely awesome,but as I am Kat,of course I’d be most excited about the cereal and,nut butter and snack bars! And of course,I cannot get anything here in stupid Germany. Aaaaah!
    You. Are. So. Lucky!

  7. Pingback: a breakfast in the dining hall! say wha?! | Health Freak College Girl

  8. Pingback: Expo West Part 3 | Health Freak College Girl

Leave a Reply

